Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please Ban Tracksuits

• 29-05-2005 11:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭

I'm fed up of all the scangers parading around in tracksuits.. and burberry .. don't get me started. Tracksuits are for sports.. and I wouldn't call rollin' a sport! Do they want people to get the wrong impression of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Don't be labelling all tracksuits as skanger wear please.Some sportswear has da funk....

I just bought some retro red adidas three stripe,run dmc style pants and they look sh'it hot!

On a different note though, all this tracksuit wear by scummers is just a uniform,they recoginise each other by it and feel validated within their civic driving,bulmers drinking and sky sports watching circle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

daRobot wrote:
    Don't be labelling all tracksuits as skanger wear please.Some sportswear has da funk....

I just bought some retro red adidas three stripe,run dmc style pants and they look sh'it hot!

On a different note though, all this tracksuit wear by scummers is just a uniform,they recoginise each other by it and feel validated within their civic driving,bulmers drinking and sky sports watching circle.

like he said its the same as the hats up in the air! how else will they recogonise who each other are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Who, me?

poobum wrote:
    like he said its the same as the hats up in the air! how else will they recogonise who each other are!
    Well, couldn't they have like, a secret handshake, or something? Enough with the dosey looking tracksuits. Ireland's youth will get a bad name for itself.
    If it hasn't already, I mean.

Who, me? wrote:
    Well, couldn't they have like, a secret handshake, or something? Enough with the dosey looking tracksuits. Ireland's youth will get a bad name for itself.
    If it hasn't already, I mean.

they already have a bad name! as for the handshake its a good idea but then you wudnt be letting every1 else around you no how "hard" you are(i feel this is half of the reason they wear the hats to intimidate and let every1 around know that if you get in their way or there in a bad mood they'll get 40 lads to hop on 2 of yas!!) so the hat does just this! plus i doubt half of them have the brain capacity to remember a secret handshake! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Who, me?

poobum wrote:
    they already have a bad name! as for the handshake its a good idea but then you wudnt be letting every1 else around you no how "hard" you are(i feel this is half of the reason they wear the hats to intimidate and let every1 around know that if you get in their way or there in a bad mood they'll get 40 lads to hop on 2 of yas!!) so the hat does just this! plus i doubt half of them have the brain capacity to remember a secret handshake! :rolleyes:
    :p True enough. Okay, so the handshake was just me hypothesising, but seriously, there's just an epidemic of them! I mean, I'm young myself, but I don't go around in tracksuits drinking Stella Artois (which seems to be the alcoholic beverage of choice lately) and crashing various parties/clubs etc.
    What worries me is Irish teenagers seem to love mimicing teenagers of other countries, namely England and America. Lets just hope this whole 'Happy Slap' thing doesn't catch on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Hey, Im wearing a tracksuit now and you'd never mistake me for a knacker...
    Might be the rugby shirt with the collar up though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Dirge

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

What do you want them to wear if not tracksuits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Lynibeth

Tracksuits are sh**e. When I see a person in a tracksuit I immediately presume they're going to mug me! I'm not the only one either.. They can wear anything else.. ah i really don't care lol just tryin to spice things up cos I hate tracksuits.. :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Tracksuits are comfortable. I'm definitely not a knacker but I can't be bothered dressing up for college every day. I'll wear tracksuit bottoms and a hoodie if I feel like it and I think it's rather sad how evreyone here just listens to the stereotypes and refuses to think for themselves in terms of fashion. Like the safari and peasant looks? Girls seem to be incapable of realising that they don't actually suit everyone, well most people. You aren't Sienna Miller. Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

I wear tracksuit bottoms and hoodies and I love it. I do hate people walking around in full tracksuit though

I agree. The "boho" look Is c**p. I wear what I want but nobody accepts what I wear so why should I accept theirs?.. I'm such an angry youth :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

its all about FUBU tracksuits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pearl666

their all clones! same tracksuits, hair styles. its like "hello clone 550 how ya?"

there all over my area and they look all a like its head wrecking. I do laugh at them for the way they look the same and dress the same

and then the little kids ahahahhahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i wear tracksuits all the time, they are comfortable. Stop judging other people like idiots. I know im not a knacker i just like tracksuits, sure even the "d4 heads" are parading around in nike, adidas etc. So get over yourselves.

iv nothing agaisnt tracksuits thy are comfy but the majority of pople who wear them are knackers! for them i say go away and burn or die or something! giving tracksuits bad name.....and a onc respectable brand burbery!!! now its just scum....disgraceful... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Tracksuits just aren't for me unless I'm at the gym....

My boyfriend wants to say :

Tracksuits don't bother me but the bad name that they're acquired because of the whole "yob" scene does. I believe that how someone dresses doesn't always reflect who they are but it gives you an idea. Maybe if we broke away from tracksuits for a while the stereotypes would die away. There's more to the tracksuits now than just clothing. it's a cult! Anyone who wears a tracksuit just wants to attract unwanted attention from the Gardaí! They know what they're gettin themselves in for. When I see them with the 90 degree angled hat and walking like they have a limp, trying to intimidate people, I just want to roll around laughing on the floor revealing my pink fluffy thong to the world and screaming, "OMG you're the ones who look like fools!" and i feel assured that many people would agree with me on that that they're the ones who look foolish, not me :D

Sincerly T.W.T.M.T.O.H.H (Teen with too much time on his hands!)

Ps I love Lynibeth xxxxxxxxxxxx :o

oh... by the way my name is Taran :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭baby*cham*bell

daRobot wrote:

retro addidas ............................. nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭TheMurrinator

Lynibeth wrote:
    Tracksuits are sh**e. When I see a person in a tracksuit I immediately presume they're going to mug me! I'm not the only one either.. They can wear anything else.. ah i really don't care lol just tryin to spice things up cos I hate tracksuits.. :):D

True.... i wear the kind of cotton matreal tracsuits not the silky ones, if you know what kind I mean... anyone with a tracsuit burberry and lacoste runners is trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

True.... i wear the kind of cotton matreal tracsuits not the silky ones, if you know what kind I mean... anyone with a tracsuit burberry and lacoste runners is trouble

you are talking sh*t, and learn to spell.....

go now, go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

"Location: Dublin 4 + 10"

Well chillywilly, that should be a warning sign for you to ignore messages from people who list their location as such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

do not ban tracksuits! I have no problem wearing tracksuit bottoms, I actually love wearing my O'neills because I'm a sporty person and they are very comfortable! personally I don't like full tracksuits but let people wear what they want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

blaydin jayzus wat deh fook am oi sehpozed teh fookin whair den? ya bollixes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭mo_thoin

do not ban tracksuits! I have no problem wearing tracksuit bottoms, I actually love wearing my O'neills because I'm a sporty person and they are very comfortable! personally I don't like full tracksuits but let people wear what they want!

See youre alright if you wear o'neills!! The people in question wouldn't dare be caught in a pair of o'neills cause thats what the "d4 heads" wear!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

Lynibeth wrote:
    I'm fed up of all the scangers parading around in tracksuits.. and burberry .. don't get me started. Tracksuits are for sports.. and I wouldn't call rollin' a sport! Do they want people to get the wrong impression of them?

who cares you shouldnt, shut up,

i say ban underpants cos they smell sometimes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭shoegirl

I don't think we need to go as far as banning them, there is already enough social stigma attached to them to keep people who insist on wearing sports clothes whilst not doing sports as an excluded underclass.
    Strangely enough they don't seem to get this at all.

As for me, I'm fondly attached to my two tracksuit pants, although they truly must be skangeriest ones in Ireland as I bought them in 2001 at a stall in the market in Walthamstow, two pairs for 5 pounds. They are only ever seen in the gym of course! I wouldn't be seen dead in them except whilst exercising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

Ozzy wrote:
    blaydin jayzus wat deh fook am oi sehpozed teh fookin whair den? ya bollixes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Lynibeth wrote:
    iF YOU DONT LIKE THEM, TUFF S**T, MABYE OTHER PEOPLE WEAR THEM BECAUSE THEY WANT TO, AND MAYBE THEY FEEL COMFORTABLE IN THE CLOTHING OF THEIR CHOICE!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I posted this 6 months ago and now I never wear O'Neills.. How things have changed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

i think it depends on the circumstances:

you see a bloke with a ridiculous little 'tache, right angled cap and a tracksuit having a cigarette while walking (with wildly flailing arms) down o connell street

or

you see a guy wearing a tracksuit walking normally through town with a bag on his back, he turns into trinity college for his lecture

its true that the first guy is seen far more often than the second one but to automatically label everyone who wears them a scumbag/knacker/skobe etc. is quite petty.

Same as any item of clothing if you like it and feel comfortable in it, wear it. It's not exactly difficult to tell who is and who isn't a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

tribulus wrote:
    Same as any item of clothing if you like it and feel comfortable in it, wear it. It's not exactly difficult to tell who is and who isn't a knacker.

sums up what i think about fashion in general pretty much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Woof!

Lynibeth wrote:
    My boyfriend wants to say :

Anyone who wears a tracksuit just wants to attract unwanted attention from the Gardaí! They know what they're gettin themselves in for.

Maybe it's to blend in rather than to stand out as we already compromised on people are gonna wear tracksuits whether theyre skangers or not, so if you're gonna haev to leggit from the coppers you want to blend in with a tracksuit rather than stand out with "normal" clothes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Please let this thread be locked, absolutely no good can come from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

If tracksuits were banned the streets would be empty.

Whats worse than tracksuits?Fat people wearing:p them as they eat fast food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

I say it depends on the tracksuit. Shell suit ones are mank. Adidas, reebok etc are alright for college and jogging but Velour tracksuits are the best- v.nice and classy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Try e-mailing Micheal Noonan about it if you're that concerned.

Thread locked before it descends into absolute muppetry.

-simu