Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pics from 4000 Megapixel cam.

• 13-05-2005 7:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭

"Defining the upper limits of large-format photography, digital scanning and image processing, custom-built Gigapxl™ cameras capture images with unprecedented resolution.

It would take a video wall of 10,000 television screens or 600 prints from a professional digital SLR camera to capture as much information as that contained in a single Gigapxl™ exposure."

Check out the original pics and its respective zoomed in pics and the detail that is retained.

I want one.

http://www.gigapxl.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Jaysus they're impressive.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

saw it before, amazing stuff

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

ON closer look, it seems to be different. I remeber seeing one where the user themself could zoom into anything on the picture, and it was taken of some industrial park or something with the city in the backround

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

thats nothing, ya should see my camera phone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

all I can say is WOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

The Grand Canyon one is very impressive indeed!

And the one of the pier, what can I say, only
    A close-up of those fishermen at the far end of the pier (0.05% original area); their poles showing clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Im looking foward to 4000 mega pixel porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Blisterman wrote:
    Im looking foward to 4000 mega pixel porn.

Check out the huge pores on her! :eek:

How many holes do we really need lads? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Lenny wrote:
    ON closer look, it seems to be different. I remeber seeing one where the user themself could zoom into anything on the picture, and it was taken of some industrial park or something with the city in the backround

Yeah that was a picture of Oslo, its the clearest photo taken to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Love this one:http://www.gigapxl.org/gallery-Parasail.htm

"It is now clear what is going on. One person with a telescope or long lens and two with binoculars, all looking downward." "As it happens this beach, also known as Black's Beach, is a clothing-optional area for San Diego naturists!"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

they rulez like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DeBeere

That stuff is amazing

Ciaran500 wrote:
    Love this one:http://www.gigapxl.org/gallery-Parasail.htm

"It is now clear what is going on. One person with a telescope or long lens and two with binoculars, all looking downward." "As it happens this beach, also known as Black's Beach, is a clothing-optional area for San Diego naturists!"
    Four giga pixel AND it catches perverts. The only machine in the world better than kitt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

question though is how large are the files as a result?

DrIndy wrote:
    question though is how large are the files as a result?
    I'd say at least 15.3 gigs per photo.