Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sayoc kali seminar galway

• 14-04-2005 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭

might as well throw this up here

Sayoc kali seminar, line up so far is Tom Kier, Ray Dionaldo (senior sayoc dudes and the guys who did the fight choreography on the movie The Hunted) and possibly the atienza brothers from atienza kali, quite a bill.

NUIG Galway
    april 30th-may1st
    11 am -4 pm each day
    contact dave joyce longfist@eircom.net or 087/6715549 for details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Doubt I'll get away again so soon but that would be a class seminar to take in!
    Will they be doing the "cutting Templates" as in the Hunted?? Not sure the Tom Brown "Tracker" knife would be ideal for that kind of stuff either way,the Tops version or the earlier custom jobbie.
    Any one with an interest in sharp and pointies would do well to check this stuff out though!
    Best of luck with it and if possible I'll try to get there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

Musashi wrote:
    Any one with an interest in sharp and pointies would do well to check this stuff out though!

And my God are you interested in pointies!! :D

Good Luck with the sem Bambi! Was it you that sent me the email about it? Anyway! Galway is a little bit far for me at the moment :( unless something else comes up that drags me up that way???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pma-ire wrote:
    And my God are you interested in pointies!! :D

Good Luck with the sem Bambi! Was it you that sent me the email about it? Anyway! Galway is a little bit far for me at the moment :( unless something else comes up that drags me up that way???

Nope wasnt me pma, might have been dave joyce.

Anyway seminar was a fecking blast. yeah Musashi, they did the 3 of 9 template and some combative applications from it, a whole load of tapping and counters to tapping, its very nasty stuff. Most of it focused on lethal entries to knife attack angles. unlike a lot of the FMA stuff ive seen its very direct with an emphasis on closing and thrusting rather than zoning out and slashing, the whole defanging the snake thing is seen as a bonus on the entry.

One of the most interesting things was a point tuhon kier made about sensitivity drills for the corto range. He got a volunteer with quick reflexes to hold his hand about a foot above a bottle cap resting on a table. He then placed his own hand a foot above the first guys hand and told him to snatch the bottle cap the instant that he sees him make a move for it. Despite having to cover the extra distance AND go around the volunteers hand tuhon kier got the bottle cap every time. This he said, was an illustration of how much faster action is to reaction in close range, which is why their corto blade material emphasises lethal entries, you simply can't respond quick enough to a knife at that range. Quite an eye opener.

The highlight of the weekend to me was the short class held by guru carl atienza on the atienza mass attack training. for a start the guys movement was something else, awesome footwork. He did a demo swinging a baseball bat the way most fma dudes would use a rattan stick to point out how important body mechanics are to moving a weapon, having done my arms in numerous times just trying to swinging a heavy stick like that i was well impressed with it, it takes some skill. His class itself was based around methods to move against two attackers, which we all then got to try it out freestyle with two of his guys coming in with angel one slashes. dem dudes charging at you with blunt meat cleavers is some incentive to move. :eek:

Some other interesting things was the use of the sayoc guys call "modifiers" in their drills. like turning the lights out during them. Then when you get used to drilling in the dark, flashing strobes in your face. Or do freestyle knife sparring with your partner while trying to keep and eye out for random second attackers. The freestyle stuff we did was great, even though apparently it was pretty tame in comparison to what they do with their own classes i still managed to eat a trainer blade in the gums a few times he he

all in all a top weekend, despite having me brain melted by the depth of the "core" sayoc material shown towards the end. And twas cool to hook up with our chief instructor Guro Krishna again. dunno how that guy fits all this stuff in. Poor Dave joyce was run off his feet all weekend but still made time to have a chinwag and make sure that we were looked after, all the while doing the rounds in the hall helping people and teaching, fair play to him for taking the risk to put such an ambitious seminar together, it was deffo worth it.

Sounds like a bloody brill seminar!!

Nice one ;)

What type of Drones did ye use? Plastic,rubber,Ally or blunted steel ???
    I've seen guys buy two knives and grind one down for a trainer :D
    Did they say what it was like to teach "movie stars" Sayoc? I hear Tommy Lee Jones broke Benicio Del Toros' wrist during filming :)
    Did ye work close range reverse knife? Or a more Mano Largo fencing type forward grip using Hammer and Sabre grip? Any double blade/stick combinations?
    For the sparring do ye lead with the blade or the empty hand,cloak/stick keeping the weapon side back to prevent de-fanging or stripping?
    Sorry for all the questions,Sounds like ye had a good time though! Any pics of the event??? :D:D

yes :D

What type of Drones did ye use? Plastic,rubber,Ally or blunted steel ???
    aluminium trainers mostly, coupla wooden ones floating around, standard issue fma kit.

Did they say what it was like to teach "movie stars" Sayoc? I hear Tommy Lee Jones broke Benicio Del Toros' wrist during filming

Nope, nobody mentioned the hunted really, there was much better things to discuss he he

Did ye work close range reverse knife?

they did some grip adjustments during some of the cutting templates, sabre to thumb on base reverse grip to finger pointing etc but me no like grip changes anyways. I didnt do the kerambit class but im pretty sure that would have had reverse grip too.

Or a more Mano Largo fencing type forward grip using Hammer and Sabre grip? Any double blade/stick combinations?
    Pretty much everything was close rage and agressive, the grips were mostly forward for thrusting, their stuff isnt for the squemish. the atienzas worked stick as a replacement for sword, but the sayoc stuff was all knife

For the sparring do ye lead with the blade or the empty hand,cloak/stick keeping the weapon side back to prevent de-fanging or stripping?

The sparring was kept pretty relaxed most of the time. It was mostly a random feed of a coupla lines to let the reciever try respond. they initially wanted the reciever to concentrate on attacking the line and responding with a thrust rather than just defending the lines. then you had people floating around looking to blindside both feeders and recievers so both parties had to be aware of what was around em and suddenly no-ones standing static or playing in the corto range anymore
    I didnt notice what they led off and it wasnt mentioned, weaponside wasnt kept far back anyway as most entries came off both hands at the same time almost

Any pics of the event???
    nope, taking pics or footage was a major no no, dave joyce had a camera rolling though

so did your parents not let you have teddy bears as a kid musashi you blade obsessed psycho? :p

They let me have what I wanted,turned out to be batons,knives and guns when I was old enough!

Who says you can't sleep with a rifle in the bed?? You never seen FMJ??

"This is my rifle,there are many like it but this one is mine........................."

I wouldn't say I was "blade obsessed" but there again I know alkies who wouldn't say they were drink obsessed so who's to know?
    So what blade shape or style is your personal favourite for running cutting templates on other humans Bambi mate? :D

dont have one,I dont ever carry a blade so its not something i think much about. :D

Having said that, theres a little kerambit and a penkinfe on the desk as I type and i keep looking out for reasonably priced barongs :confused:

To be honest as cool as the sayoc stuff is that training is not a road i'd go too far down, when you got guys designing their own steel pens for that extra inch of penetration you gotta wonder about where the line is drawn :eek: I got a nice semi-quote from a very famous FMA teacher about it: "knife work calls to the dark in the human psyche" and that can have a strange effect on some people imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Is there any difference between sayoc kali and normal kali from the phillipines (I think). Are they both the same? I hear its an extremely efficient martial art for fighting at close range. Is there anywhere that teaches it in Ireland? Cheers

kali is a generic name for Fillipino Martial Arts like arnis, escrima etc
    sayoc kali is a family system currently headed by chris sayoc.

dunno about close range-edness or otherwise but theres a few places that teach FMA around ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I'm probably out of order by saying this but... Musashi, you are one freaky dude :)

Bambi wrote:
    kali is a generic name for Fillipino Martial Arts like arnis, escrima etc
    sayoc kali is a family system currently headed by chris sayoc.

dunno about close range-edness or otherwise but theres a few places that teach FMA around ireland

I cant seem to find any info on the web for FMA in ireland. You dont have a website or some contact info for any of them places Bambi?

no probs, where ya living ??

Im living in the dublin 8 region but would be willing to travel anywhere within Dublin really.

dublin: you've got warriors escrima in the city centre, parish hall off molesworth street. i train there. thursday 6:30 pm - saturday 12:00 pm

then out in bray and donnybrook you got a fillipino guy called ding teaching his own system, you might find details on massan ghorbanis site (masterstemple.com or something)

one thing is all styles of fma usually orientate themselves towards weapons in the early phases and that usually means sticks. theres usually a lot of close range stuff but you might not see it to begin with.

Cheers Bambi. Is that class for both beginners and intermediates? Also if its not too much trouble could you give me a rundown of a typical class or should I contact someone else about all this info. Hope I'm not being to much of a pain in the ass. Thanks.

p.s. how much is it?

ehh typical class, anything from 4 to 10 bodies, usually a quick warm up with the sticks thats mostly footwork for leg defences and hand defences, maybe get the tyres out and batter them for a few minutes as well. The usually the class splits up into beginners and advanced .

beginners usually focus onthe first module which is single stick. So the 12 angles of attack, combinations, hand/ leg defences, then onto the single stick flow drills, maybe disarms too. depends whos teaching

Some of the beginners with a bit more experience might spar lead hand and leg with the padded stick, lads whove been there a while longer(and have the equipment he he) usually just get padded up and spar

Things are/were pretty relaxed structure wise which was fine for most of us as we all trained escrima for a few years before starting training in the warriors system but lot of beginners i think got a bit lost at first, so theres a bit more spoon feeding at first now

think it costs about 6.50 a class and you'll need a coupla rattan sticks to start with

check krishnagodhania.com for more, he be our main man

Posted by Roper
    Musashi, you are one freaky dude

Thanks Roper mate,I think??
    This is a MA Forum so I may be giving an incorrect or unbalanced impression of myself,I do have other interests,and they don't all involve putting bullets through Ten Rings or Medulla shots,honest!
    Having said that
    when you got guys designing their own steel pens for that extra inch of penetration you gotta wonder about where the line is drawn
    that's pretty easy!
    Any good quality steel pen from Parker or Cross will do but the main choice would have to go to the Italian firm of Mazzuoli .Design inspired by old metal working tools and a good solid construction.Penetration isn't that big of a consideration when you know where major arteries and such run close to the surface :D I'm sure Sayoc teachs to target the Renal,Femoral,sub-Clavian and Carotid Arteries
    !
    I like to learn knife drills to adapt them to short stick/Koppo/Kubotan/Empty Hand movements using Gross Motor Skills while retaining a commonality of movement regardless of what,if anything, is actually in your hand:)
    Does any of this mean anything to anyone else here or am I actually gone too far?? :eek:

Musashi wrote:
    I like to learn knife drills to adapt them to short stick/Koppo/Kubotan/Empty Hand movements using Gross Motor Skills while retaining a commonality of movement regardless of what,if anything, is actually in your hand:)
    Does any of this mean anything to anyone else here or am I actually gone too far?? :eek:

Your using your muscle memory to help adapt to multi case situations :D

Ditto
    :cool:

Bambi wrote:
    ehh typical class, anything from 4 to 10 bodies, usually a quick warm up with the sticks thats mostly footwork for leg defences and hand defences, maybe get the tyres out and batter them for a few minutes as well. The usually the class splits up into beginners and advanced .

beginners usually focus onthe first module which is single stick. So the 12 angles of attack, combinations, hand/ leg defences, then onto the single stick flow drills, maybe disarms too. depends whos teaching

Some of the beginners with a bit more experience might spar lead hand and leg with the padded stick, lads whove been there a while longer(and have the equipment he he) usually just get padded up and spar

Things are/were pretty relaxed structure wise which was fine for most of us as we all trained escrima for a few years before starting training in the warriors system but lot of beginners i think got a bit lost at first, so theres a bit more spoon feeding at first now

think it costs about 6.50 a class and you'll need a coupla rattan sticks to start with

check krishnagodhania.com for more, he be our main man

I've seen the sparring in full gear! Its cool :cool:

yeah the full wekaf armour is good for going really all out in but its restrictive and no-one bothers defending. padded stick with much less potective gear is more beneficial imo

Bambi wrote:
    yeah the full wekaf armour is good for going really all out in but its restrictive and no-one bothers defending. padded stick with much less potective gear is more beneficial imo

Ah! A bad habit if ever there was one!! Sounds like padded sticks are the better option for practical drill work :)

i keep looking out for reasonably priced barongs
    Bambi,
    Have a look at Valiant Co. for nice Barongs and such.Aussie based so the postage is gonna run you arounf the 26 euro and take about 12 to 15 days for delivery.

Nice wan bud, Mate of mine got their mini kerambit, the steel wasnt the mae west so i'm wary to risk it on a bigger price. Still they look very nice for the price

What drew me to them was some of the reviews of their Medium "Survival" Golok on British Blades
    and on
    BushcraftUK

Though what I've read about their cutting ability makes me a bit wary of them I've ordered a Golok and will see how she goes.If it's anything like me Sirupati Khukri it'll bite me and a few more folks until we all respect it then settle down!
    (I'm joking,but I got the scars to prove it happens too!)

On a brighter,less paranoid note, since I now have a home to house them I decided to get a decent set of kitchen knives!
    They arrived today,six days after I ordered them.
    From Japan!
    Hand made forge welded blades in plain wooden handles,all a lot lighter than I expected.Except for the Deba,which is a beast!
    I got the standard six blade set for 135 euro,which is less than half the price of an (in my opinion) inferior Wusthoff Chef Knife from the Kitchen Shop in Waterford City (300 euro).

Wattanabe Blade

I was pist one night and ordered the "Titanium 2" knives from the QVC channel after a bit of prompting from a mate. :D DIAMOND EDGE TECHNOLOGY! FITS EASILY IN EITHER HAND! :D
    Probably a bit off topic that but that's the sum total of what I can contribute to a knife conversation.

But were they any good mate?
    Would they cut cans and boots in half and still shave you in the morning?
    Were they shiny or "tactical" :eek:
    Did you get them in a timely fashion,would you deal with QVC again??
    Even sober?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Musashi wrote:
    I wouldn't say I was "blade obsessed" but there again I know alkies who wouldn't say they were drink obsessed so who's to know?
    So what blade shape or style is your personal favourite for running cutting templates on other humans Bambi mate? :D

Mushashi, you should consider changing your name to Rambo......