Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does "horse" mean?

• 07-06-2005 2:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭

This ones been bugging me for a few years now.

When a Cork/Galway/Hairyback calls somebody "horse" what do they actually mean by it?

It would seem to be slightly derogatory.

kas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭seo-ireland

Do you mean as in "a horse of a man"?

In that case it would mean a well built person, a person you would not pick a fight with. Obviously not so good if you refer to a woman (although still strangely sexy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

It means a capall of things :p

Seriously though, anytime I've heard it used, it's similar to "boss" (Dublin), or "ya good thing" (Kildare). Not derogatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

It means that you're one of these:
    http://www.tcd.ie/Genetics/images/horse.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

It means that you're one of these:
    http://www.tcd.ie/Genetics/images/horse.jpg

Well I suppose that was inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Seriously though, anytime I've heard it used, it's similar to "boss" (Dublin), or "ya good thing" (Kildare). Not derogatory.

I second this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

anytime i've ever heard it being said, was when someone was consuming vast amounts of X ... be it food, drink etc... they were a "horse"

e.g. "G'wAn ya feckin horse"..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 corkman26

a galway girl caled me horse once, even before she got me jeans off! dead impressed i was, til i found out that they call everybody horse! :rolleyes:
    as in cork, your a feeen, up the west your a horse! or if your very nice, your a horse box! very strange...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

anytime i've ever heard it being said, was when someone was consuming vast amounts of X ... be it food, drink etc... they were a "horse"

e.g. "G'wAn ya feckin horse"..

I've heard people say he "horsed" that down. This is the same as wolfing something etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

very dry...... but i had to laugh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

corkman26 wrote:
    a galway girl caled me horse once, even before she got me jeans off! dead impressed i was, til i found out that they call everybody horse! :rolleyes:
    as in cork, your a feeen, up the west your a horse! or if your very nice, your a horse box! very strange...

horse box??? :confused:

never heard that one before, in what context does it be used??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

Get out!

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

kasintahan wrote:
    This ones been bugging me for a few years now.

When a Cork/Galway/Hairyback calls somebody "horse" what do they actually mean by it?

It would seem to be slightly derogatory.

kas

Ye they are being derogatory, next time, you should throw then a few digs into the haaaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Howaya horse, wanna buy a pony goin' cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

its a generic name.
    like 'baaay' down in cork, or 'mate' or 'fella' or 'boss'.
    its not derogatory, its just a generic name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Glipmac

A guy used to call me horse, only because he said i look like one

me http://www.funfolly.com/g/mascots/c9035mid.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

One of my friends always answers the phone with "Howya Horse!" Never really thought about it but now it's bugging me!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Glipmac wrote:
    A guy used to call me horse, only because he said i look like one

me http://www.funfolly.com/g/mascots/c9035mid.gif

LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Guy: that chaps a horse, he is a beast, like he's strong or a brut. You could also say, he'd (well) horse you out of it. you can add the well to make it more dublinized.

Girl: the birds a horse........ If you say that it means, she is huge, and like is tal and butch etc.. she'd kick your ass like. It's most definalty a derogatry term not a term of indearment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

its a generic name.
    like 'baaay' down in cork, or 'mate' or 'fella' or 'boss'.
    its not derogatory, its just a generic name.
    Yep, "hows it going horse", "cheers horse".
    It can be used to describe a big guy in a different way "he was a horse of a man".
    Never heard it used for a girl (in a good way), except one time when my pissed mate by mistake said "thanks horse" to a lounge girl who brought his drinks over, don't think she heard. It sounds totally wrong for a girl.

Then there is the "horsing" or "horse it" term, I think it is meant to refer to how a horse guzzles food or rides. He horsed the drink into him/ he horsed it into her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i'm from cork. dont know a single person who calls people horse.
    horse box is said quite alot though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Horse has alot of meanings

In much of non-Dublin Ireland, people will say horse in the "awright horse" context. Its the culchie version of bud and homeboy :D

In parts of Meath (Dunboyne anyway) horsey is a term for gettin laid :D "Aye, wouldnt mind gettin a bit of horsey tonight".
    However, the actual act of copulation is known as "wellyin it into her" (yes, welly, as in wellington boots)

What an odd town, the sooner Dublin completely swallows it up the better.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭seo-ireland

I once heard some guy telling a story that during the hot and heavy beginnings of a sexual encounter the other party 'softly' said:
    "Horse it into me boss"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I once heard some guy telling a story that during the hot and heavy beginnings of a sexual encounter the other party 'softly' said:
    "Horse it into me boss"

LMAO :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

"Horse it into me boss"

Nekkid Person 1: "Say my name bitch!!
    Nekkid Person 2: "Horse! Horse!! HORSE!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH GOD!!!!!
    Nekkid Person 1+2: "NAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!

LMFAO! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Used to work with a guy who used all four of these "Horse", "head", "boss" and, my personal favourite, "Shtick"

I found I tend to call people shtick a lot if I can't remember their name...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Humpty D

lol - boggers are funny.