Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

holdembots

• 07-06-2005 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭

any tried any of the third party programs available yet for poker.
    i found this 1 last week which will play automaticly for you using exactly the rules for each hand that you insert.you can set it to play only premium starting hands for NL and the window will pop up when you hit 1 (ideal for multiple tables ).As for limit games you can get it to play all the way to river on full auto.you can go to the pub and leave it play..It takes about 4hrs to set up a new profile as the default1 is crap and you can edit it as you see it making mistakes while playing.
    ive had 4 tables running on full auto for 46 hrs (lo-limit) showing a profit of 10% but im sure a good lo-limit player can do better.there is a free demo available.let me know what you think .contact me for the new profile and share yours on boards if successful.
    website = www.holdembot.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

how much can you trust them... it would be hard to give out to a machine if it lost all your money!

And is it possible for other players to pick up on the fact that it is a programme playing

doesn't take away from its potential though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Rory, I think this might not be on the up and up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

the fact is you dont trust it until after you set it up and watch it playing for a few hours.you can jump in anytime and take over.you will see it making some mistakes (but they are mistakes you made while selecting options for that particular hand) so you then select that hand from the menu and correct the error.
    As for other players picking up on the fact, i doubt it as it is just doing what you would do ( or should do ) on a particular hand .you can also get it to check raise etc. call 25% raise 75% on any hand you wish to mix up your game / semi bluff on nut flush draw 25 % etc.

www.holdembot.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

ok, well the best of luck, i'll stick with using beer to influence my calls, but in theory its interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

give it a few years and you'll see people leaving a pc in their seat in a live tourny

wonder if luke would allow it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭nicryan

roryc wrote:
    give it a few years and you'll see people leaving a pc in their seat in a live tourny

wonder if luke would allow it?

I wonder if that qualifies under the 'no reading at the table' rule.....

Nic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

It would be great in live tournaments if everyone had consoles for players to select their play and display their chips. A dealer screen in the centre of the table displaying board cards etc. The same as playing online the only difference being that the players get to look eachother down as usual. Play would be much quicker mistakes eliminated etc. Attendences at casinos would treble at least.
    Its like driving an automatic car instead of a manual, who wants to drive a manual after driving an automatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I would like a computer to replace you in your line of work aswell, it would cut down on mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

It would be great in live tournaments if everyone had consoles for players to select their play and display their chips. A dealer screen in the centre of the table displaying board cards etc. The same as playing online the only difference being that the players get to look eachother down as usual. Play would be much quicker mistakes eliminated etc. Attendences at casinos would treble at least.
    Its like driving an automatic car instead of a manual, who wants to drive a manual after driving an automatic.

You're actually not too far off the mark there Rounders.

What will happen, although on-line, is that players will have webcams so that they will be able to see their on-line opponents, and bring in the 'read' factor to on-line poker.

bohsman wrote:
    I would like a computer to replace you in your line of work aswell, it would cut down on mistakes.

Thoughtful of you to show your concern for the dealers but technology moves fast and life moves with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Where do I show concern for the dealers, I merely said I would like a computer to do your job.

I am a dealer btw

bohsman wrote:
    Where do I show concern for the dealers, I merely said I would like a computer to do your job.

I am a dealer btw

When i said 'Mistakes' i wasnt refering to dealer mistakes but player mistakes with raises, betting, acting out of turn etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I have to say that if a card room I frequented implemented the changes mentioned by rounders123, I probably would move on to another 'old-school' card room. If I want to play quickly with less human involvement and mistakes, I can sit at home and play online.

ionapaul wrote:
    If I want to play quickly with less human involvement and mistakes, I can sit at home and play online.

I like as little human involvement as possible especially in relationships* and poker*!. Everyone does really to some extent or other some more than others. Why do people generally arrive late at parties, Why do people generally only see their relations at weddings and funerals...To avoid human involvement thats why ;).

*Relationships:I treat my girlfriend like an aquaintence during sex. Her on top is the most adventerous i get :D . Because when i break up i dont want her to have any sexual peccadillos to report on ;) .

*Poker: Most poker chat at the table in live tournaments from what ive seen on tv tournaments is professionals making internet qualifiers feel like their not doing the right thing. Devilfish is the master at that and ive seen so many pros doing it most recently at the recent live BPO poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

After reading this post I'd seriously consider giving up online poker. its no longer a game or skillfull or involving. sounds boring... and frankly its a bit unfair really.

Me cashes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

That's where we differ rounders123, I'm always the first at the party and the last to leave...yeah, I hear them mutter 'FFS, ionapaul's 5 hours early again, the loser!' and 'why can't he just feck off?', but I know they still care. Human involvement ROCKS

ionapaul wrote:
    That's where we differ rounders123, I'm always the first at the party and the last to leave...yeah, I hear them mutter 'FFS, ionapaul's 5 hours early again, the loser!' and 'why can't he just feck off?', but I know they still care. Human involvement ROCKS

I like that reply.
    I would like to be like you in that way but i suppose its in my my make up. Inside im dancing sorta thing but when i hear the crap talk i just cant partake. Im one of those guys that if you know me you take me as a funny sorta guy but those that dont they think im a serious guy. Must be the permanent frown and the attached eyebrows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

ZZR1100 wrote:
    i found this 1 last week which will play automaticly for you using exactly the rules for each hand that you insert.you can set it to play only premium starting hands for NL and the window will pop up when you hit 1 (ideal for multiple tables ).As for limit games you can get it to play all the way to river on full auto.you can go to the pub and leave it play..It takes about 4hrs to set up a new profile as the default1 is crap and you can edit it as you see it making mistakes while playing.
    ive had 4 tables running on full auto for 46 hrs (lo-limit) showing a profit of 10% but im sure a good lo-limit player can do better.there is a free demo available.let me know what you think .contact me for the new profile and share yours on boards if successful.

What site are you using it on? If you get caught your account will be frozen and any money you've won using it will be redistriubted to the players you took it from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

ZZR1100 wrote:
    grrr you better not be using it on PPP! Holdem bots my behind. Where is the skill, the interraction, the thrill? Would you have a bot paint a picture or fence for you.. whilst you watch from the corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

grrr you better not be using it on PPP! Holdem bots my behind. Where is the skill, the interraction, the thrill? Would you have a bot paint a picture or fence for you.. whilst you watch from the corner?
    But your all seeing eye would catch it, right?

Do good players have anything to fear from bots though? At the moment they are not that advanced and can only play as they are told, assuming they are programmed correctly. Any player who is any good should easily beat them! Until they start adapting to their opponents play there isn't much to worry about for good players although obviously sites won't want them playing as it'll scare the fishies away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Imposter wrote:
    But your all seeing eye would catch it, right?

Do good players have anything to fear from bots though? At the moment they are not that advanced and can only play as they are told, assuming they are programmed correctly. Any player who is any good should easily beat them! Until they start adapting to their opponents play there isn't much to worry about for good players although obviously sites won't want them playing as it'll scare the fishies away.

All seing all dancin! Apparently there is only one prototype worthy of anything. It is called "vexbot". Most have been adapted from models designed to play chess. (I may have read this off the back of a cornflake box so dont get excited). Anyway word is that they can play low level one on one but cannot get there coding around muliplayer poker. I absolutely agree with you a good player will thrash one as it plays a very uninventive predictable game. Yes leave our fishies alone!
    he he

All seing all dancin! Apparently there is only one prototype worthy of anything. It is called "vexbot". Most have been adapted from models designed to play chess. (I may have read this off the back of a cornflake box so dont get excited). Anyway word is that they can play low level one on one but cannot get there coding around muliplayer poker. I absolutely agree with you a good player will thrash one as it plays a very uninventive predictable game. Yes leave our fishies alone!
    he he

The members of the "winholdem" forum will tell you theirs is the best. I know for a fact they've been running them in Full Tilt SnGs (and getting caught) but they've been running them very successfully on the Party skins low limit holdem tables for almost 2 years now. They say they can run it on Pokerstars but I think they're full of ****. Aparrantly they need to adjust the bot for different sites because it can't read the cards properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

maybe not a picture but a fence:) i think so.

winholdem is a card sharing program and if caught your account will be frozen.
    this isnt and is playing the cards for you using your style of play.according to the makers it isnt being tracked or discouraged by the poker sites.this may change in the future but at the mo its ok.btw tried a new profile using sklansky starting hands and
    betting patterns and it was not effective.(only tested for 6 hrs though so not enough time ) broke even on 1 table / lost 30 / up 10 / even.it seems the top 20 starting hands work best.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I will cream a bot in NL holdem, heads up, best of 3. I would put money on the heads up experts around here to do even better!
    At low level limit games they do well because the restrictions of the game remove the out-lier situations they might have to deal with, freaky flops and scary situations. Limit is for people who find accountancy too exciting.

As for computers in card rooms, I'm all for computers shuffling, controlling seating etc, but I'd hate to lose the human dealer and the chips... what would we do for chip tricks?

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

the only bots i want are Buffy bots!

DeVore wrote:
    Limit is for people who find accountancy too exciting

Does no one other that me on this foum love limit holdem?

DeVore wrote:

As for computers in card rooms, I'm all for computers shuffling, controlling seating etc, but I'd hate to lose the human dealer and the chips... what would we do for chip tricks?

DeV.

Fair enough, Human dealers grand but have compulsory dealers surely. I really dont like the fact that in a lot of casino tournaments players self deal. Self deal is the single most off putting thing stopping me from making my live debut. I know people will happily do if for you but i dont want to be under a compliment in any way and for example if its down to 3 players and someone offers a deal which you dont want then you have to say..." no i dont want to do a deal .....will you shuffle and deal again please" :o
    I would happily pay a higher buy-in so the casino can afford to have dealers all the time. My initial idea of computerised dealing etc was primarily to eliminate self deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Mike Caro "the mad genuis of poker" already made a computer that could play poker. I'm not sure which game however. It was called Orac (Caro backwards). Apparenlty it was even capable of bluffing depending on how long players took to call/raise and would purposely take time to bet or bet instantly to intimidate. I couldnt find it online anywhere but id love to get my hands on it

NickyOD wrote:

I don't mind the limit MTT's ... good track record in them for some reason ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

NickyOD wrote:
    It's not too bad. It's a very different game to NL or PL. Most people just don't give the one they're not familiar with enough time. I prefer NL though.

NickyOD wrote:

I detest limit holdem. Its the pits.
    This is a typical hand
    raise-call
    raise-re-raise-call
    raise-call
    Player A wins with high card K

Thers has been a couple of times i accidentally entered into a limit tournament and i feel i want to either win or lose as quick as possible because i hate it so much. I would rather watch RTE's awful 'winning streak'.

I detest limit holdem. Its the pits.
    This is a typical hand
    raise-call
    raise-re-raise-call
    raise-call
    Player A wins with high card K

Thers has been a couple of times i accidentally entered into a limit tournament and i feel i want to either win or lose as quick as possible because i hate it so much. I would rather watch RTE's awful 'winning streak'.

Hmm, that may be the case for the first couple of levels .... after that in a tourney the longer it goes on, the more like NL it becomes.
    I think it's a different game and receives 'bad press' ... a bit like the snooker/pool .... chess/drafts debate.

I read somewhere ... "Limit is the science of poker, whilst NL is the art...... not a bad way of summing it up."