Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is Lost?

• 15-05-2005 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭

What is Lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Clickety-click!

Watch it from Monday 23rd at 9PM on Network 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

OK, a few people have asked this so here's a Sticky about it...

Lost is a show about a bunch of survivors of a plane crash, stranded on an island in the middle of nowhere...

There's something mysterious in the woods and each week the story deals with each character's back stories and their interconnections and their connections with the island.

The show is tense and intriguing and I suggest everyone checks it out

I'm just gonna merge that Huh? thread with this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

If i'm not can i have you nick steveland?

but i shall watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whens it on?

Hope you don't mind steveland? but i'm gonna put the TvToMe synopsis in here also.. it's quite fitting.. edit it / merge it if you see fit:
    From J.J. Abrams, the creator of Alias, and Damon Lindelof (Crossing Jordan) comes an action-packed adventure that will bring out the very best and the very worst in the people who are lost.Out of the blackness, the first thing Jack (Matthew Fox, Party of Five) senses is pain. Then burning sun. A Bamboo forest. Smoke. Screams. With a rush comes the horrible awareness that the plane he was on tore apart in mid-air and crashed on a Pacific island. From there it's a blur, as his doctor's instinct kicks in: people need his help.

Stripped of everything, the 48 survivors scavenge what they can from the plane for their survival. Some panic. Some pin their hopes on rescue. A few find inner strength they never knew they had -- like Kate (Evangeline Lilly), who, with no medical training, suddenly finds herself suturing the doctor's wounds. Hurley (Jorge Garcia) – a man with a warm sense of humor despite the desperate situation – does his best to keep his cool as he helps those around him to survive. Charlie (Dominic Monaghan, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring trilogy) is a faded rock star who harbors a painful secret. Sayid (Naveen Andrews, The English Patient) is a Middle Eastern man who must wrestle with the racial profiling directed at him by some of his fellow survivors. Jin (Daniel Dae Kim, Spider-Man 2, 24) and Sun (Yunjin Kim) are a Korean couple whose traditions, values and language are foreign and thus causes much to get lost in the translation.

Sawyer (Josh Holloway) has an air of danger surrounding him, and his intense sense of mistrust for everyone around him could prove to be fatal to his fellow castaways. Michael (Harold Perrineau, Oz) has just gained custody of his nine-year-old son, Walt (Malcolm David Kelley, Antwone Fisher, You Got Served), after the death of his ex-wife – they are a father and son who don't even know each other. Locke (Terry O'Quinn, Alias, Primal Fear) is a mysterious man who keeps to himself, and who harbors a deeper connection to the island than any of the others. And self-centered Shannon (Maggie Grace, Oliver Beene) – who actually gives herself a pedicure amid the chaos – and her estranged controlling brother, Boone (Ian Somerhalder, Smallville) – constantly bicker and must learn to get along if they are to survive.

The band of friends, family, enemies and strangers must work together against the cruel weather and harsh terrain if they want to stay alive. But the island holds many secrets, including the intense howls of the mysterious creatures stalking the jungle, which fill them all with fear. Fortunately, thanks to the calm leadership of quick-thinking Jack and level-headed Kate, they have hope. But even heroes have secrets, as the survivors will come to learn.

Lost stars Matthew Fox as Jack, Evangeline Lilly as Kate, Ian Somerhalder as Boone, Dominic Monaghan as Charlie, Jorge Garcia as Hurley, Maggie Grace as Shannon, Malcolm David Kelley as Walt, Naveen Andrews as Sayid, Harold Perrineau as Michael, Josh Holloway as Sawyer, Terry O'Quinn as Locke, Daniel Dae Kim as Jin and Yunjin Kim as Sun.

J.J. Abrams and Damon Lindelof created the series and also serve as executive producers, along with Bryan Burk (Alias). Lost, which is filmed entirely on location in Hawaii, is from Touchstone Television.
    (ABC Press Release)

Stekelly wrote:
    Whens it on?
    Lost - RTE2 - Monday 23rd at 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

You've lost me....

*snigger*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Trust me when I say this show is one of the best things on TV. I didnt have high expectations when I decided to have a look at it(I didnt have low ones either!) but it is just one of the most amazing shows that helps fight the tide of reality crap that is ruining TV.

tvnutz wrote:
    Trust me when I say this show is one of the best things on TV. I didnt have high expectations when I decided to have a look at it(I didnt have low ones either!) but it is just one of the most amazing shows that helps fight the tide of reality crap that is ruining TV.
    Agreed!

'Lost' is my favourite show, by a mile, right now! And is quickly becoming one of my favourite TV shows ever. Is that crazy?!

But all us long-term 'Lost' fans know.. each episode can be explored and analysed and discussed for months on end.

As i said before.. i could probably write a novel with some of the theories and thoughts i have about the Island, the characters and the show in general.

Truly influential TV.. and all you Irish viewers will soon see that my crazy ramblings here about how good this show is aren't so crazy!!

I'll be kinda disappointed when the show starts over here and people hop on the bandwagon... it's kinda like having an exclusive little club here atm...

steveland? wrote:
    I'll be kinda disappointed when the show starts over here and people hop on the bandwagon... it's kinda like having an exclusive little club here atm...
    I know what you mean, steve!

What i really don't wanna see is numerous
    'Claire Lvs Charlie' / 'Boone can't die / Sawyer's sexy etc.'
    threads and such. This forum should be exclusive for fans of the show to discuss the theories / events unfolding on the Island.

But think about it this way... whens series 2 comes along for us and all the Irish viewers are wallowing near the end of series 1, we'll be set for another 22 (or so) new episodes of theories / cliffhangers etc.

Also.. what i really hope doesn't happen is people who dislike the show (.. who could?!... ;)) coming onto the forum to complain, spoil upcoming episodes etc. Your moderation will probably need to be on the top of it's toes to keep these spoiling gits at bay... but let's hope it doesn't come to that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

It only starts to get really interesting where I am now(around episode 7 or 8)- around the time of
    Ethan's first appearance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭doh.ie

I think the Pilot will make a lot of people very curious about the island, the monster and the wider mysteries, but beyond that I think it's episode 4, "Walkabout", and a particular revelation that shot the show right to the top spot on my viewing list. From then on, every little detail became important, and I swore I wouldn't miss something so obvious ever again! (But being the tricky people the Lost producers are, they got me again. Several times.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

A tv show gets its own board before it even shown here? Will definately have to check it out on monday by the looks of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭wirelessdude

just wondering if this is going to get repeated during the week before next week...i missed the double episode last night as some idiot in my house was watching love island rubbish and only managed to get the last 10mins...looks very good

No need to post this on every thread in the forum... the answer is still no!

I too missed it last night, off to the bay of pirates with me...

Any of the english channels planning on showing it?

Ye C4 and E4 will show it late August after the brilliance that is Big Brother. (note heavy sarcasm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭gaizka71

Has anybody noticed some similarities between lost and desperate housewifes?

gaizka71 wrote:
    Has anybody noticed some similarities between lost and desperate housewifes?
    They're both on RTE2.
    They both have people who are desperate?

I won't know more until the shipment from the bay of pirates comes in...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭gaizka71

what about the way both series keep teasing the viewer... it seems they are going to tell us something, but then, they do not... and another week passes by...
    I think the way both series are filmed is more or less the same... producction an direction are very much the same...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Is it repeated during the week, I missed it last night.

happygoose wrote:
    Is it repeated during the week, I missed it last night.
    Seems we getting a lot of people who missed it....

Nope, 'fraid not!

Best you can do now is "acquire it using other means" or read a catch-up using herobear's link to TWOP (Television Without Pity) in a thread on the forum.

Or those that missed it could wait until Big Brother ends in two months and catch it when it kicks off on C4/E4 in August... Not as far away as it seems, but worth the wait if you want to do the Lost experience justice.

Someone on the TV board mentioned they e-mailed RTE and they said they would be repeating the firs 4 eps on the 11th June.

tvnutz wrote:
    Someone on the TV board mentioned they e-mailed RTE and they said they would be repeating the firs 4 eps on the 11th June.
    Good news for anyone that missed it... steveland? should think about making this a sticky as we seem to be having a couple of people ask for this.

Will make a new thread regarding it anyways!

basquille wrote:
    Good news for anyone that missed it... steveland? should think about making this a sticky as we seem to be having a couple of people ask for this.

Will make a new thread regarding it anyways!
    I think we should get confirmation on whether it'll be repeated for sure before going getting people hopes up about it

Thats what some guy said,dont take my word for! I wont be held responsible if its wrong! lol :) Ask them that question in your e-mail about the O2 ads and see if they say the same thing.

it sounds good anyway,because not only would people see the first ep,they would see Walkabout soon after,sucking them into the show forever!!

steveland? wrote:
    I think we should get confirmation on whether it'll be repeated for sure before going getting people hopes up about it
    True... but doing the math (yes... maths can apply to TV schedules too! :D) makes "Walkabout" (episode 4) scheduled to air the Monday before this omnibus.

Made a thread about it already anyways.. if it's BS, you can delete it!

I'd say this is likely, as Sky have been doing this with 24, and it would make sense that RTE would want to give viewers every opportunity to see every episode in a series with such a complex plot.

The 11th is a also a Saturday - RTE are running a treble-bill CSI: Miami on this coming Saturday, though those episode are new to RTE (I think). Still, with O2 paying a whopping €150,000 for Lost sponsorship, it makes sense that RTE would give their stings and the show itself every exposure.

I reckon it's correct information and there will be a repeat every 3-4 weeks, on a Saturday.

(Am I right in thinking Network 2 repeated previous series of 24 on Saturdays (though weekly as opposed to in batches of several episodes), or was that just Sky?)

No I think those CSI: Miami eps are from season 2 which RTE have already shown.

Yep, Series 2, eps 8-10.

Have seen them elsewhere, so not sure what RTE are up to with them. If they are old, then it might lend towards the idea that RTE TWO are doing series-specific catch-up nights, which could include Lost once a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

When I saw the title of this thread that old Haddoway or S Unlimited song popped into my head, "What is lost(love), baby dont hurt me, dont hurt me no more*Whail* *Whail*"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

hey love that...now to find out what lost is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭kinda lost

LOST is fantastic,Ihave never been so hooked on tv series before,i am so sick of reality TV crap,Big brother so the worst thing about the summer.The 4400 was ok liked that alot but LOST is awsome its great i feel like a junkie trying to get my fix. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I'm so proud.

/weeps

Welcome to Boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

since lost started i'm being accosted everywhere and being told i look like Locke (what alliteration !!)
    thankfully someone then added
    a) younger
    b) with less scars
    c) without "brown, sweaty tee-shirts"

the ending (no spoiler) was disappointing as the TV company decided that this was a golden goose they wouldn't kill.
    hope ot doesn't go the way of Twin Peaks (my alltime favourite TV show - series 1)

not Locke (sometimes locked)