Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long are bird's memory spans??

• 10-05-2005 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭

Whats with some names?? Like Nigel and Barbara?? You can see someone in their 30's/40's called Nigel but a little baby?? Would you really want to call a lickle baby Nigel??

Other names include Bernard, Olive, Josephine, Margaret, Agustus, Francis.

Or is it just because when those names were popular back then that now the only Bernards or Josephines we can relate to are old people?? And hearing a baby being called one of the above just sounds strange?

Hate the name Barbara though! Ooh (apologies in advance to anyone with the above names!! :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Yes, soon there will be loads of old people called Kylie and erm... Angelina

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

oh no the best one has to be the name of a teacher in an all boys school I know!
    Johnny Condon!!!!!!
    Who with a surname of Condon would consciously call their son John and not see that coming!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

My brother was born when John Paul II was in Ireland. He was the only baby in the entire ward that wasn't called John Paul. God bless my parents stubborn nature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Speed1

Just Picture It

Summer of 2015 in Dublin. Liffey still stinks like hell and Britney, Christina, Kylie, Justin and Robbie are going out in Daddy's electrically powered beemer to sample the Saturday night riots in the newly named Girls Aloud Square (formerly Temple Bar ) :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Ashanti Murphy tbh.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My mother recalls with horror the time she was in the Jervis shopping centre and heard some knacker yelling up the stairs at her daughter:

"WHIT-NEY!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

i cant under stand why my parents picked my name. i mean i dont look like my name. im gonna call my kids archibald cornelous and biddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

You mean you don't look like a jezza?

If I have a child, will be Alex or Alexia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

You mean you don't look like a jezza?

If I have a child, will be Alex or Alexia.
    no i dont look like a jessica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Hmmm. I've never really thought about it...

*checks mirror*

I suppose I sort of look like a Seán. But I only have myself to compare me with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Bright Smile

im sorry but thats extremleeeey biased and unfair of you amp to go locking your thread due to your own personal bosco beliefs. Really like, its like the T.V., if you see something disturbing you just dont have to look at it, just as you dont have to read our thread. The Cuckoos nest is the only good place for the thread and so i, as Distinguished Bosco follower, am here to say that BOSCO WILL NOT BE BANISHED!EMBRACE YOUR YOUTH, DONT FORGET IT, GIVE YOURSELF A HUG AND SAY, "ITS OK TO LOVE BOSCO".....All in favour?

I don't think the Cuckoos nest wants this shítty thread TBH(To be Honest) IMO(In my opinion) ATEOTD(AT the end of the day).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Bright Smile

ronoc wrote:
    I don't think the Cuckoos nest wants this shítty thread TBH(To be Honest) IMO(In my opinion) ATEOTD(AT the end of the day).

AND who, might i add, asked tusa? uafasach....the GRUMPINESS AROUND HERE!taken away.....
    there was 6 pages of posts on our last thread thank you very much and we do need a place from which to launch our take over the world campaign so why shouldnt it be the nest? ye should count yerselves lucky to be among those closest to The One.

AND who, might i add, asked tusa? uafasach....the GRUMPINESS AROUND HERE!taken away.....
    there was 6 pages of posts on our last thread thank you very much and we do need a place from which to launch our take over the world campaign so why shouldnt it be the nest? ye should count yerselves lucky to be among those closest to The One.

I think you are gay for bosco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

[glow=3]im sorry but thats extremleeeey biased and unfair of you amp to go locking your thread due to your own personal bosco beliefs. Really like, its like the T.V., if you see something disturbing you just dont have to look at it, just as you dont have to read our thread. The Cuckoos nest is the only good place for the thread and so i, as Distinguished Bosco follower, am here to say that BOSCO WILL NOT BE BANISHED!EMBRACE YOUR YOUTH, DONT FORGET IT, GIVE YOURSELF A HUG AND SAY, "ITS OK TO LOVE BOSCO".....All in favour?[/glow]

*best viewed in IE6.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

NotMe wrote:
    *best viewed in IE6.0
    why?
    hUh?
    hUh?
    hUH?
    hUh?
    hUh?
    hUH?
    hUH?
    hUh?
    hUH?
    hUh?
    hUH?
    hUH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Feckin little bird trying to drill a hole in the window of my sitting room. I seriously think this bird took some dodgy bird seed. And he's getting nowhere, obviously!

Then it's like he gets pissed off and does a ritual of flying from the window cill to the bird table and back to the window then back to the bird table then back to the window cill then back to the bird table.... :eek:

How long are bird's memory spans?? :confused:

Bird is seriously wreckin my head!!! :mad:

Time to take out the pellet gun!! :D

..only joking!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

4 meters.

Half a henway.

I have merged a lot of your crappy threads into one thread so that not only is The Cuckoos Nest cleaner and more efficient but to show you what happens when you defy me.

BOSCO IST VERBOTEN!

BACK ON TOPIC!

amp wrote:
    I have merged a lot of your crappy threads into one thread so that not only is The Cuckoos Nest cleaner and more efficient but to show you what happens when you defy me.

BOSCO IST VERBOTEN!

That's a bit unfair since the first thread got a good response. What's the point of having a forum if you can't post up questions/ideas etc. And it's not as if I was ranting on, which goes on in alot of threads.

I thought the Cuckoo's nest if for the more off centre ideas/opinions?

Larianne wrote:
    I thought the Cuckoo's nest if for the more off centre ideas/opinions?

Not nearly off centre enough girlfriend. Talk to the hand.