Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fights and Fighting

• 07-05-2005 12:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭

This may be suited elsewhere ... in which case im sure a mod will inform me of any movement.

Is there any lads here who hasnt , at one stage or another knocked the crap out of anoter lad, for good reason.

Similarly, is there any girl here who thinks this wrong, that most lads have done this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

Sure lads will be lads...is that what you're saying? Yeah, I'd guess there are studies to prove that males are naturally more aggressive. So what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Stix

Pretty much. Are you a dude hepcat ? (hafta log off, talk more 2moro)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Stix wrote:
    Is there any lads here who hasnt , at one stage or another knocked the crap out of anoter lad, for good reason.
    What do you mean "for good reason". In the case of immediate defense of oneself or another one should do it, one should be proud of ones ability to do so if one succeed, but one shouldn't glory in it afterwards.
    Stix wrote:
    Similarly, is there any girl here who thinks this wrong, that most lads have done this ?
    Where are you getting the information that most lads have dones this, or even that most lads have been in a situation where they've had a good reason to?
    There's an implied assumption that few women have. What are you basing that one?

In my experience the number of men and women that have used force with good reason is roughly equal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Alot of women simply dont understand what its like in the real world regarding fighting (and by women you can substitute the word for mothers :) )

Typical example- last Christmas i was talkin to this girl, we were both fairly drunk, then this guy comes over all agressive. I walk away, assuming hes one of these "are you lookin at my bird" types (it actually turned out he had been in a serious fight with her brother some weeks previously, and was more motivated by an assumption I was some great mate of her and her family)
    As i walk away with my back turned to him he pulls me back and the convo goes like this
    Him "What the fcuk are you sayin?"
    Me "Im not sayin nothin pal" *me walks off*
    Him "I SAID, what the FCUK were ya sayin?"
    Me "Pal, Im sayin nothin, leave it alright?"
    At this point he hits me a very light slap on the cheek and has a grin on his face to which I reply
    "Listen, your very pissed, if ya fcuk off now Ill ignore that"
    He responds by hitting me another gentle slap in the cheek

Even Jesus didnt have a third cheek to turn, so anticipating something harder might constitute the third I decided to take preventative action and basically started knockin the head off him (my cousin joined in, whole thing lasted about 30 seconds, there were some cops watching the whole thing who, of course, decided to wait on the sidelines and ask questions once other people had broken it up)
    If they had been doing their job they would have broken it up after he slapped me the first time :rolleyes: Me and my cousin were read some public order act and advised to feck off home

Anyway, the point of it is, it is seldom a case of simply walking away. I gave this guy 2 chances for me to walk away, and he kept following me. Looking for fights is idiotic. No doubt, nothin beats the adrenalin rush of a well fought fight when you win, but i cant be arsed with the aggro, the way it can start to involve other people, the way your lookin over your shoulder in the pub for weeks to come because some scumbag you bate is swearing revenge, its a load of bollix. People who start fights and get a beating should just accept their loss, rather than trying to instigate round 2 every time they see the victor out and about. There have been one or two fatal shootings in Dublin recently of ordinary Joes who seemed to shame some self styled hardmen enough for them to decide to have the last laugh by having them killed. Its madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Been in 2 "real" fights. I lost both. Went against the hardest and lost. I may loose anyway, but if you loose against the hardest, the weakest will know that you'll fight, so they won't.

Once or twice people have "squared up" to me, but if I stand tall, look them in the eye, and ask what the **** they want, they always seem to back down. This to me means that they're ****ing cowards looking for a fight with someone who doesn't.

As for "just cause", I've never heard more ****** in my life. Its a fight. One side is always right, and one side is always wrong. Sometimes the victim is the one in the right, sometimes the victim has it coming, for thinking that because they have lots of mates, you can't touch them, but they can make your life miserable. Hit back, and see how long they continue to annoy you.

=-=

Sorry if I come off as a bit harsh, but I'm drunk. The hasher should blank out the bad words tho:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭JoeKelly

Im 18 and ive never been in a fight well except for scrapping with my brother but that wasn't really serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Stix wrote:

I can safely say I have never, ever been in a fight.

When I get a few drinks into me, I get silly, never aggresive. Sober, I am a very placid person. A good combination for avoiding fights, methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

been in 1 fight a few yrs ago when in school, and won! I think that stopped any possible bullying that was gona be directed at me in the future cause the only bullying I've had in my life was for the few weeks leading to the fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Stix wrote:
    This may be suited elsewhere ... in which case im sure a mod will inform me of any movement.

Yeah cos I've nothing better to do. From Humanities with love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'm another one who has never been in a fight. There has been some mild violence between myself and my brother but that's totally different.

The reason I haven't been in any fights is not because I'm opposed to fighting but because I freely admit to having been sh*t scared of losing and getting seriously hurt. I was small and thin as a teenager which didn't help. In school, I got a lot of verbal abuse which went well beyond what would be regarded as "harmless slagging". I couldn't retaliate physically due to my fear of getting my head kicked in. But looking back, I wish I'd stood up to those bullies a bit better i.e. dish out some violence which is the only thing that school bullies understand.

It's different now, I do weight training and am an awful lot stronger. I also bash the sh*t out of a punch bag a couple of times a week. This doesn't make me into a fighter or anything and I could still easily get my head kicked in however I am a bit better equipped now if I ever get into a scrap. But this is very unlikely to happen now as IME most sensible adults never need to resort to violence to sort anything out. The worst that has happened is I have gotten into a couple of road rage incidents where I ended up getting out of my car and having a shouting match with the other guy but at no stage did I fear it was going to escalate into violence.

So to sum up, what I'm saying is I think that fighting has its place when your dealing with pr*cks in secondary school but once you leave it becomes pretty irrelevant.

BrianD3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

I've never been in a fight either. I've backed down from pleanty of fights. If someone started on me I always just turn by back and walk or put my hands in my pockets or something. If they persue then you know your right. Fighting is never the solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

I've been in a few fights when young and very weak and wether I won or lost I'd always end up crying afterwards raw emotions that I couldn't handle I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

amp wrote:
    From Humanities with love.
    Maybe personal issues would have been better. It seems like Stix has some here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭The Clown Man

Secondry school was just one big fight. But since then I haven't started or provoked any. Don't see the point any more. And I'm 6 years out of secondry school so....

However some fights you just can't get away from. That just goes with being a lad. Any lad who tells you otherwise has a minority approach and must have somehow avoided the whole thing and is usually opposed to any sort of violence. But they're not quite correct in a sense, because fighting is a part of human nature instinctive in guys. Like, every little boy fights non-stop. It's inherent in our systems.

A couple of examples.

A few years back a fella broke windows of my then g/f's house after a party because I kicked everyone out as there was a number of fights about to start between two rival groups (don't ask!) and I didn't want them happening inside. He broke windows and flowerpots and ran. He ran the wrong way down a cul de sac. So when he came back I kicked the shít out of him. Fair enough I think.

Another fella hit me three times while I was trying to tell him to calm down. on the thrird time I walked away. However he followed me for the next 5 minutes trying to hit me and didn't go away until I socked him in the mouth. The gardai came shortly after and arrested him.

Also, a fella I went to school with tryed to rape my ex. I haven't been in a fight with him yet because I promised her I wouldn't. But I will break both of his legs in an instant whenever I get my chance. Again, pretty fair imo.

Some fights you cannot get away from. That's life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I was in a few, nothing major.

This sham was squaring up to me, threatening to beat me senseless, etc.

Fight broke out, I was literally strangling him on the ground, until his friend jumped him for him.

He never said a word to me after that, though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,352 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Only Human wrote:
    I've never been in a fight either. I've backed down from pleanty of fights. If someone started on me I always just turn by back and walk or put my hands in my pockets or something. If they persue then you know your right. Fighting is never the solution.

Jesus, Never put your hands in your pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Not a huge fan of fighting, normally like to end it fast with a good punch to either knock them down or out. Ive walked around a corner after a nightclub to see a mate being jumped by 2 lads, I blindsided one of them with a fairly solid punch and he went down quite hard, and the other, seeing this, tried to get away, but he didnt.
    Im a fairly big lad 6'3 15St so most lads dont really want to fight me, which suits me, but when you have to do it, its nice to know you can handle yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Boggles wrote:
    Jesus, Never put your hands in your pockets.
    It worked alot for me. As long as they're not complete ruthless scumbags who are starting a fight for no reason then they usualy wont hit you if your defenceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I was bullied once when i was about 8, but I bashed the bully's head off a tree and he didn't bother much after that, since then I haven't been in a actual fight.

Fighting is something i would usually avoid, although i'm quite fit and train in martial arts, you never know if they have a knife, or a dozen friends round a corner, etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

I'm another who's never been in a fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Only Human wrote:
    It worked alot for me. As long as they're not complete ruthless scumbags who are starting a fight for no reason then they usualy wont hit you if your defenceless.
    Heh I wouldn't count on it.

I haven't been in a fight since I was 14. And that was less of a fight and more of me getting the crap kicked out of me. I'm not a fighter. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Actually, being very neutral when someone is acting the D!ck (keeping your arms low and at your side, NOT in your pockets!) can be a good way of defusing a situation. If you start flailing your arms back at them then their instinct could be to hit you before you get a chance to hit him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I'm 17 and I can honestly say I've never been in a proper fight.. I mean, like just a bit of pushing and then maybe stalling for about 10 seconds in a head lock.. but other than that no fight.. :p I'm not really the agressive type.. "Im a lova not a fighta" na thats a lil to camp..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I can't say I've ever had to fight, either. I've never seen the point. What does it prove? That you lost control before someone else? I'll keep my head, thanks. And my teeth.