Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dublin cheering...?!

• 05-06-2005 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭

absolutely a disgrace with the dublin fans cheering when meath guy was stretchered off. always supported dublin when they played but after that they've gone way down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

fans are mostly skangers, what do you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

fans are mostly skangers, what do you expect?
    / I expect some fireworks.

Doubt it. Most boards users have the sense to accept reality. Of course there's plenty of good fans but most of them(moreso the younger ones coming in gangs from GAA clubs) are just complete scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭cgf

absolutely a disgrace with the dublin fans cheering when meath guy was stretchered off. always supported dublin when they played but after that they've gone way down.

Gurl, I think u missed the point - they weren't cheering the guy on the deck, they were cheering the "cart" that was coming onto the pitch. Don't agree with it myself but I've heard it at numerous sporting events in different countries over the years.

As for Bottle_of_Smokes comments - there are skangers within the dublin supporters but ye shouldn't go tarring all Dublin supporters with the same brush. That is simply ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

CGF is spot on, the Dubs were cheering the cart not the injury. Bottle of smokes comments are just bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

They were cheering the cart. Even if they were cheering as he was being taken off that could be interpreted as in appreciation or support of an injured player. Still there will always be a few boyos jeering, from whatever county are playing, but the majority of fans are not like that.

I clearly said most. And you're just in denial if you don't agree with me, the local londis shop across the road has anyone wearing na fianna(the local club) clothing banned, and thats losing a lot of custom, just so the owner won't have to deal with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

So you are using you in depth knowledge and experience of one Londis shop to establish an informed opinion of the tens of thousands who go to Croke Park as Dublin fans? You are a muppet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Bottle your either a muppet or a flamer, either way I wont be putting up with your bull**** for very long. Ill be keeping an eye on you. first and last warning.

I wonder if anyone cared to talkabout the wonderful reception Hill 16 gave to the small group of Meath supporters on the Hill ? the banter was excelltent ( as were those Meath fans, Ill bet they cant talk today cause they sang for 60 minutes) or the cheering on of the special children of st Michaels house or the joining in with the tallaght youth band at half time.
    Wonderful support from all Dublins fans as far as I could tell.

We were cheering the motorised cart coming on and the arrival of such technology at Croke park. we were also cheering the resumption of the game.

The GAA does not have GANG's of youth their called teams, usually start at about under 10. I ask you not to refer to any group of supporters as scum again, unless you have more proof than what happens at your local corner shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

i was in the hill for this game and the majority of the shouting was

hack the sheep shagger
    stick the boot in
    they're animals
    i'd rather be a ____ than a royal
    the referee is a gobsh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The same could be said of the Meath fans though Kev. I was in the Canal end with a few lads from Dunboyne and most of the shouting was that "Hill 16 is scumbags only".

It's all just a bit of craic if you ask me, none of it is meant seriously. Sure at the Cavan Antrim game, a group of Cavan lads were singing "We love Tyrone, we love Tyrone" before the game!

Nothing was meant by the cheering, it was for the cart. At the majority of the games I've been at in the past year or two, the medics are usually meant with calls of "nee-nah, nee-nah".

It in no way means any disrespect to the injured player.

what happened to this player. ther were lots of guy on the ground rolling around through out the game and in the first instance i just thought he got a dig in the head and it was nothing serious. but he did stay down. broken/fractured jaw? hope not.

hack the sheep shagger::can you prove he doesnt have relations with sheep ? beside its term of endearment for Meath people.. we dont get too upset being called Jackeens.

stick the boot in:: nobody from dublin says stick the boot in... a dub would have said "burst 'em for jaysus sake"...and you woudl never hear that anywhere else ? also you may have seen that he actually kicked Wheelan while we was waiting for the buggy to come and collect him and you may have also seen he injured himself trying to take Alan Brogan out of it..but brogan showed him that GG isnt the only one who can side step)

they're animals :: in a good way or a bad way..it can mean both in dublin

i'd rather be a ____ than a royal :: me too, what your point, its local rivials !! for god sakes man

the referee is a gobsh1te :: arent they all ? but he seemed to be in many cases yesterday, soem very inconsistant decisions IMO

________

Maybe you shouldnt go to the Hill, or any game for that matter if you cant handle the Banter?

injured himself..very unlucky for him... good for Alan Brogan

i was just saying what the banter was. i don't think i commented on it.

i thought most of it was pretty funny. except for the rascist bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

The Meath fella got a very bad hamstring injury I think.

fair enough... thought you were making a point about it being wrong or incorrect .. I didnt hear any rascist comments yesterday.

I did here something very funny tho... when the ref was looking for Gerathy to book/ have a word someone shouted " That one ref.. the blonde bird in the flip flops" got a great laugh on the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Alany wrote:
    hack the sheep shagger::can you prove he doesnt have relations with sheep ? beside its term of endearment for Meath people.. we dont get too upset being called Jackeens.

stick the boot in:: nobody from dublin says stick the boot in... a dub would have said "burst 'em for jaysus sake"...and you woudl never hear that anywhere else ? also you may have seen that he actually kicked Wheelan while we was waiting for the buggy to come and collect him and you may have also seen he injured himself trying to take Alan Brogan out of it..but brogan showed him that GG isnt the only one who can side step)

they're animals :: in a good way or a bad way..it can mean both in dublin

i'd rather be a ____ than a royal :: me too, what your point, its local rivials !! for god sakes man

the referee is a gobsh1te :: arent they all ? but he seemed to be in many cases yesterday, soem very inconsistant decisions IMO

________

Maybe you shouldnt go to the Hill, or any game for that matter if you cant handle the Banter?
    Ha ha. You can call all referees gob****es, but bottle_of_smoke can't call people shouting abuse scum?

Thats right. Bottle of smoke was talking out of his arse, cause he was calling all dublin fans scum for cheering a stretcher. he was just here to get a rise out of posters.

I think the ref had a good game actually, he was fair and inconsistant for both teams... what but when I saw wheelans back getting staped on or another fella get leveled by a shoulder to the face I shouted gob****e... cause at that time i felt he was. just like when Wheelo, punched a fella in the face.

He didn't say all. He even said he didn't say all. How can you still think he said all? I'd agree with him when he says the kind of people to cheer someone being stretchered off scum. Still don't know how you think calling all referees gob****es is any better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Fantasy

Havn't you been paying attention ?!? :confused: The cheering WASN'T for him being strechered off !!!

Of course I have. When Smoke first replied nothing had been said about the cheering not being for the guy getting carried off. So he was just replying to the original poster saying that it's not surprising that people would cheer that kind of thing becuase most of them are skangers.

most of them are not skangers. not at all. now it seems to me your here for much the same reason as bottle of smoke ? so stop being so nit picky. There is a massive differance between my comments and bottles. but even if there isnt, it doesnt need you trying to drag it up again. you havent even given your opinion on the subject at hand...

Well I reckon all was doing was trying to offer an explanation to the OP for the cheering. He hasn't replied since all this "cheering for the cart" stuff was mentioned, so I don't see how you can think he's just trying to stir it up. In fact I'd say he was probably defending the decent Dublin supporters by saying that they're not all ignorant tards and that it's just the skanger section that are acting the bollox. He may not have actually meant most, just that there are some. But I can't really claim to know what he meant.

I can't say I understand this cheering the cart thing. And it certainly wouldn't surprise me to hear that people from Dublin would cheer if a member from another team got injured. I've lived here long enough to know how ignorant the people can be. Now if you say they were in fact cheering for the cart then fair enough. I'm sure you know a lot more about all this than I do. I was really just trying to defend Bottle_of_Smoke 'cause I don't think he was being as flamable as people seemed to think.

Ro: maaan! wrote:
    Well I reckon all was doing was trying to offer an explanation to the OP for the cheering

Thank you, that's it!
    Alany wrote:
    Thats right. Bottle of smoke was talking out of his arse, cause he was calling all dublin fans scum for cheering a stretcher. he was just here to get a rise out of posters.

Lovely way of putting that. I replied to the original poster when I posted my "first offence" under the impression they were cheering the lad getting injured. I didn't know anything abou the stretcher at that point. And you're blissfully ignoring the part where I said *most*
    Alany wrote:
    The GAA does not have GANG's of youth their called teams, usually start at about under 10. I ask you not to refer to any group of supporters as scum again, unless you have more proof than what happens at your local corner shop.

Well I should of mentioned I played for A GAA club for six years, my brother's been playing the last 12(still is). I've known people in the club and I've seen the contrast between his schoolfriends and his GAA friends. Why do you think Sportswear is banned in a lot of pubs? Sports always have an aggro-supporter element and GAA is no different.

Not here to insult anyone and I pointed that out in my second post. I like Soccer too and I can happily accept there's a majority of scum fans between the ages of 10-22ish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Alany wrote:
    He said most,not all. Calm down. He has a right to condemn his own kind.
    At least it's an honest perception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I'm hungover.

Last stop ladies and gents. ALL OFF.

locked.