Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wristbands

• 01-06-2005 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭

This may not be the correct ploace for posting this so Mod feel free to move it.

Anyway, I see a load of kids wearing these coloured wristbands alot lately. The most popular probably being the black and white inter-linked one for anti-racism. The are many others but I've no idea what there mean. They also advertised one on the news last night that Jonathan Philbin Bowman's son has introduced for exam student, saying "Be not afraid". Anyway, what I wanna know is where can these bands be bought, I haven't ever seen em in shops.

I wouldn't mind getting the inter-linked one!

Memphis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Not another wristbands thread. Do a search and you'll find loads info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i don't think you can get the interlinked one for racism anymore try ebay though if you're that keen on getting one.

i saw that report too last night and i thought it was ****ing hilarious when the reporter said that Jonathan Philbin Bowman's son invented this idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

memphis wrote:
    The are many others but I've no idea what there mean.

Memphis

they mean that a fool is soon to be parted from his money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The most popular one is the yellow Livestrong one by a long shot. Thats the original one too.
    You can get some nice silver ones at www.until.org . Its a bit nicer than the rubber ones, and plus, you're giving more money to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

its turning to a pog/yugio(sp?) cards thing in the schools!!!

AD HOC in temple bar are selling them 2 for a euro(not for charity) they are just name bands. the kids in the schools swap them! certain ones a better than other ones!! its crazy!!!

yeh, they are turning into pog/yu-gi-oh but come on you can't compare them to pog.

pog was the greatest thing ever, i still have my collection 8 years on. (only offical ones though)

ye but this is the thing! kids now a days in 8 years time will be saying

"name bands where the greatest thing ever, i still have my collection 8 years on. (only offical ones though)"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Another lovely fad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

I have to say I actually detest this whole wristband thing. Especially the charity ones.

"Look at me, I gave to 2 euro to help South East Asia and I've got this nifty colourdy band, which is actually a fashion accessory too, to prove it, so everyone knows how generous i am."

Gah. Well done for saving the planet.

Would you rather, they didnt give money to charity?
    I mean, like them or not, they've raised millions of dollars to charity, which wouldnt have been raised otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

They've swept the fact that they were made in China, using forced-labour, to make them, under the mat pretty quickly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

Blisterman wrote:
    Would you rather, they didnt give money to charity?
    I mean, like them or not, they've raised millions of dollars to charity, which wouldnt have been raised otherwise.

Of course the fact that money ends up in a charity's account is good. Im not disputing that.

I'm lamenting the fact that, as you rightly say, it wouldn't have been raised otherwise. That people are so shallow as to pay 2 quid just to show others how much of a martyr they are. What i'd much prefer is for them to just transfer 50 quid to the charity without the need to cry how good a samaritan they are. Or better still, set up a monthly direct debit to take a tenner out of their account or something.

And yes, fine, I wouldn't feel so harshly about it if it was kids wearing them. That'd be good. Maybe the parents went with the kind and got the kid to buy the band with their pocket money to teach them about charity and good causes or whatever. That's fine, a good lesson. But on grown people......

What I reall hate are the ones that arent for charity (Even the bullying ones, to a lesser degree), because they're taking away money that people would spend on charity ones.

Also buying them on Ebay doesn't help the charity, because the person has already paid the money to the charity, whether you win the bid or someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 katieo

if u go to breastcancer.org.co.uk u can get pink one's :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Branoic wrote:
    I have to say I actually detest this whole wristband thing. Especially the charity ones.

"Look at me, I gave to 2 euro to help South East Asia and I've got this nifty colourdy band, which is actually a fashion accessory too, to prove it, so everyone knows how generous i am."

hear, hear! i thought i was the only one who felt this way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

ITN wrote:
    Charity wristbands 'made in sweatshops'
    4.04PM, Sun May 29 2005

Wristbands made to raise awareness of the Make Poverty History campaign have been produced in Chinese factories which violated ethical standards.

The fashionable white wristbands, worn by celebrities and politicians including Tony Blair and Coldplay's Chris Martin, were made for a coalition of charities as the symbol of their worldwide 2005 campaign to end extreme poverty.

Oxfam, Christian Aid and Cafod are amongst those charities selling the wristbands, made in rubber and fabric, at £1 each.

Audit reports on two Chinese factories producing the bands have shown standards fell below the Ethical Trading Initiative.

Tat Shing Rubber Manufacturing Company, in Shenzhen, near Hong Kong, was accused of "forced labour" by taking financial deposits, poor health and safety provision, long hours, unpaid overtime and no right to freedom of association, in the April 2005 audit.

An audit report on Fuzhou Xing Chun Trade Company, in Fujian province, included workers being paid below the local minimum hourly wage of 2.39 yuan (16p), down to 1.39 yuan (9p) in some cases, overtime work not being paid properly and with hours beyond the legal limit, no paid annual leave, no guarantee of a day off per week, and workers being deducted for disciplinary reasons.

A spokeswoman for Cafod, which bought 120,000 rubber bands from the Tat Shing factory, said it was "concerned that labour standards weren't as good as we would have expected especially as we were buying as part of this campaign."

Oxfam bought 10,000 silicon wristbands from Tat Shing in November last year, none of which have been sold, but found another supplier while waiting to receive the firm's audit.

Oxfam then ordered 1.5 million wristbands from Fuzhou Xing Chun Trade Company after the failings highlighted in its audit had been addressed.

A spokesman for Oxfam said: "Like the rest of the Make Poverty History coalition, Oxfam is concerned about the ethical audits that have come back on the Chinese factories lined up to supply white bands and we have agreed formal action plans to address the concerns raised which have been carried out.

"We can reassure people wanting to support the campaign that all white bands sold in Oxfam shops meet the standards of our ethical purchasing practices."

A spokesman for Christian Aid, which has bought more than 500,000 wristbands from Tat Shing, said: "There is no hint of a disagreement within the agencies on this. At Christian Aid we stand four-square beside our partners within the Make Poverty History Campaign."

Sandbag, a Berkshire-based marketing company which deals with the Fuzhou factory, was not available to comment.

http://www.itv.com/news/world_1161927.html

Says a lot, doesn't it? I'll be leaving my wristbands at home til this is sorted.

you can get pink ones in clares acessories too, 2 for 2.50!! and they have friends forever!!

i hate them i really do but the thing that really gets to me are people buying them for charity! what happened to the pin or the ribbon( cheeper to make than bloody name bands!!!)

or the jar of honey that was donated for charity!!!

or the pens or any of the other things you can get for charity!!!

you don't see swarms of kids swapping charity pins or pens or ribbons do you??

this was made a fad by someone! and its a pain in the a$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Branoic wrote:

I agree with those sentiments entirely.

Well, my nice new one was made in Italy, so I'm not guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

i.hate.wristbands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

It turned into a trend when some bright spark started selling the livestrong bands at football games, afaik. Who set the trends in school? Sports players. Who set the trends in celeb media these days? Football players.

As soon as I saw football players wearing them, I knew it'd be a trend - though I never thought it'd become so common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

I think they have em for Man united or something now as well, something to do with the campaign against the take-over or sommat like that.

I was only interested in getting one cos they seem to be popular at the moment, plus the fact that I'd be buying one for a charity, have no intention of bedding for em on ebay.

So, what's the Livestrong one for anyway, is that the yellow one?

livestrong is for testicular (sp.) cancer

made famous by cyclist Lance Armstrong. It's yellow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Just ordered one from the Concern website. Its the white "end poverty" one.

They cost £1.50 sterling, but being generous I added an additional £2 seeing that its for charity.

I also came across the crazybands.com site when I did a quick search, but I reckon they are a bit dodgy, and only out to grab peoples money (certainly not for charity).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Branoic wrote:

I agree with Branoic. Theyre as common as muck and everyone who wears them thinks they are Gods gift to he world but theyre shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

the_syco wrote:
    They've swept the fact that they were made in China, using forced-labour, to make them, under the mat pretty quickly!
    A company I work for has brought in loads of samples from a cheap Chinese supplier. I doubt they will be used for charitable purposes. However they come in many guises - glow in the dark, heat sensitive, light reflective and even mint "flavoured"!

The legitimate ones, as said, must have been very good income for proper charities, fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

memphis wrote:
    They also advertised one on the news last night that Jonathan Philbin Bowman's son has introduced for exam student, saying "Be not afraid".

Abie Philbin Bowman?

Aw man I remember he taught me Creative Writing and Drama in baby CTYI- he rocked so much! *remenisces* He had a guitar called Esmerelda....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

fozzle wrote:
    Says a lot, doesn't it? I'll be leaving my wristbands at home til this is sorted.
    That won't help...

They say the best way to help with child/slave labour is to not boycott the products because this only forces their wages down...

Bit of a catch 22 situation... Buy loads and they have to work harder, buy none and they make less money...

Man the world sucks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

fozzle wrote:

Seeing that headline in the paper was one of the most hilarious experiences of my life. You were there, Fozzle, you remember how long it took me to stop laughing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

wrist bands, crazy frog......... where did it all go wrong :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

*Page* wrote:

i hate them i really do but the thing that really gets to me are people buying them for charity! what happened to the pin or the ribbon( cheeper to make than bloody name bands!!!)

or the jar of honey that was donated for charity!!!

or the pens or any of the other things you can get for charity!!!

you don't see swarms of kids swapping charity pins or pens or ribbons do you??

this was made a fad by someone! and its a pain in the a$$

I see your point but the reason for the bands is to raise money, to raise money they need people to want to buy them, so why not sell something that is guaranteed to be in high demand and raise money for charity?It's simple marketing.

I also think that the China thing is a load of ****, what a bunch of hypocrites! But people who complain about the bands because they are a "fashion trend" should realise there are more important things to complain about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 bagocans

"look at me i'm not a racist"