Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many times you have been rejected !!!!

• 16-05-2005 8:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭

Hi was just thinking
    am i the only one who has faced the wind of rejection or there are other people out there too

By rejection i mean that you asked a girl out and she rejected you or on the other hand a girl ask a boy out and she has been rejected

Anyone faced things like these

well i mean that you really like this person and you ask her/him and you get a "no" :eek: or "sorry" :eek: in return

any ideas will anyone share my pain lol :D

i have been rejected about 3 times as far as i can remember
    from the girls i liked really and truly at some time in my life
    keeping in mind i dont go much and i am very shy is that a lott ???

i wish no one has to face it . you hate ur self when that happens :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Does crossing the road to avoid you count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

If this crap keeps on turning up we will need to have a teenage/asl/sex/hormonal teenager forum.

*sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

twice, 1989 and 1990

I'm 33 and married now but at the time I was devestated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Ah,without the sour,the sweet wouldn't taste so sweet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    twice, 1989 and 1990

I'm 33 and married now but at the time I was devestated
    lol

as for being rejected....well over a dozen times i reckon..... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Dublin8

answered the main point but in a different way

LadyJ wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

LadyJ wrote:

Ah LadyJ, ever on hand to offer timeless advice... and regurgitate age old proverbs! :p

Ah yeah,we all get rejected at some point but I think it's only happened to me one time that I really cared about. And the rejection was in the form of a breakup so at least I got a relationship beforehand I guess!
    But I think my point is valid nonetheless. You don't know how good it can be until you've had it bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Do yourself a favour and stop counting.

Ah LadyJ, ever on hand to offer timeless advice... and regurgitate age old proverbs! :p
    Ah yeah,nil aon tintean mar do thintean fein! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I don't think i've ever been rejected, but I dont take many jump shots, i'm usually a long shooter myself! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The only time I was rejected was by someone who said no, then yes about 2 days later.

Good day for me.

I once knew, and still know actually, a guy thats been rejected 40 times. Hes not ugly or anything, hes perfectly sound, he just has this aura of idiot and social retardedness about him...

....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Ive been rejected about 8 times, most recent one was a girl who asked me out, and then changed her mind 4 hrs later, but shes gonna regret what she missed out on :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Liars, ha! If only you coul keep count!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Rabies wrote:
    If this crap keeps on turning up we will need to have a teenage/asl/sex/hormonal teenager forum.

*sigh*
    Indeed Rabies.
    Arse bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭crazymonkey

too may times to count, but am getting close, can smell it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

1996 -twice
    1997 -once
    1999 -thrice
    2000 -six
    2002 -once
    2004 -once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Stalfos

Thousand looked like a bad year for you.

As for myself, i cant deal with rejection so i let them come to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Hanginthere

LadyJ wrote:

I could'nt agree more with that sentiment,
    After 5 years of sour "the time ive been interested in women" the sweet has never tasted so good, like.....after 2 nights ago :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Oh come one you don't pull unless you give it a go.

Rejections: Lost count(never actually kept count)
    Successes: Lost count (but probably a whole lot more than the person who never tries and that makes it all worth while)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Eh... Once or twice. So in turn for each girl that rejected me I got a better looking girl with a better personality. Rubbed it right in their faces! :D

As far as being rejected in a night club or whatever. Who cares? Just rub it in their faces when you get a girl and act all friendly towards the girl that rejected you. They'll begin to think twice about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Rubbed it right in their faces! :D

That's a bit rude, no? :p

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

RuggieBear wrote:
    That's a bit rude, no? :p
    It is indeed. :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Well no, but that's because I've never been brave enough to actually ask someone out... They either ask me or else we just end up together. Unless by rejection you count being dumped, in which case yeah I've been dumped twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Been rejected once, and have rejected a bird once too

I was hurt, only bird I ever really cared about properly. But thats life. I was down as **** for about 3 days after and thought itd take months to clear, but luckily Oxegen was on the following weekend :) Beer, smoke, seein the wu tang clan, faithless, a dance music arena open 12 hours per day, and my introduction after 17 years of life to the joys of ecstasy and cocaine put me on a good buzz for weeks afterwards :)

As for the bird i booted, when she asked me out via text, i was about 15. She wasnt awful looking, but cos she wore glasses i didnt particularly fancy her, and as well as that I never seen her out at anything at all, seemed a real stay at home type, so i politely texted her back sayin i was sorta seein someone else, maybe some other time (was i bollix)
    Anyway, her response was to prank call me on private number about once every 2 months pretending to be various birds, usually several times in one night and then nothin for months. I never bothered sayin "i know its you". Seein as she is such a ****in headcase i probably did best to stay clear
    She still does it very occasionally, last was maybe 3 months ago now. If she finds out the name of a bird ive been with she will sometimes call me pretending to be that girl. Complete looney tune
    Mind you it did result in some hilarity- in an effort to have me ringin back, for once she rang me from an unblocked number when i was out on the piss, pretending to be the bird i will mention below. Course i knew it wasnt her, but i played along a little anyway. Anyway they hung up, but rang back when me and 2 of my mates were in the jacks. After i picked up and they started their usual gibberish, the convo went somethin like this between me and my mate
    Me "Here, take this phone will ya, talk to these mental bitches"
    Friend(taking phone into a cublicle)"Hello......what, Gopher?(not real name obviously).....ah well, hes a bit of a legend. Tell me ladies, are yis into lesbian sex?"

This went on for at least 20 minutes, encompassing lesbianism, anal sex, blowjobs and beastialty, after which they hung up and my mate took down the no. theyd called me from onto his own phone

2 days later he rings me
    "Here, ya know that number that rang your phone the other night? I rang it back and said "Howiya, i think we were talkin about blowjobs the other night", and some woman replied "Eh, this is Unas mother" and i hung the **** up!"

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Tha Gopher wrote:
    her response was to prank call me on private number about once every 2 months pretending to be various birds, usually several times in one night and then nothin for months. I never bothered sayin "i know its you". Seein as she is such a ****in headcase i probably did best to stay clear
    Wow, that was mature of her. I agree, doesn't sound like you missed much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Dublin8 wrote:
    well i mean that you really like this person and you ask her/him and you get a "no" :eek: or "sorry" :eek: in return

Well at least u had the balls to ask, right? Most guys are usually shy about doing that. Men!! U'll never know unless u ask, ;) but hey there are plenty more fish in the sea. :)

Dont feel bad about getting rejected!! It happens all the time, even to people that are afraid to admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I've been rejected loads of times ...

I know that sounds very very bad, but it's not..
    I'm not afraid of asking someone out , if they say no ... ahh well wasn't meant to be. If they say yes :cool: .

As was said to me upon me getting a crush on a girl who worked in the shop across the road from me , " if they say no , accept it, your not going to be able to change thier mind there and then". so thats how i live. I'll ask , see what happens.

I've only every had 1 girl tell me to fu-ck off, and i got to use the best line ever ... "Sorry no, you didn't hear me ... you look fat in that dress".

Mind you i did have run alot that night :o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Theres no prob asking somebody you dont know but somebody you have known for a while can just make you feel alienated.I find with friends its best to let things happen and not to push a person.a few months of luvin compared to years of friendship ill take the latter.

But then when you dress up as santa and have 7 hot girls on your lap you have to ask one or seven of them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Been rejected, ejected, dissected and even disinfected on many, many occasions. Remember that spider in the Robert the Bruce legend? My advice is if at first you don't succeed... kill the spider!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Funnily enough never...

Mainly cos I don't ask unless I'm 90% certain of what the answers gonna be.

It's got to the stage where I don't even think about the possibility of rejection any more, cos I'd never be stupid enough to put myself on the line like that anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Megatron wrote:
    I've only every had 1 girl tell me to fu-ck off, and i got to use the best line ever ... "Sorry no, you didn't hear me ... you look fat in that dress".
    Hah, brilliant! :)
    Nice that you had it ready.

What was the opener to that one? I can't remember now, but I know it's funny.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Never have...never will (fingers crossed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

somesones full of themselves.... (cough Melekalikimaka cough)
    or has never had the chance to be rejected......
    neh, me? a few times here and there....

I go for the mud on wall approach.

Throw enough of it and some of it will stick.

All the most sucessful lads I know might get shot down 9 times out of ten or maybe even more!

The secret is to know when you are wasting your time.

I mirrored this video (118mb) a while back for someone else.

If you are on broadband give it a blast.

Its incredibly cheesey and cringe-worthy nevermind a bit creeepy. But some of it does hold true. Especially reading the signs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

too many times :( I can't keep track anymore lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

as a result of a little misunderstanding / slander, I once actually had a premptive rejection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

Just the once, a few months ago. I broke my, "never have anything to do with a guy who doesn't like you as much as you like him" rule.

It was frustrating and painful and the like for a while. Then I got over it.

I think it's a good thing to get rejected. Lets you know that it's not the end of the world and strangely gave me more confidence re. guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

I think it's a good thing to get rejected.

Huh?! :eek:

If you say so darlin, personally I'm gonna try and avoid said rejection for as long as I possibly can. Your outlook is kinda like "no pain, no gain" - No painful rejection, then no growth in confidence yadda yadda...

I like to think that the person who first said "no pain,no gain" then got hit by a truck. I'd like to see how that pain gained him/her anything :D

But then I have a whacked outlook on things (clearly) :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

SebtheBum wrote:
    I think it's a good thing to get rejected.

Huh?! :eek:

Once you get rejected you realise it's not the end of the world and you don't have to worry about it any more. It's kind of a weight off you're shoulders. And once you get over the initial "wow, that really fu(king hurts" feeling, you're a lot stronger for it.