Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

damit cant wait

• 07-06-2005 6:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭

i have finally made up my mind i am going to go ahead with my new pc so what do you think any changes i should i make before i buy.i am buy it of the komplett built pc it is the gamnig one and i made a few changes.

IIyama 17" ProLite E431S-B TCO-99 Monitor, Black, 8ms, DVI-D
    NEC DVD recorder ND-3540A IDE Silver OEM
    Norman IC, 1 year license Virus Control
    PC box
    SoftThinks Installation/Recovery
    Microsoft Digital Media PRO Keyboard,
    AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4GHz Socket 939,
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 250GB SATA
    Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical,
    Fortron/Source Powersupply ATX 550W
    Cooler Master Wave Master Silver
    EPoX EP-9NPA+ SLI,nForce4 SLI,Socket-939
    Corsair Value S. PC3200 DDR-DIMM 1024MB
    Microsoft Windows XP Home SP2
    Club3D GeForce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3
    CNet Wireless-G PCI 54 Mbps 802.11g,
    Sony Floppy Drive, 3,5" 1,44MB Silver
    Sunsway/ST Lab PCI Gigabit Adapter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Subc

um i wouldnt go for that SLI setup

why not just get one 6800GT or ultra and then later on you can put a second one. Thats wut i would do

Also i don't know if you can trust that power supply. If you have the choice, take the enermax noisetaker definitley!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Why not wait for cross fire to come online proper or the 7800 to come out and drive prices well down on the 6600gt also Dual Core CPU coming soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

what is cross fire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Fortron make fine PSU's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭odie

ATI Crosfire - ATI's version of SLI

More here

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=23569

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

considerin claregalway already asked the question, hopefully im not hijackin to badly when i ask -- Crossfire - so the MB has to have a specific north and south bridge so from now on we'll have an ati and an nvidia version of each board ?

has this been the case before ? this could be uber noob , but can ya install an existing model ati card onto a MB with the nforce 4 chip? or is it restricted to nvidia cards

I'd presume the new Ati MB would be just to implement the crossfire setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

i have finally made up my mind i am going to go ahead with my new pc so what do you think any changes i should i make before i buy.i am buy it of the komplett built pc it is the gamnig one and i made a few changes.

IIyama 17" ProLite E431S-B TCO-99 Monitor, Black, 8ms, DVI-D
    PC box
    Microsoft Digital Media PRO Keyboard,
    Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical,
    Fortron/Source Powersupply ATX 550W
    EPoX EP-9NPA+ SLI,nForce4 SLI,Socket-939
    Sunsway/ST Lab PCI Gigabit Adapter

Cut the 3800+ down to a 3500+ and spend the €100 on another gig of ram.

This will give you better performance long term, especially as you will be replacing the cpu for a dual core at some stage.

As subc said get a 6800GT. A 6800gt on it's own is faster than 2 6600GTs in sli.

Also don't bother with the ultra: 2x6800GT's is practically the same as 2x6800 Ultras if you decide to go sli in the future.

Also bare in mind a next gen gfx card is prob going to be faster than 2 x 6800Gt's in sli.

Sli at the mo is a waste of money imho.

Also why have you included an extra gigabit network card? Your mobo has built in gigabit!

Mouse is up to you but def have a look at the logitech mx510/mx518. Very comfy mice and great for gaming.

Dundhoone wrote:
    considerin claregalway already asked the question, hopefully im not hijackin to badly when i ask -- Crossfire - so the MB has to have a specific north and south bridge so from now on we'll have an ati and an nvidia version of each board ?

has this been the case before ? this could be uber noob , but can ya install an existing model ati card onto a MB with the nforce 4 chip? or is it restricted to nvidia cards

I'd presume the new Ati MB would be just to implement the crossfire setup.

Crossfire is restricted to ATI mobos designed for it(just as sli is nvidia only mobos).

You can still install ati cards on a sli mobo, you just can't use sli unless you use nvidia cards. Assume it will be the same for the new ati boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭gamer

i.d advise you get a 19inch crt monitor,whats the point in buying a brand new 17inch.19inch better for games,crt type is the best for picture quality i think.

gamer wrote:
    i.d advise you get a 19inch crt monitor,whats the point in buying a brand new 17inch.19inch better for games,crt type is the best for picture quality i think.

the monitor is a 17" tft = same screen viewable area as a 19" crt.....

what could you clock a 3800+ to and what could you clock a 3500+ to

ok then what about this one does it match up to all the corrections

- Surcharges 0 per item will be added.Article number: 310194
    Stock status: 1 stocked
    PC box
    EPoX EP-9NPA+ Ultra, nForce4 Ultra,ATX
    Logitech Media Keyboard Black,
    Logitech MX510 Optical Mouse,
    Fortron/Source Powersupply ATX 400W rev2
    PowerColor Radeon X850XT 256MB GDDR3
    IIyama 17" ProLite E431S-B TCO-99 Monitor, Black, 8ms, DVI-D (NEW!!)

looks good, how does the cost compare to jes "machine from hell big" ?(gotta love that name)

100e more expencive but i can claim vat because parents own a firm.

oh sweet sweet VAT fraud.
    Thats terrible. A victimless crime, but a crime nonethe less.

You lucky divil!!!

no its not tax fraud i will be using it in mthe offices(wink wink)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Dundhoone wrote:

You lucky divil!!!

Wanna talk about crime ; VRT 800,000,000euro this year alone. We live in a cut throat country of pirates and cowboys,your alllowed 21% i reckon.

what could you clock a 3800+ to and what could you clock a 3500+ to

With the ram you are putting in you won't be doing much overclocking.

The difference between a 3500+ and a 3800+ in performance is pish.

You can get a 3500+ to 3800+ speeds by overclocking your bus 20mhz or so.

2 gig of ram and a 3500+ is better in the long run than 3800+ and 1 gig of ram.

You can always clock the 3500+ up to a 3800+ if you really need to
    (you won't need to...)

But thats just me :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

I have media centre edition on my PC, what a load of donkeys, wicked unstable, really puts pressure on the ram and costs way to much, linux is free, or the xp you already have on your old PC just move over the license and then get a freeware or opensource media centre!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

sorry i saw this as i was scanning through the text Microsoft Digital Media PRO Keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Dundhoone wrote:

You lucky divil!!!

I think its an absolute disgrace. He should be ashamed of himself :mad:

Hehe! only joking :D Just did the same myself!

Picked up a Dell XPS Gen 4 with 3.4Ghz P4 650, Gig of PC4300, 160gig sata, Dual Layer burner, X850XTPE, Audigy 2XS 7.1...+...24inch Dell 2405FPW flat panel wide screen monitor...+...Dell 540 Photo Printer...+...Dell 962 All in One printer for the sum of approx. €2200 after the discount of €560, goodwill rebate of €200 for an order f*** up and €520 of reclaimed VAT.

Hey, I don't know much about computers. How was I to know that you didn't need that spec to print off a few posters now and again. ;);)

Do I feel bad? Hell no! the feckers just got about 15 grand off me in VAT and VRT this time last year when I got me new car. Never claimed the Dole in my life. The Feckers owe me!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭odie

When you see bono and the lads, not to mention other Artistes getting the tax breaks why not take adavantage of what u can get. Even if it is only a couple of hundred yoyo's. They get away with millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I find it interesting that people think it's ok not to pay taxes and don't consider it stealing. It's a general perception among a lot of Irish IMO.

Yeah. Its stealing alright.

Its like everything else, if some rich pucker does it then its stealing, and when someone is trying to sqeeze the last few pennies out of it then fair enough, glad they got the break.

My old man has a shop, but he wont put any pc stuff through the shop books so I can get the VAT off.
    It doenst bother me, I'm happy he's not a shifty so and so.

But it would be fairly naive of me not to think that millions of squid worth of purchases arent being put through businesses for private use , especially computers.

see in jes they have changed the name the machine form hell to the machine from brightly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭matdabomb

You are complaining about little people not paying tax by putting it through company books and using it privatly but those arent the people f**king up the system it is big constructors opening these hotels,hospitals ect and they get about 500k a year tax off compared to someone for 1k.

yeah Capitalism Rocks!!!!

woohoo

not

Machine from brightly ??? im not buying that it sounds weak!!!! bring back hell big!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Dundhoone wrote:
    Yeah. Its stealing alright.

Its like everything else, if some rich pucker does it then its stealing, and when someone is trying to sqeeze the last few pennies out of it then fair enough, glad they got the break.

My old man has a shop, but he wont put any pc stuff through the shop books so I can get the VAT off.
    It doenst bother me, I'm happy he's not a shifty so and so.

But it would be fairly naive of me not to think that millions of squid worth of purchases arent being put through businesses for private use , especially computers.

I don't think one has to be shifty to consider doing this. I dunno maybe our accountant is shifty(maybe all accountants are shifty! :D ) but when the old man ran the idea by him and suggested that maybe he wasn't sure whether he was comfortable with this, the accountant told him not to be an eejit, that it was a perfectly legitimate business expense.

Its merely bending the rules rather than breaking them, ie. getting a higher spec PC than would be needed. For instance we print all our notices/posters/special offers with the PC. The 962 AIO printer/fax/copier is used for the posters etc, faxing orders, making copies of invoices etc PC is also used to review footage from the HDD based CCTV system in the shop and print out stills. In fact only last week there was an Armed robery in the local Post office and the Guards needed to place someone at our shop at a certain time. Brought the HDD home that night, reviewed the footage, found who I was looking for and burned the footage to disc for the guards. Were we wrong to put the Shop CCTV system through the books and reclaim the Vat late last year? The new PC used to review and make hardcopy of the footage is probably a legitimate business expense as far as the Revenue are concerned for that reason alone.

The continous tone 540 Photo printer was requested by the mother to print 4x6 family photo's but even this may end up in use in the shop believe it or not. Had a couple of queries (mostly from foreign students) over the last while about whether we printed digicam pics. Now obviously they were asking about those kiosks you see popping up everywhere now where you insert the camera memory card into the machine and select and print your pics. We could actually use this printer for that purpose as it accepts all major memory cards and pictbridge connections and does almost lab quality prints with an anti fingerprint coating. Print cost is 30c per print so maybe we could charge 60c per print for the service.

I'm even thinking about putting some of my MS Visual Basic and MS Access knowledge from a course a few years ago into practice by making a programme to keep track of customer magazine/paper orders. The old man keeps all the deliveries in his head and I don't know how he does it but his memory can only get worse. Wouldn't it be great to be able to print out the days deliveries with orders and addresses etc Basically I want to computerise a lot more of the stuff that the old man does in his head or by memory etc

So sure we mightn't have needed a 3.4ghz PC with a top of the line graphics card and a 24in widescreen flat panel monitor :D but we did need a computer for the shop.

Bending, not Breaking the rules!! :D