Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone read the times yesteday? 2 junkies rob there granny (81 years old)

• 07-05-2005 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭

They break into the house lock the 81 year old granny under the stairs block the stairs exit with a sofa take 9000 grand spend 8200 on drugs get cought

guess the punishment?
    they are let off as long as they stay out of trouble
    proved what a **** country ireland is

i mean ye im sure that guys family disownbed him and he is probbley now living on the street and yes we can wish for a long painfull missible life for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Two scumbags that would actually sell their granny.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Yes that is awful - I read that and was shocked. But there are far worse stories in the paper.

For example - 14 year old boy in Donegal starts raping his two four year old cousins once a week. He takes pictures of them naked and blackmails them with them, also threatens that if they tell anyone that he will rape other members of their families. This once-weekly rape continues for nine years, until they are thirteen years old.
    His case comes to trial. Half the town testify to his 'good character' - he is in the local marching band, and plays football, and is generally a nice person. He gets five years. FIVE PISSY YEARS for a nine-year stretch of incest, rape and paedophilia rolled into one, and for ruining two girls' lives.

That in the paper on Thursday I think. I am sickened by our crappy legal system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

Only Human wrote:

not just theirs, someone else's too. knackbags. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Bah. Dont get me started on junkies, i wish each and every one of them a painful, lonely death. May they burn in the level of hell reserved for paedos, hitler, and mark skinner from the streets for teaching scumbags all over the country to wear thier baseball caps at a 90 degree angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭niallb

Only Human wrote:

And a legal system that allowed their granny not to sell them.

I'm only assuming they got off because she wouldn't press charges through fear or love. I didn't see the article. Any comment?

NiallB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

Deadwing wrote:
    Bah. Dont get me started on junkies, i wish each and every one of them a painful, lonely death. May they burn in the level of hell reserved for paedos, hitler, and mark skinner from the streets for teaching scumbags all over the country to wear thier baseball caps at a 90 degree angle.
    ....and don't forget people who don't know the difference between their and there :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Fishie wrote:
    Yes that is awful - I read that and was shocked. But there are far worse stories in the paper.

For example - 14 year old boy in Donegal starts raping his two four year old cousins once a week. He takes pictures of them naked and blackmails them with them, also threatens that if they tell anyone that he will rape other members of their families. This once-weekly rape continues for nine years, until they are thirteen years old.
    His case comes to trial. Half the town testify to his 'good character' - he is in the local marching band, and plays football, and is generally a nice person. He gets five years. FIVE PISSY YEARS for a nine-year stretch of incest, rape and paedophilia rolled into one, and for ruining two girls' lives.

That in the paper on Thursday I think. I am sickened by our crappy legal system.
    I keep seing u pos its werid cause my name is fishy not fishie strange neway i didnt read that 1 in the paper.
    remember a few weeks back that old man who raped his doughter since she was 2 how many years did he get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

Fishie wrote:

Disgusting. His 'good character' shouldn't even come into it. It doesn't matter what sports he plays or how well he does in the community. It has no bearing what so ever on the case.
    The bastard should be strung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

i onyl belive stuff that i actually read myseflt ho but i do remmber boing told that the church has a place down the country somewhere a bg nice place with beds food and tvs and nice things, its where they keep all the priests who molested kids even tho they should be in jail then asi i said it is something the church would do but even our legal system would have those prests in jail, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

Fishie wrote:

In comparison to what most paedophiles get in this country that is actually a very harsh sentence, especially when it involves family members.

Often taken into account when children are the perpetrators is the fact that they themselves were abused and threatened previously.

I truly believe that they should all be locked away for life, not particularly as a punishment but simply to protect society from them. It is too damaging a crime to risk them re-offending and the risks of re-offending are extermely high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

The most ridiculous thing is concurrent sentences, like the lad who raped his daughters got. How the **** can you serve more than one sentence at the same time. Whoever thought up that big idea is a mental retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

DS wrote:
    The most ridiculous thing is concurrent sentences, like the lad who raped his daughters got. How the **** can you serve more than one sentence at the same time. Whoever thought up that big idea is a mental retard.

Concurrent is when they run back to back is it not, open to correction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

Stekelly wrote:

are you thinking of consecutive sentences Stekelly?

DS is right, judges are far too lenient.

Crimes that have severe individual victims, such as rape or assault should be punished the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Those junkies should be put down , fuc*ing useless scummy bast*rds and that guy in donegal should be hung from a tree and have his di*k cut off!Death would be too good for him! :mad:

I don't know what the deal is with the legal system in Ireland. And I don't understand concurrent sentences either. I mean, what is the point?
    Maybe it's because the prisons are over-full, who knows?

You know paedophiles nearly always re-offend, because they don't see what the problem is with them doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

OLDYELLAR wrote:
    that guy in donegal should be hung from a tree and have his di*k cut off!

should he be made eat his di*k first?

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    should he be made eat his di*k first?
    Yes, yes he should. What an asshole

And anyway, who joins a marching band?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Paedophiles shouldn't be locked away. They should be sentanced to alot of time in a mental instutution. Paedophilia is a mental condition. They should be taught to control their urges for children over long periods of time and be made realise that what they were doing is wrong. The solution is not locking them away for life but trying to help them. They should server a jail sentance aswell as a mental instituion sentance if they are found guilty of molestation or rape. But I think those found in possesion of child porn etc sould only recieve help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Nairam

These things do not just happen in Ireland.

In the Netherlands, where I live, we just had a courtcase.
    A 19 (yes, nineteen) year old had raped a 84-year old!!!! :eek:
    And he was not even on drugs........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Now, now, everyone just calm down. Everyone is a victim in these sorts of crimes. Blah blah blah, leftie dogooder **** blah blah blah.
    Mandatory chemical castration for the rapists (I *would* go with the lump hammer and anvil method, but people are always accusing me of going too far, so the chemicals will have to do for now).
    Execution for murderers. Surely, if someone can't prove their innocence (and I don't mean technicality type innocence) after a few years of having a go (back and forth with appeals etc), they should just shut up and take their medicine. (This assumes an actual genuine search for the truth and not the usual corrupt activities that are the norm in this poopipe of a country.)
    Chain gangs for the "petty" criminals to get out and do something worthwhile for the community with the time they spend in custody. (This assumes an effective guard [note - not Garda] unit to monitor them, and not what I suspect would be the odd brown-envelope-fuelled "escaped from custody" situations.)
    That'd do for a start.
    Actually, building prisons as underground facilities would also be a good one. It's hard to throw a bag of scag over the wall when there isn't one (yeah, I know they'd probably find some other way, but I'm enjoying my daydream right now).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭dawballz

Well we can only hope that the 14 year old rapist will get ass molested several times in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

Stekelly wrote:

Concurrent is when sentances are served at the same time.

Consecutive is one after the other.

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭deadduck

what's the point of that? eg. commit five crimes that warrent 5 years each, but serve as little as 5 years cos there concurrent. crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

deadduck wrote:
    what's the point of that? eg. commit five crimes that warrent 5 years each, but serve as little as 5 years cos there concurrent. crazy

It's madness really but the odd time people do get consecutive sentences.

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

He was 14 when it started and 23 when it finished.

He knew what he was doing was wrong, otherwise he wouldn't have blackmailed them. There is no excuse for letting this go at only 5 years.

If he did the same to a total stranger he would do the same length of time.

Death would be too good for the guy imo.

He knew what he was doing was wrong, otherwise he wouldn't have blackmailed them. There is no excuse for letting this go at only 5 years.
    I completely I agree with you, that's why I get so sickened reading about this kind of stuff in the paper. I honestly don't understand how barristers and solicitors can accept money to fight for that sort of person, or how people from his town can stand up in court and testify that he is a good person. It's disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

Paedophile's cannot be cured ... just bloody lucky im not in charge of irish laws etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

elexes wrote:
    Paedophile's cannot be cured ... just bloody lucky im not in charge of irish laws etc..

Why? Would you give them even lighter sentences? :rolleyes:
    I think we're all unlucky that those currently in charge of Irish laws are in charge of Irish laws. :mad: