Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won the LOTTO

• 03-06-2005 12:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭

Thought this might be interesting. If you won the lotto, who would you tell, if anyone and what would you do with the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i'd buy loads of 5hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭crang

What. You'd invest in manure. Is that what you are saying. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I'd tell nobody except my girlfriend. I'd keep it secret for about a year or so, then I'd buy another house, drumkit, car and home recording studio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

TBH my decision would be totally dependant on the amount I won.

Tippex wrote:
    TBH my decision would be totally dependant on the amount I won.

Listen, why are you saying "to be honest"? It has no relevance to your sentence. Or are we to take it that if you left out the TBH that we should think you're lying!?? People really are using this TBH bullshít way too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

I'd buy a house in Dublin, rent it out, buy myself a van and feck off travelling!!

I never played the lotto in my life though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Listen, why are you saying "to be honest"? It has no relevance to your sentence. Or are we to take it that if you left out the TBH that we should think you're lying!?? People really are using this TBH bullshít way too much.

And exactly what relevance does your post have to the topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

no.
    crang wrote:
    What. You'd invest in manure. Is that what you are saying. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Aston Martin DB7

byeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

but a house, and travel the world, going travelling the world next year so winning the lotto would come in handy, must do the lotto :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭open_book

that to be honest thing annoys the bejaysus outta me aswell. Ive found myself using it over and over in speech!aaaaaaagh.

if i won the lotto, i'd release an album and buy loads of copies to get it rolling, then i'd buy a house in sydney, then i'd buy myself a deadly racehorse and live it up in randwick every other day!
    or most likely what would happen is i'd go get very pissed then become foolish and waste around 700k on luxuries for everybody and wake up in vegas or something with a bill for more than i had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

To be honest I'd buy a boat and call it To Be Honest. To be honest I would then buy an island and call it To Be Honest. To be honest I would then sail To Be Honest to To Be Honest and live happily ever after.

Nah I'd go to Vegas and put 1.5 million on black....let it ride!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

I woulf get someone to write my comments in boards for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I'd buy boards.ie and drive it into the ground for my own personal amusment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Pay Parents mortgages, 10grand each to siblings, 5grand each per family of relations(bout 6/7). Now that that crap is out of the way..

Holiday with the lads, some material things, a car and a house(assuming the lotto win was enough)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

Gilgamesh wrote:
    I woulf get someone to write my comments in boards for me

Don't put yourself down its a common spelling mistake, the d is right beside the f on the keyboard. ;)

I'd buy more lottery tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I'd buy an Bently Continental GT, and park in the middle of town.
    Then I'd get a sledge hammer, and beat the s**t out of it in front of everyone :eek: .

Q: Why?
    A: Cause I could.... :D

Then I'd buy a factory, and close it down the week before christmas :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

If I won enough I'd buy a castle and pretend to be someone important.

Failing that, I'd buy one of those old Victorian terraced houses with the 3 or 4 stories and the little attic bit at the top, paint it some mad colour, and keep a goat in my front garden.

Tippex wrote:
    And exactly what relevance does your post have to the topic?

None. You didn't answer my question though. Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭crang

I would not tell any1 except girlfriend. I would buy a nice house a nice car and a dog.would not do anything to flashy though. Would probably travel the world a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'd probably buy a ****load of guitars, amps and other gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

If I won it I would only tell my parents and brother. I would give 10% of my win to various charities. I would then look after my parents and brother - hopefully I would have enough to buy a house. If I won the Euromillions then in addition I would work 1/2 time and stay a part time student for the rest of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

id get those fine boys at occ to make me a kickass chopper with lazerbeams and stealth capabilities, buy a house for my mum, buy a house for my gran and buy a house for myself, and buy a plane so i can fly over the whitehouse and piss out the window

and throw a kickass party

[Edit]
    oh and id only tell my mother my gran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

would give up work

and spend my days catching up with my massive DVD/VHS and music backlog.

would travel to various countries searching for second hand vinyl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I'd buy a Lambo for meself, a DB9 for my Dad, then enter us both in the Gumball. Then I'd buy a house (most likely), give money to charity and bums, and invest the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Id put it away until im smart enough not to piss it away on useless things, have the parents holiday house done up a bit maybe get a car and a house after a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

If I won enough I'd buy a castle and pretend to be someone important.
    hehe. i'm liking that idea :)
    it'd have to be in a country that allows marriage to more than one woman though... ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I'd buy a house in Dublin, rent it out, buy myself a van and feck off travelling!!

I never played the lotto in my life though...

Jesus !!! you'd be rich at the rate they charge here :)

As for myself , i'd tell only my mother coz she's the only one in my family who wouldnt go blabbing to everyone about it ... this would only happen about 2 weeks after i actually collected my winnings so i could surprise em all with a nice trip somewhere and some dosh to spend .

P.S. if i told anyone but my mother, my nextdoor neighbour would find out [ who is like the news of the world ] , so everyone would know about it within a 5 mile radius of where i live :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I'd buy Windmills; Like in Leitrim!

I'd hire a hitman and kill the Crazy Frog! :)