Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancy Dress...

• 08-05-2005 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭

ok i'm a male, and ive got a fancy dress party coming up on the 10th june... what should i go as.. i need good suggetions. so far i've come up with:

1.Pope
    2.Priest
    3.Knight

what else? :confused: im completely stuck. and i dont really want to go in drag either, thongs dont suit me. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Pimp......

Be careful about getting anything too elaborate or expensive due to potential beer spills.

Also be careful about animal costumes, they are great craic, but are ROASTING....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I wouldnt chance goin as the pope, it could be a little controversial.

Pull a prince harry and go as a nazi :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

very close to number 3.... The Hoff!!!!
    Go as Mr Knightrider himself...... big perm afro...hairy chest...leather jacket.
    While at ur party, keep talking into your watch for ultimate effect.

You'll be a true legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Pirate. If ever in doubt, pirate. Women can't resist em either.

Shabadu wrote:
    Pirate. If ever in doubt, pirate. Women can't resist em either.

Why are pirates called pirates?

Coz they just aaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrr!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭cil_aine

yea but see someone else is going as a pirate, and we're all supposed to have different costumes. argh i know i've got a month but it's driving me mad. why would doing the pope be controversial? do you think its too soon since after he died? :confused:

cil_aine wrote:
    yea but see someone else is going as a pirate, and we're all supposed to have different costumes. argh i know i've got a month but it's driving me mad. why would doing the pope be controversial? do you think its too soon since after he died? :confused:

Seriously, I think David Hasslehoff would be great. Anyone else agree?

The Oasis album is launched May 30th (just before ur bash) so maybe go as one of the Gallagher brothers? Get some hair for a big furry unibrow and just get drunk and sware alot (easily done at a party..).

Could always go as a chav? Get a burberry tracksuit and a wear a baseball hat at a 90 degree angle to your head while skulling down cans of stonehouse.

If you get the idea, go with someone or sometype of personality thats in the news / current events.
    ok, pirates / popes /priests are fine, but they're boring and can be used anytime... and probably gonna be loads with the same.
    Always great to have a unique one and you'll be the star :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

cil_aine wrote:
    ok i'm a male, and ive got a fancy dress party coming up on the 10th june... what should i go as.. i need good suggetions. so far i've come up with:

1.Pope
    2.Priest
    3.Knight

what else? :confused: im completely stuck. and i dont really want to go in drag either, thongs dont suit me. :confused:

Go as a Chav/Scumbag. Shiny tracksuit, loads of bling and a bit of burberry. In fact I'm thinking of having a chav party sometime soon. Would be great craic I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭tovalee

i just recently threw an 80s party. there were some great costumes there. Cyndi Lauper, Boy George, Meatloaf....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Use the lazy mans approach. go on the web and check here to start for inspiration

http://www.partypants.fsnet.co.uk/fd_male.htm

And a question.

Which is worse?

Not knowing a party is fancy dress and turning up dressed normally
    OR
    Turning up in fancy dress, not knowing it's a non-fancy dress party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

KevIRL wrote:
    In fact I'm thinking of having a chav party sometime soon. Would be great craic I reckon.

Does anyone else think that this idea might just backfire horribly?

Although it might be kind of funny if the neighbours call the Gardai due to the suspicious characters.

there's always the pajamas, dressing gown, slippers and towel option to go as some manner of hichhiker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Does anyone else think that this idea might just backfire horribly?

Although it might be kind of funny if the neighbours call the Gardai due to the suspicious characters.

I suppose it might, but where I live it should be okay. Also, I have no neighbours :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Go as a gynaecologist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 jellybabyjane

Giant sperm, fidel castro, garda, devil, butcher, dentist,doc, flasher,fisherman,farmer

people have been saying chav.... but again someone else is going as one. i like the 80's idea though, and fidel castro... please though, keep em coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Just go as a northside Skanger (tracksuit Or Ben Sherman checked shirt,gold chains, baseball cap, soverign rings, bum fluff tache, can of scrumpy jack etc) or Soutside ponce (Polo shirt/Leinster Rugby shirt with collar up,well just dress yourself head to toe in Ralph Lauren, oh and don't forget the deck shoes,a bit of false tan (your third holiday this year) and a smarmy grin on your face! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Suicide bomber. Every time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Fantasy

Cowboy or Gangsta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Flashling

Mary Poppins. Everyone loves a transvestite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

Priest is the easiest.

Black socks (father ted...)
    Black shoes
    Black pants
    Black shirt (you mighn't have one)
    Optional "sports jacket"/blazer
    Washing up bottle white plastic around underneath of collar
    Cross
    Optional bible

instant credibility, pretend you're on the a-team or father downling*

*7-7994.jpg

vector wrote:
    Priest is the easiest.

Unless you go as Fr.Ted - big m op of grey hair or Fr.jack - Big rd face, vomitaround the mouth and a bottle of whiskey in your hand, the whole priest thing is a bit lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

or you could go as hitler, and when everyone says hey your hitler say "no, im the pope" :cool:

Larianne wrote:
    Unless you go as Fr.Ted - big m op of grey hair or Fr.jack - Big rd face, vomitaround the mouth and a bottle of whiskey in your hand, the whole priest thing is a bit lame.

Yes it is overdome but it is the easiest.

Hasselhoff would be good
    but you'd need huge wig, leather jacket, gold medallion, chest hair
    which takes time

the easiest thing after priest is a mummy
    which just requires rolls and rolls of toilet paper, and hope it doesnt rain

or even simpler, just get a clinton/jack nicholson/saddam hussein mask and wear a suit. Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

go as Darth Vader, its the season for it

Larianne wrote:
    or even simpler, just get a clinton/jack nicholson/saddam hussein mask and wear a suit. Done.

make that a pin stripe suit, with a trilby hat, and add a cigar

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

go as a superhero! Any excuse to wear underwear over your trousers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭thesteve

Put a hoover on your back and go as a Ghostbuster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭open_book

go as a pregnant crack whore, i do it every year before halloween night and the reactions are gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Feeling controversial?
    Got a spare kid sized dummy lying around?
    bang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

there's always the pajamas, dressing gown, slippers and towel option to go as some manner of hichhiker.

My bf did that for a party 3 years ago and it went down well. This year though? There could easily be 5 people doing it.

Go as your favourite childhood cartoon character. I dressed as She-ra last year for my uncle's wedding (it was fancy dress). I felt nearly as great as I did every monday afternoon when I was 6.

My dad and his non-groom brothers went as the Village People, you could get a few friends together and do that. Or if you don't want to go too ott, you could wear a suit and glasses with a Superman t-shirt underneath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,598 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Go as a bum - as in Ratso Rizzo (Dustin Hoffman) in 'Midnight Cowboy'. Keep stashing food in your *overcoat* pockets (line them with plastic first), and if challenged about stealing the free food, say "Well, if its free, then I aint stealing it". You need to have greasy hair, stubble, and smell (not like Ralph Lauren) to carry it off. Keep sniffing, and looking around shiftily. Fall down the stairs for effect. Just don't die on the bus on the way home.

Oh... and a more masculine screen name might not go astray!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭smileygal

Ellllllllllvis the Pelvis :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Best (and easiest) suggestion you've been given so far is to go as Arthur Dent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Mental Patient always goes down well.
    Did that for a party around last halloween. Rented straight-jacket (sp?) and aslyum pants - bought hannibal lector style mask.
    Reactions were class.
    Word of warning though - DO NOT TIE THE STRAIGHT-JACKET SLEEVES
    Learned that the hard way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Go as a Oompa-Loompa .. Class!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 happyhippie

If you wanna get the girls, go as a fireman

Mmmm.... firemen.....

(drool)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭tel922001

a priest with a stuffed doll ( pretend kid) stiched to your groin i seen it and it looked the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Friend of mine went as a mammogram machine a few years ago. He got a cardboard box, cut out two big holes at the front, and covered the whole thing in tin-foil with various buttons and graphs made from coloured paper stuck on. Just wore the box over his torso. Went down a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Go as a nazi in brown shirt, swastika armband and black tash
    But wear a crown on your head. People wont know if you are Hitler or Prince Harry :)

Fcuk controversy, few months after the Iraq war i went to one as Saddam Hussein, at this town festival thing. Unfortunately there was someone at it who looked even more like Saddam than I did, leaving me to look like the other half dozen lads who came dressed as suicide bombers

Anyway, the lad who was a dead ringer for Saddam, we carried him round the street in a stretcher (all us lads dressed as Arabs), signifying the US had killed him, and then burned an American flag, it was hilarious :D Obviously enough we were all drunk off our bollixes. Doubt the local tourist board approved but anyway.....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

go as a bunch of grapes

gopher, don't go a a nazi cos someone will take a photo which will surface years later when you are applying for a job or something :) or will find its way to your inbox and your employers inbox the next morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Last time I went to a fancy dress party I went as Santa Claus.

It was the middle of March though.. and the party was in the middle of town... it was quite an experience walking to get taxi home afterwards. Every second person on the streets of Dublin had some smart comment to make...

ooh..

and one time I went to a party as Mojo Jojo:

http://www.monkeyfudge.com/mojo.jpg

You see...? Some people do look like their avatars..

ok this is good i am getting some inspiriation. it sounds fun, people are allowed to bring ten bottles max to the party... hmm... maybe if i get eveyone plied with alcohol then they wont notice if i have a bad costume hmm?