Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North/South side

• 23-05-2005 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭

So where is everyone? Are ye all in the north side or the south side?

I would call myself a norrie but i dont actually live within the city boundaries. Only a few minutes away from Blackpool though.

Where are u from? 41 votes

North side
    0% 0 votes
    South side
    17% 7 votes
    Centre (on the island)
    82% 34 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I'm sure I've mentioned this before: Earlier this year I was living on Margaret Street, which is behind Chorus on George's Quay, which is on the southern quay of the southern branch of the river. I was in the Cork North-Central electoral district. It's the Oirish Way.

These days I'm in Boreenmanna, back in good old Cork South Central! And while I mention that, someone can settle an argument: Is it "Boreenmanna Road, Ballinlough" or just "Boreenmanna Road"?

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

The Lough boy - like ya know

Nukem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭BrayHead

At the Lough as well .... lovely spot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i'm close to nukem and brayhead - lower pouladuff road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Boreenmanna Road myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

South side mofos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

daveirl wrote:

it seems you are right Dave, 12 to 3 in favour of the southside.

I'm from Blarney myself, god bless that stone! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The Lough as well!!! Jaysus, there could almost be a boards beer cork in The Hawthorn!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I didn't realise I had so many neighbours online, I'm just down the road! the top of the Kinsale Rd, near the AIB bank in Ballyphehane... a southsider all the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

gimmick wrote:
    The Lough as well!!! Jaysus, there could almost be a boards beer cork in The Hawthorn!!!

LOL - bet i know a few of ye. Damhasta can we move boards beer closer to us now *LOL*

Nukem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭the evil belly

in ballincollig myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

Humm.. maybe Tom Barry's would be closer to most of us then for Boards Beer??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

I feel like i'm the odd one out here. :( I'm from the North Side. North/South dont mix. Only messin. :D I'm from Kanturk originally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

where are all the norries?

Am... did u not see my first post?!? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

i did, im just wondering how come there aint more, where is everyone else?

Havent a clue! There should be way more than 5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭damien

Wow, how very Peoples Republic of Cork, let's next have a thread where we talk about the correct way to pronounce "boy".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Indeed. It's a slippery slope. Like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

i feel like the only person not from the city here at the mo, carrigaline is the place to be!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

damien.m wrote:
    Wow, how very Peoples Republic of Cork, let's next have a thread where we talk about the correct way to pronounce "boy".

Oh yes, and randomly insert the words langer and pana into every second sentence because that's so authentically Cork, loike.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Douglas...and for some reason people think its the D4 of Cork where its anything but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

Dimitri wrote:
    i feel like the only person not from the city here at the mo, carrigaline is the place to be!!

Hey I'm from carrigaline too. You're not alone. I'd call carrigaline southside anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Glounthaune for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭KNS

Renting in Blackrock. Not sure if that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

On the Mardyke, at the back of the NMRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

D4 or douglas at the moment... I think "the D4 of Cork" title would be more applicable to the right hand side of the Rochestown road, depending on which way youre driving of course...

Originally from Carrigaline though... I may move back, someday...

Yea thats true although i know of many scum bags that come from rochestown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭namaimo

Carrigaline for me... Its the south side I swear just don't go near the village after 6pm... ;)

Its amazing the amount of them that come from respectable families and all. One minute there playing cricket in the mardyke and the next there dealing in e's by the slab's!

You wouldnt mind if it was a phase but most of them remain like that for life!most of them remain like that for life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

I'm a bogger from the country like!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I'm from the constituency of Cork South Central - gangsta paradize yo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Originally north west Cork county (near enough to Millstreet). Been living in the city for near 5 years now. Been living on the Mardyke for the past 3 years. Near the arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

rymus wrote:
    Originally from Carrigaline though... I may move back, someday...
    why would you do that to yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I'm from Douglas myself. Maryborough to be precise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Neesha

Well I've just moved here and i'm living in silversprings, which i've been told is a glorified name for Mayfield... so i guess I'm a Norrie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

ah suburbia....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Neesha

daveirl wrote:

Yes I've a choice of address depending who I'm talking to! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭treefingers

im out by the lough as well - glasheen rd for me.....