Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brazil and Air France

• 25-05-2005 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭

I'm going to brazil for a month, staying in Rio for a few days first and the in belo hozante for the rest of the time.
    Just wondered if anyone had been and whats good to visit and to avoid??

Also I think I'm gonna go with air france. I have to change at paris airport-is it easy enough to find your way around? Never flown alone and haven't a clue where to start....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭embraer170

Paris CDG is easier than LHR. Might be slightly confusing (lots of French and little English) but I wouldn't leave that worry you. Air France is grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Paris CDG is a hell hole but u should be doing ok. Air France is grand to fly with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Ruu wrote:
    Paris CDG is a hell hole but u should be doing ok..
    CDG certainly isn't a 'hell hole'. I thought it was quite a nice airport

I'll be going to rio via paris as well, so anyone with tips please reply reply reply ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Coney Island

Is this a good season to go to Brasil? I thought in winter was much better, I hope to go next February for the carnival, although I heard that also Venezuela is very nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Bluebells

Just got my ticket today. I'll be waiting at Paris airport for 3 hours befor the next flight.

Its winter in brazil so the temp. will be about 25-but it might be rainey :(
    Ive heard rio is quite expensive for clothes n toiletries n stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭silvo

cdg is fine - the area you get into is small enough although bring food with you as a sambo is around 6 / 7 euros

if you are in rio for a week or two there is the nicest island only 2ish hours away called ilha grande - would really recommend it - it isnt built up at all, only 3 cars on the whole island turquise water with starfish and the best hostel i have ever come across in terms of location, hammocks and its own sea pool!! you can go trekking, watersports or just booze on cheap caipirinha's ( less than a euro) for the whole time

check out this link

http://www.ilhagrande.com.ar/

It looks gorgous! Only staying in rio for a few days though.

How did the Rio trip go? I'm heading over in a few weeks and would love to hear some recommendations etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭PunyHuman

Rio's beautiful. I would recommend staying in Ipanema, very upmarket and chic.

For sights, the Pão de Açucar and the Corcovado are both great. You could do a favela tour as well if you're into that kind of thing.

When I was there some guys brought us to a fantastic club away south of the city, full of locals, really authentic and brilliant music.

Take care in Copacabana though. I was violently mugged in broad daylight outside the Palace Hotel, and most people I met had had some stuff robbed on the beach. Just try not to look too much like a gringo, and always carry the minimum number of possessions (this doesn't apply to Ipanema).

And caipirinhas are delicious.

PunyHuman wrote:
    Take care in Copacabana though. I was violently mugged in broad daylight outside the Palace Hotel, and most people I met had had some stuff robbed on the beach. Just try not to look too much like a gringo, and always carry the minimum number of possessions (this doesn't apply to Ipanema).
    Doh! Our hotel is on the copacabana beach....

What exactly do you mean by 'not looking like a gringo'. Is there a certain type of way of dressing that will make you look like a knacker or something?

Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭embraer170

What exactly do you mean by 'not looking like a gringo'. Is there a certain type of way of dressing that will make you look like a knacker or something?

Think of the average American tourist and dress the exact opposite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭PunyHuman

embraer170 wrote:

That's pretty much it. Loud shirts and hawaiian shorts etc. mark you out. Although if you're a pearly white Irish person it will be difficult to blend in no matter what you wear!

Also be aware of the 'poo on the shoe' trick which was also pulled on me at Copacabana. A shoeshine guy surreptitiously threw a gob of viscous brown matter onto my shoe and then offered to clean it off for an exorbitant fee. When I cleaned it off myself I found it was just engine grease.

Sorry to give the impression that the place is uber-dangerous; it's not. I'm just relating what happened to me. Nothing might happen to you. It's the breaks, is all.

Have fun anyway, it's a great place.

embraer170 wrote:
    must keep that in mind :D The lonely planet stated that they use the term for anyone who is a foreigner....

PunyHuman wrote:
    That's pretty much it. Loud shirts and hawaiian shorts etc. mark you out. Although if you're a pearly white Irish person it will be difficult to blend in no matter what you wear!

Also be aware of the 'poo on the shoe' trick which was also pulled on me at Copacabana. A shoeshine guy surreptitiously threw a gob of viscous brown matter onto my shoe and then offered to clean it off for an exorbitant fee. When I cleaned it off myself I found it was just engine grease.

Sorry to give the impression that the place is uber-dangerous; it's not. I'm just relating what happened to me. Nothing might happen to you. It's the breaks, is all.

Have fun anyway, it's a great place.
    I work with a couple from Rio, so they are keeping me up to date with all the 'scams' that go on... they actually told me about that one :D
    Anyway to make a few real...

Got back a couple of weeks ago. The beach, the city and sites were beautifull.
    My hotel was on copacobana. I heard it was a bit dodge but we were very carefull. We were only there a few days and didnt go to any clubs, just went for dinner as it was only myself and a Brazilian girl. I found it strange because they picked up straight away that we were not from there, even my Brazilian friend!

Some suggestions to keep safe:
    not to bring a towl or cover up on the beach (you will look like a tourist if u do),
    get a tan,
    if possible dont bring money or valuables around anywhere with you,
    get a safe in your hotel,
    go on a tour of rio rather than visit sites on your own,
    dont go anywhere alone.

Just dont be stupid and watch out for anything strange

Bluebells wrote:
    Some suggestions to keep safe:
    not to bring a towl or cover up on the beach (you will look like a tourist if u do),
    get a tan,
    I think the 5 milky white skinned irish lads are going to be spotted no probs :D