Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hen party ideas

• 03-05-2005 5:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this but anyway..

My sister is getting married in september and I was looking for some ideas on places to go for her hen night/weekend. We don't really want to leave the country and we're looking for something really fun, but not the usual meal then drinking session kinda thing. We were thinking about hiring a boat on the shannon, but there will be 15-20 of us so I don't know if that will work. Anyone any info on that?
    Its scheduled for the first weekend in september btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Try Kenmare Co. Kerry, theres a load of hen-parties down here, there was a good few during the weekend, the brides friends were trying to see how many boy-racers they could pull with the rally on and all. Theyre mighty craic older women trying it on with young lads :rolleyes: ah its all in good fun.
    "sure till be grand"

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

hen parties freak me out, ive seen grown men been brought to tears, just leave us alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kerrbear

netwhizkid wrote:
    Try Kenmare Co. Kerry, theres a load of hen-parties down here, there was a good few during the weekend, the brides friends were trying to see how many boy-racers they could pull with the rally on and all. Theyre mighty craic older women trying it on with young lads :rolleyes: ah its all in good fun.
    "sure till be grand"

Regards netwhizkid

Thanks, but we'll be travelling from monaghan and don't wanna spend a load of time travelling.
    Anyone else?
    Any info on the boats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Do what hens do best; lay eggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Tiffany wrote:
    Do what hens do best; lay eggs.
    Hen party and PMS on the same night? Sounds like a barrell of laughs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 kerrbear

Hen party and PMS on the same night? Sounds like a barrell of laughs...

ha ha!!
    Thanks for helping me out :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Why not try somewhere like the Killary adventure centre (http://www.killaryadventure.com/) You could do a weekend of activities staying over there, or else base yourselves in Galway and head out there during the day then back to galway for a night on the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

santa claus are you an affilliate of killary adventure? my sis works there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭therannu

Does anyone else find the term 'hen party' offensive? The gang of blokes are called stags, which are big, virile animals. The gang of women are called hens, which cluck around making silly noises and, by the way, are the most stupid animals I've ever come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

therannu wrote:
    The gang of women are called hens, which cluck around making silly noises

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Just stay out of templebar... thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

therannu wrote:
    Does anyone else find the term 'hen party' offensive? The gang of blokes are called stags, which are big, virile animals. The gang of women are called hens, which cluck around making silly noises and, by the way, are the most stupid animals I've ever come across.
    omg, that's prolly the funniest post I have seen all day, hehehe, brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

therannu wrote:
    The gang of women are called hens, which cluck around making silly noises and, by the way, are the most stupid animals I've ever come across.
    Doesn't that tell you anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

therannu wrote:
    The gang of women are called hens, which cluck around making silly noises and, by the way, are the most stupid animals I've ever come across.

Aaah, now I see why its called that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Leterkenny is Hen capital in the north west - not too far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

how about you go around temple bar with stupid novelty tshirts and mini pink cowboy hats, screaming and singing and making complete tits of yourselves.

for best resurnts put a 'Learner' sticker on the bride-to-be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

therannu wrote:

So should the mens party be called a "cock party" and the womens a "bitch party"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

therannu wrote:

*goes to find bra to burn*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

"how about you go around temple bar with stupid novelty tshirts and mini pink cowboy hats, screaming and singing and making complete tits of yourselves"

yes and dont forget the cock shaped novelty items ! :D !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭therannu

Bra-burning is not a female-friendly activity. It was done a couple of times and blokes hang on to the memory for their own titillation (no matter how political I get, I can't resist a good pun). What we feminists really do is grow monumental body hair.

I'm quite frankly astounded at the amount of posts quoting my "clucking hens" analogy. My point was that this is not what really happens.