Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Pride in Irish games

• 30-05-2005 3:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭

Some gimps website

If i read one more article/site like that i'm going to lose the head. What is wrong with these people ?

p.s - If anyone knows this little $%^& can they please kick the **** out of him ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Mc Clane I would not let it bother you so much. It is just some twat, trying unsuccessfully to be funny.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Obviously someone who couldn't make it in the GAA because of his stupidity. Now he's hitting back. Don't give him any attention, its what he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Obviosuly someone who doesn't know much about the GAA. It's only played in one country? :) It is played all over the world, and admired by people all over it. I had 10 people from England with me in Croke Park. Some had seen Gaelic Football before but most had not seen it live. They were very impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Board@Work

I cant stand people like that..

Its the mentality that all things Irish are somehow inferior and therefore useless..

People like that are nor worth anything in my opinion and dont even deserve being spoken about on this thread...

To say it isn't skillfull obviously shows his ignorance of the sport of gaelic football but to say hurling in particular isn't skillfull is moronic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

Not to worry lads,obviously another west brit with an inferority complex.
    Not good enough for rugby by the looks of it and he can't build websites for ****e,daddy will soon find him a job in one of the bastions of westbritness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

Such a gimp though. I can't understand people like that even though i've seen/heard more of them irl too. I've seen the same attitudes thrown at the Irish language. Fair enough i'm not mad into it either, i don't speak it but i have absolutely nothing against it whatsoever and i'd love to see it have a real revival (What gov has actually done anything substantial for it eh ? ).

This is partly why i have no interest in Irish Soccer clubs, not because of the GAA but because of those kind of peoples attitudes. And to tell u the truth i'd rather watch the Munster/All-Ireland final in hurling then the champions league any day of the week. Its 100 times more skillful then soccer could ever hope to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

dont give him any notice hes an idiot. cant even build a webpage .

I have found people in soccer clubs to be open minded about Gaelic football, sure there is banter about bogball and stick fighting but any of the "nancy boys" who have really given it a go will have respect for a game that is as if not more challenging than soccer.

PS- the Liverpool Milan final was fantastic and a credit to soccer, to Constantinople and Soccer fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I would say a large proportion of people in this country can follow a number of different sports! I myself was in Istanbul for the Liverpool game, and will probably be in Croke Park the next two weekends for the Wexford games!

I myself have played or play gaelic football, hurling, soccer, basketball and even gave badminton a go! So I do not understand why people can not just appreciate the skill and effort involved in different sports and enjoy them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

What an ape. What a total ape.

Simple test. Put a pulse-meter on fans watching hurling, do the same for the fans watching soccer.

I guarantee you that the amount of pulses recorded in the 70 minutes will surpass the 90 minutes recording.

Now, I don't dislike soccer or anything like it. I just feel that for entertainment value it lags far behind the GAA games. For starters, it is a very low scoring sport. Secondly, it is hard to identify with teams in another land. The players themselves hardly identify with the clubs - i.e. one year a player is kissing the crest of an everton jersey after scoring a goal, 6 months later he is kissing the crest of a Man U jersey - imagine!

Imagine DJ Carey kissing his beloved Kilkenny jersey in the 2004 finals only to be kissing the crest of a Cork jersey in 2005!!! - it would be ludicrous! which is why pay for play needs to be VERY carefully looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

madmorphy wrote:
    Not good enough for rugby by the looks of it and he can't build websites for ****e,daddy will soon find him a job in one of the bastions of westbritness.
    Yeah because you have to be anti Irish to dislike GAA...well done there.

Whats so incorrect about that ? disliking the GAA IS being anti-Irish. Thats the whole point of it being GAA.

Although i suppose it would depend on how you'd define "Irish". The GAA is part of our culture and our heritage.
    I'm sure there are loads of people out there who hate the GAA and hate the Irish language and hate etc etc but these are all part of being Irish.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by madmorphy

Ah yes,the promotion of gaelic games in the west brit schools of the southside,not !.Even after rule 42 has been lifted the private schools have no intention of letting anything but rugby be fostered.If i had me way you wouldn't be let anywhere near croke park.

lets not make the work of one feckin eejit turn this into a political debate. Also lets not profile people you presume to come from southside Dublin and lets not discuss what private schools encourage thats their business...

Dammed GAA - Anti world, not promoting Finnish motor cross

Yeah because are whole Irishness is defined by a single association that promotes 2 sports, not even the association but the sports.

If you called someone anti Irish because they disliked a sport I think you'd get a prompt 'go fúck yourself'

Anti GAA is just that anti GAA. It has nothing to do with being anti Irish. Although that isn't to say you can't do both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Sangre wrote:
    Yeah because are whole Irishness is defined by a single association that promotes 2 sports, not even the association but the sports.

If you called someone anti Irish because they disliked a sport I think you'd get a prompt 'go fúck yourself'

Anti GAA is just that anti GAA. It has nothing to do with being anti Irish. Although that isn't to say you can't do both.

I'm really starting to dislike this guy

Can you give me a reason?

Well i don't know about anyone else,but the two links you have there is enough for me.

Oh! So because he puts a fada on the ú in **** that means he obviously's a fan of gaeilge ? and therefore not anti-Irish ?

Why not ? How can you not be anti-a culture by hating that cultures sport which is so much a part of its heritage and culture ? The GAA is more a cultural entity than it is a sporting one.

Madmorphy your on a last warning. once more and your outta here for a while.
    McClane and Sangre are not far behind you. ( PS he used the ú so he could type ****)

enough is enough, we all feel yer man is an eejit for being anti gaa when he clearly hasnt a clue. but thats IT !

Thread locked.