Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bass Strings

• 26-04-2005 1:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭

What are the best bass strings available ? I have a 5 string Musicman. Do you buy them online or what are the other alternatives?
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I'd recommend Dean Markley SR2000s, I got a set for my 6 string and was very impressed. The B string in particular is really articulate, much more so than any other B string I've played. Have tried Rotosound, Elixir, Ernie Ball, Fender, Elite, Daddario, GHS, Vox and countless others in my time and the SR2000s are easily the best I've played.

Downside: You've to buy them from abroad.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

I've never bought from here but lots of people suggest www.webstrings.com About €12 or some such for a pack of 5 strings for bass. I've been meaning to order in a load of strings from them. Shipping is 15% of your order.

Just ordered 3 sets of 13's and a set of bass strings off that site Fey. I'll let you know what I think. Not bad for €15 :p

The reason I recommended the SR2000s is because the strings are tapered at the ball end, like a piano string. I couldn't find a pic so I'll take one tonight and stick it up. The regular B is just too fat and doesn't sit as nicely in the saddle as a tapered one IMO and doesn't sound as clear.

Damn you with your spare €15.

The almost ironic thing is, you couldn't get half a pack of bass strings or more than 2 packs of 13's in this country for that price. :rolleyes:

Indeed. I bought a set of Ernie Ball 12's recently. Cost me €10. Feckin Luas cost €3.80.

A pox upon rip off Ireland.

I've still to find a set of strings that makes me go "oooohhhh" as much as Dean Markley Blue Steels have though. I've two packs sitting downstairs, waiting for me to do some work on my guitars. I'm still using the same strings that came on the Ibanez and they still sound grand :o

Yeah, the Dean Markley people seem to know what they're doing alright. I might try out some Blue Steel when I get a new batch of SR2000s in :)

I say yes. Use them on a fixed bridge geetor though. I found that they're very high tension :eek:

I need all the tension I can get. 12s are too loose :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i pay 30 F**KING EURO every time i break a sting on my bass....this ****ing rip off cuntfaced **** hole!!!!!!!!!!! :mad

Ah jaysus, there's a very dodgy joke just waiting there about 12s being too tight....

You're a bad man feylya!

ferdi wrote:
    i pay 30 F**KING EURO every time i break a sting on my bass....this ****ing rip off cuntfaced **** hole!!!!!!!!!!! :mad

You break bass strings? :eek:

That shouldn't really happen man, are you twisting the bejesus outta them when you put them on?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭Fuseman

Doctor J wrote:
    Just ordered 3 sets of 13's and a set of bass strings off that site Fey. I'll let you know what I think. Not bad for €15 :p

The reason I recommended the SR2000s is because the strings are tapered at the ball end, like a piano string. I couldn't find a pic so I'll take one tonight and stick it up. The regular B is just too fat and doesn't sit as nicely in the saddle as a tapered one IMO and doesn't sound as clear.

Where do you buy them ? Whats the Website ?

Scroll up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

For my bass i string them with Ernie Ball Hybrid Slinkys 45-105
    or else
    DR Lo-Riders (same gauge)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Dean Markley are the way forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

i use rotosound jazz strings, 22 in musician, their the only strings i like using.

Here's the taper wound string. Being skinnier over the bridge is a dman good thing, especially for the B string.

taper.jpg

what bass is that?

anyways where do you buy your Dean Markleys from?

I'm gonna guess that's his 6 string Ibanez.

Gold star for Fey ;)

I get them from wherever is cheapest on the web, I'm not fussy :p

Woo, gold star.

Can I have a gold guitar instead? Not solid gold. Gold plated will suit.

Ummmm.... no.

hmm i originally guessed ivabez but i didnt wanna seem like a fool.
    dman i wnated that gold star so bad :(

so what sites are good for DM's cos stringbusters dont seem to stock them.