Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

22yo & 14yo

• 12-04-2005 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

A friend (well used to be up until i found this out) swears that "messing around" with his 14 year old female friend is legal (he's 22 by the way).

He admits that oral sex / other stuff bar intercourse has taken place and will not accepot that A.) Its SO wrong and B.) Its illegal. Can anyone here point out where on the web i can find and show him that is is illegal i just dont know under what laws/acts it falls under.

He claims that once penetration does not take place he is in the right.

I've talked to her on MSN once and it sounds like it is consentual but i still recon its wrong. Also does anyone have any advie on what i should do about this?

References to the law would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Havea look here for starters.
    http://www.ageofconsent.com/ireland.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

The word "Paedophile" springs to mind. It's about as illegal as you can get. The girl is a CHILD, if i was you freind or no freind I would report him to the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

The word "Paedophile" springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

This guy a fan of Michael Jackson or something?

tbh

ITS WRONG , simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

thing that gets me is i cant find solid written on paper source as to it being illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Hoochiemama

give this thread a day or two. alot of people will respond. then just print it off and show it to him. he'll see how wrong it is then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Why would you let him get away with it?.If any of my friends told me something like that theyd get a swift kicking about the place. Of course its wrong and also totally illegal.

http://www.ageofconsent.com/ireland.htm

From that site. Notice the bold section, consentual or not its still illegal.
    (i) Section 1 of the Criminal Law Amendment Act, 1935 provides that it is an
    offence punishable by a maximum penalty of imprisonment for life to have unlawful
    carnal knowledge of a girl under the age of fifteen (15) years.

(ii) Section 2 of the Criminal Law Act, 1935 provides that it is an offence
    punishable by five years imprisonment to have unlawful carnal knowledge of a girl
    aged between fifteen (15) and seventeen (17) years.

In both these cases neither consent on the part of the female or mistake on the part of the male as to her age will afford any defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭8bi1ctzegfouva

what is his name? and where does he live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Are they in love?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

what is his name? and where does he live?

oooh the detectives on the case :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

a 14 year old can't be in love IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

(ii) Section 2 of the Criminal Law Act, 1935 provides that it is an offence
    punishable by five years imprisonment to have unlawful carnal knowledge of a girl
    aged between fifteen (15) and seventeen (17) years.

So if a male born a day earlier than his girlfriend has sex with her on his 18th birthday, he should receive 5 years in jail :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

yeah the law is very sexist on this. let's see what feminists have to say about this???

I think the idea of a 22 year old guy and a 14 year old girl is pathetic on his part, careless on her parents part, and a bit naive on hers.
    I'm not certain what the definition of carnal knowledge is but i'm quite certain it covers oral sex.
    So in principle i think their relationship is wrong and immoral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

So if a male born a day earlier than his girlfriend has sex with her on his 18th birthday, he should receive 5 years in jail

In such cases the DPP has descression on pressing charges and the judge has lee way too.

But in the case of the 22 year old and the 14 year old, he needs to cope on and leave her alone or get the book thrown at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

No matter what way you look at it its wrong.

WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG

Morally and legally.

TBH he's a pedo with no ability to score his own age and so resorts to this.

I'd report him, or at least tell the girl/guy that you will report them if they don't stop.

At least tell her parents or something.

Would you like it if your 14yo sister/daughter was going out with a 22yo man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Guys this isn't a thread about the morals of paedophilia, it is not a thread to stir an angry mob into action and it is not a thread on how sexist laws are concerning sexual age of consent.

Please keep this thread on topic or I will ban anyone for being even slightly off topic. To remind you as to the original posters questions:

He is looking for links to information on such age of consent.
    He is looking for advice as to what he should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

the age of consent is there for one reason only. it's the limit with which it is legal to engage in ANY sexual activity with another person. anything below that age is statutory rape or sexual abuse of a minor. simple as that.

he thinks it's okay to have non-penetrative sex with a 14 year old does he?

ask him if he thinks it would be okay if she was 13. or 12. or 11. where does it stop if not the legal age of consent?

if he's so sure, tell him to go to the nearest garda station and ask them. see how far he gets.

i know how far he'd get if he asked me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Is she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

cormie wrote:
    So if a male born a day earlier than his girlfriend has sex with her on his 18th birthday, he should receive 5 years in jail :eek:

what are you talking about?
    the age of consent is 17 in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Give him a kick in the bollix.

He's pathetic and if he continues tell the girls father/ brother / mother and watch them string him up. Or do it yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

cormie wrote:

:confused: Of course not, they'd both be 18 so no problem.

OP, this link suggests that the age of consent for oral in Ireland is 15 so he would be commiting an offence. That means jail time. Explain that to him.

Please consider reporting this to the authorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

SyxPak wrote:
    Is she hot?

[ot] i knew somebody had to ask...

on:topic

wrong. Surely it's your place to tell somebody [other than us on the interweb]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Simi

for heterosexuals oral sex is legal at age 15.
    22yo fooling round with a 14yo is morally iffy tbh. But he is only a year outside the law. So in a matter of months this won't be a problem from a legal standpoint anyway. And age of consent is 17? I thought they changed it to 16 a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

If the girl looks older than 14 ( by that I mean looking about two years older.) and he thought she may have been older when he started going out with her then I wouldn't be to concerned about your friend, tell him to break it off with her and let it be the end of it. How ever if the girl looks her actual age or younger then I think you should take look at the circumstances that the two engaged and serriously contemplate wheter it may be a case of pedophilia or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

The word "Paedophile" springs to mind.

Illegal/wrong as it may be he cannot be deemed a peadophile for dating a 14 year-old.

A 14 year-old is minor but not a prepubescent. Paedophiles are defined as primarily having a sexual interest in prepubescents, often irrespective of the gender of the child (it's not the same as conventional sexual interest).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

woops, I read that wrong, I thought it said 17 year olds are not able to have sex. Sorry, and sorry for straying off topic again, just responding to the posts. But take the same circumstances and change the year of the male to 16 and the female to 15 and 364 days old.

On topic, I knew a 20 year old who was seeing a 14 year old, they really like eachother but because of the age and the way society would view this, they decided to leave it and wait a few years. This is simply because society, if this was an adam and eve situation and that was the age difference, I'm sure they would be together now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

Incidentally - this relationship would be perfectly legal in Spain and a number of other European countries.

I can't imagine it lasting though. She's 14 and is going to change physically and mentally massivly over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Obviously this persons 'friend' doesnt exist and in reality its just him who is actually touching kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 EgyptianNiddhog

I know both of them! I knew the girl first. And I kno the guy through her. They go together great and he's very good to her. Why does it bother you? And would you prefer to see her with someone her own age who treats her bad? I hate how you judge them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭JenLorigan

AlcoholicA wrote:
    a 14 year old can't be in love IMO
    I beg to differ. Don't assume people younger than you emote differently :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

First and foremost you my friend have a responsibility to tell someone or tell the law if you cant tell the law yourself tell one of your other friends get them to do it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Simi wrote:
    And age of consent is 17? I thought they changed it to 16 a few years ago.
    It's 16 in the UK, not here.
    Only Human wrote:
    If the girl looks older than 14 ( by that I mean looking about two years older.)
    Is irrelevant, "she looked older / she said she was older" is not a defence in a rape case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Simi

Who said anything about rape? And he's unlikey to get jail time if he ever did get charged. More likely a suspended sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

if it was a 14 year old guy saying he was having consensual relations with a 22 year old girl he'd be getting pats on the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 QueenAdreena

hmmm, i dont think thatll work, theyre not gonna listen to anyone and youll just end up making them lose all their friends except each other and what happens then... just leave em at it and let em make their own mistakes, shell realise soon nuff i think, she may be 14 but shes not too stupid to make her own choices, i mean i was 14 once... and my boyfriend is 4 years older than me, i understand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

What if it was your lil sister? Or your kid? Just think, how you'd feel about that...and what u'd want to do...

Age of consent is 17, 16 in england.

Personally I think that it is "slightly" wrong...but then again I don't know these people....however gut feeling is-wrong. I'm a little concerned that the guy doesn't see anything wrong with it himself...she's 14-has she even started her period yet-or what barely-?Also, mentally there should be a rather substantial difference-what are conversations like?

Also it's not fair. Let the girl grow up and go out with ppl her own age-jaysus i'd av problems evn if she went out with a 16 yr old! (for the record I'm 20, not an OAP)

Okay, at 14 your not xactly a child-but you aint a fully fledged woman either, with an understanding of how things work relationship wise, how things naturally-or should-progress in a relationship, and at the diffrnt ages..you still don't have a grasp on ur emotions (ok do ppl ever do-?but at least if you're older you can hem them in..)- I do believe that you can be in love at 14-at any age-but you're also naive, and can easily lead yourself into believing things..or what people tell you..

As regards what you should do-well if you've posted this here then you do think something is wrong, and you do want to do something about it...so don't just let this be a discussion thread. First talk to the guy, ask him how he thinks other ppl might perceive it, and if it was someonelse-ie say u and his sister/niece-how would he react..?Also-as far as I know, i think carnl knowledge is any form of "friskyness"-look at the abuse cases.....

Talk to him, maybe try and find out xactly what's been going on, then tell him your views-however i don't agree with one of the previous posters about showing him this thread-he might feel a "little" betrayed-even if u were only looking for advice. If you still arent happy call the garda info line-talk to someone who could advise you-i.e. if you're a student mayb c about free legal advice...

Hey, rent out "Trainspotting" on DVD. Watch it with all the lads (& girls). Then tell the group that your mate's "girl"friend is even younger than Diane in the movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Banjo013

I'm so surprised this hasn't been mentioned yet, but isn't there a 40 foot flashing red neon sign here saying "STATUTORY RAPE" ???

In the eyes of the law this guy is raping the girl because she is under age. Whether she consents or not doesn't matter a sh*t - he's fooked.

To the original poster - if this ever comes to trial (because this means criminal proceedings against your "friend" by the State), I'm fairly sure you could be implicated in this if it comes to light that you knew all along and kept your mouth shut - something like "harbouring a known criminal" is the legal line.

DON'T BE AN IDIOT - TAKE THIS POTENTIAL FU*K UP IN YOUR LIFE AND BURY THIS GUY !!

Personally I wouldn't give a toss what these two get up to or what they do to each other. However I would be looking to cover my own ass and because you know what you know (poor you - sometimes ignorance is bliss) you should be making sure this can't turn round and bite you on the balls. Fu*k this guy - rat him out and let him deal with the consequences of his own actions. I wouldn't risk myself in this kind of situation for anyone.

Locked until the morning.