Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What u think of this?

• 15-04-2005 10:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Told my gf i loved her last night after 6 months, said it to her face just as i was leaving here and then when she got home she sent me a text saying exactly this "did u really mean u loved me?i was thinking about it 4 a while now and i was never quite sure but when i'm with you i know it is. I do really love u hun"

What the feck does that sentence mean, is she only saying it cause i said it do u think. The part about "I was thinking about it for a while", she means weeks not hours cause she sent the msg about 2min after i left her. The felling i'm getting is that she doesnt mean it and thinkin i'm watin my time being with here. Dont want to be coming across like i care cause i'm way too cool for that :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

what age are ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Eh, i know it sounds a bit childish but i'm 22 and she is 19

Beruthiels question is very pertinent beacause when I read you saying something like
    The felling i'm getting is that she doesnt mean it and thinkin i'm watin my time being with here. Dont want to be coming across like i care cause i'm way too cool for that
    I'm wondering do you know yet what love really is?
    I mean in my book its not possible to love someone and in the same though think that you could be wasting your time and just move on.
    I could understand it alright if the person you love doesnt love you and was off with someone else-then you'd be wasting your time.
    But in this case you are talking about someone you are with :confused:

To be looking for excuses or doubts indicates you are either not in love at all or you don't know what love is yet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Over analysing text messages is not a good thing to do. Why not phone her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

"did u really mean u loved me?" means Do YOU mean what you said!!

"i was thinking about it 4 a while now" means Its a feeling she's been having and its been on her mind!

"i was never quite sure" means she was a bit unsure

"but when i'm with you i know it is." means what is says she knows its love when she's with you

"I do really love u hun" means she really does love you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes, you both sound very young.

Stop overanalysing every single little word she says or texts you. You'll save yourself much mental torment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

love your analysis Page! brilliant how you read between the lines on that one, hehe

if you say you are way to cool for that, then maybe she wasn't sure how you would react if she would have told you, lot of guys get scared away by the L word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Earthman wrote:
    Beruthiels question is very pertinent beacause when I read you saying something like I'm wondering do you know yet what love really is?
    I mean in my book its not possible to love someone and in the same though think that you could be wasting your time and just move on.
    I could understand it alright if the person you love doesnt love you and was off with someone else-then you'd be wasting your time.
    But in this case you are talking about someone you are with :confused:

To be looking for excuses or doubts indicates you are either not in love at all or you don't know what love is yet .

Ye see this opens up another can of worms which i wont get into, doubt. The way it is with me is that i always doubt if she really like me for some reason, she does nothing to make me feel like this but i always seem to have doubts. Maybe that is a reason for my original post.I'll stop blabbin now and let it be.
    Thanks for all the replies.

Page thats the kind of analysis i needed, cant understand girl txts sometimes.

Ye see this opens up another can of worms which i wont get into, doubt. The way it is with me is that i always doubt if she really like me for some reason, she does nothing to make me feel like this but i always seem to have doubts. Maybe that is a reason for my original post.I'll stop blabbin now and let it be.
    Thats a self confidence thing.You doubt someone can love you.
    Honestly, starting out in your teens and for some well into their 20's after that,you can be "in love" with well several partners untill you find one that you are happy to be with long term.
    Relax, you're not getting married or anything are you? You've plenty of time to discover whether this is it and you can say the " I love you" as often as it feels right in the meantime.
    Don't be worrying about the reciprocals,you're only getting started at this mullarkey(I guess) so brace yourself for heartbreak many times(not just with your current love interest) but with others several times over the course of the next few months or years.

It's character building. Who knows though, you may be convinced in a few months that this is actually it
    If you get over the self confidence issues(Tell yourself that people can and will love ya-because believe me they can and will-somebody loves somebody always, its just not always said by the way so sometimes its never known-take that as fact, it is!)...then when you are in love and its reciprocated, then you will know.

In short, Relax and enjoy the ride (pun intended :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Page thats the kind of analysis i needed, cant understand girl txts sometimes.

dude,sometimes you just have to realise that a spade, is, only a spade.

Page's translation from 'girl' speak into english is common sense. does anyone else read this as anything other than what page has said?

what the hell did you read in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

OMG give the girl a freaking break! She was a little caught off guard with you actually saying you love her. She tried making it up to you, after the fact, by texting you. Probably not the best way to tell someone you love them for the first time granted, but she needed a few mins to get herself together from the excitment.

:cool: Chill dude, you are being anything but cool :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Got the exact same text from my ex-girlfriend last week,not sure what it means to be honest
    I do know i miss her though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Her text is quite obvious - she does love you, but was too shy to say it. So obviously she's been thinking about saying it for quite a while, but obviously was too shy to say it to you (for fear of not hearing the same words back), or something to that effect.

The important part is that she does love you, and you love her. So stop over-analysing and be happy :) Since she's been thinking about saying it for a while, she obviously was delighted that you did say it, and just wanted to make sure that you meant it, probably was so chuffed that you said it when she wanted to say it too, but wanted to make sure she wasn't dreaming, and that ya actually did say it :)

Or something, I dunno :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Heresy

And the fever gets higher.

In my book, you should only have to love. If a person seeks to be loved it ultimately spellls disaster. Placing demands on other people is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

OMG she loves you, she must be a stalker !!!! Amz, you have a lot to answer for.
    Told my gf i loved her last night after 6 months, said it to her face just as i was leaving here and then when she got home she sent me a text saying exactly this "did u really mean u loved me?i was thinking about it 4 a while now and i was never quite sure but when i'm with you i know it is. I do really love u hun"

What the feck does that sentence mean
    I'm not sure. You should really type it in English, or French or l33t5p3ak, not txt. And use quotes and punctuation meaningfully.