Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A little lost.

• 10-04-2005 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭

I'm 21, live in Dublin, have a full time job and I don't think I’m going anywhere.

When I was in school I didn't really care, at the time there was nothing I wanted to do, so I didn't bother trying in exams tbh. I failed the leaving cert, just to point out, this isn’t because I’m stupid :) , my IQ is above average, and I just didn't care.

After I got my results, I was talked into repeating, so I did, again I didn't care, and I didn't try, but I passed, I think :confused: Ya see this is how much I didn't care, I don't even remember if I passed or not:rolleyes: but I’m pretty sure I did.

If I could go back and do it again then I wouldn't have repeated in the first place, nothing came of it and it didn't benefit me in anyway. It just wasted a year of my life, after doing it I started a PLC course in Media (radio/TV etc), it was a 2 year course but I left in the middle of 1st year because I didn't see myself doing it as a career so I thought ''so why the fúck am I here for??'' and just left and didn't go back, literally!!

So here I am 3 or 4 years later, working in a full time, well paying job, I’m earning more than most people do after 4 years in college but I’m just not happy, I find myself liking a job and then 6 months later I get bored of it and just want to move on. After a few years working I’ve realized that I do have interests now that I didn't have when doing the leaving, such as psychology, photography, computers, music, films production etc, I think I always knew I wanted to go back to college as a mature student, but I won't be eligible as a mature student until '07 and I don't think I want to wait that long.

So I was even contemplating doing the leaving cert again: eek: It's not a nice prospect, I’d have to leave my job, wouldn't I? I don't think I could keep my car, for u car owners out there, you know the prospect of having to get a bus again is NOT nice :(

I suppose the MAIN thing I’m afraid of is, half way through the cert, or ANY course that I do in the future, is that I’ll get bored again and just leave, and I don't want that to happen... and if I do stay, what if I failed? Then it's all for nothing.

I just don't know what to do.

Sorry for the LOOONG post. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

look into evening course, part time or whatever - this way you don't take as much risk with your finances and career as you educate yourself

But choose carefully then commit fully - your disinterest may be as much a reluctance to commit and a fear of failure as it may be genuine apathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Everyone goes through phases of wanting to leave work, or school in my case, the best thing to do is set yourself goals in work, and try and achieve them, I know it sounds stupid, but, I'm still in school because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm 25 and kinda have your problem.
    I repeated the leaving and just got into a college course.... but flunked out at year 2 of 4.
    It just didnt suit me.
    I've been working in good jobs since, but I feel lack of qualification is holding me back.
    I did a year evening course, and that helped me apply myself and achieve something, as the course was in something I had a great interest in.
    Now I'm looking for a longer course to get a cert / degree next September.
    You're only 21 and sound very responsible and have your head well screwed on.
    Fair play to you to question yourself at such a young age - you clearly care a lot about your future.
    It sounds, like me, you just need disipline when it comes to applying yourself to studies, but you're very willing to learn.
    There's a lot of evening courses that dont need leaving cert qual - you can use these to test and train yourself into your studies. Once you feel confortable, perhaps you will want to challenge the Leaving Cert to prove to yourself you can do it.
    Sorry I cant give more advise - I'm sure there's lots of people employed who can give better info - perhaps the local FAS office?
    Anyway... best of luck with whatever path you choose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

what exactly do you think doing the leaving cert will do?
    i mean, it seems as if you are only interested in filling time until that 'something' comes along.

to be perfectly honet, if you dont make the effort to make things happen, if you dont have something to aim for in your life, youare always going to be bored, and unfulfilled.

you will fell like this becuase you have nothing to aim for and you will have nothing to compare ourself to. why dont you figure out what you would like to do, and then figure out how to get there.
    youre only 21 for gods sake.
    stop talking like someone going througha mislife crisis.

honestly, im beginging to believe that most people feel like the world owes them a favour, and they are bored with life until it happens.
    dont people understand that you actually have to make an effort to get someone?

seriously, if your bored and you cant be arsed to make an effort, what exactly are you complaining about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bonzai bob

Thanks for the replies so far, it's greatly appreciated.
    what exactly do you think doing the leaving cert will do??

I suppose i should have made that a little clearer, i'm considering doing the leaving cert again as it would be a stepping stone to getting into college, there's only so much you can do with a crap leaving cert, if i did it again and got decent results then i'd have a lot of options open to me with regards to doing some kind of degree.
    i mean, it seems as if you are only interested in filling time until that 'something' comes along.

You're dead right, i am, what's wrong with that?
    to be perfectly honet, if you dont make the effort to make things happen, if you dont have something to aim for in your life, youare always going to be bored, and unfulfilled.

you will fell like this becuase you have nothing to aim for and you will have nothing to compare ourself to. why dont you figure out what you would like to do, and then figure out how to get there.
    youre only 21 for gods sake.
    stop talking like someone going througha mislife crisis.

That's the problem, i don't know what i want to do, in college anyway. I have many interests, but i don't know how to distinguish which one i would want to do more than the other.
    honestly, im beginging to believe that most people feel like the world owes them a favour, and they are bored with life until it happens.
    dont people understand that you actually have to make an effort to get someone?

seriously, if your bored and you cant be arsed to make an effort, what exactly are you complaining about?

I'm not complaining about anything, nor do i think the world owes me a favour, i'm just confused, i don't know what to with myself and i'm looking for peoples advise. There are plenty of us out there. It's a scary thought when you realize you don't know what to do, yet you have to choose what you're going to do

With regards to evening classes etc, i am definitely looking into that and i'm trying to find somethin suitable for me, i've also looked into Open Uni, but it's very expensive for people in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

Welcome to the abyss!

Let me show you around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

bonzai bob wrote:
    That's the problem, i don't know what i want to do, in college anyway. I have many interests, but i don't know how to distinguish which one i would want to do more than the other.
    Try to find a "life coach" / "employment coach" type person who might be able to point you in a few directions.

Your objectives are:
    A job you like.
    A job you are good at.
    A job you will be paid for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Spooky; you sir are my slightly more unfortunate self. I was in the same boat. When I was doing the leaving cert I had zero interest. None, whatsoever. I hated it. I skipped school, did badly in exams and generally pissed a lot of people off. And not because I'm stupid, I also have a well above average IQ.

But I decided at some point in sixth year that there was no way in hell that I was doing the leaving cert again. So with a few months to spare I actually started studying basically from scratch and scrapped a 420. Then I started science at UCD. It was awful, terrible, I hated it. I dropped out. For months I was completely lost. It felt horrible. But then, through sheer chance, I discover the best course in the universe. <---thats the course list. AV communications in IT tallaght. Come do it, its brilliant. If I recall the points were around 320. If you didnt get that, well you can always try again.

Even if none of this sounds appealing, I still think redoing the LC is a good idea. I hate this system, but hating it won't get you anywhere. A college course would be so good for someone that feels lost. Find something you love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

ballyfermot college do soem great very cheap evening courses in film and video editing, photography and radio:)

I've given it a lot of thought, well since yesterday anyway:), and i *think* i'll do the leaving cert again.. that's the plan anyway.

Kilroys College do a home learning leaving cert, so i can study myself and not have to leave work. So i'm basically going to be doing an evening course, but a leaving cert evening course:)

I would like to do an evening course in the interests i've outlined, but there's a chance i won't like them and i won't be any clearer in what i want to do. So this way, i can do the leaving, i'll have a chance to gain a decent result, i'll have a year to consider what i'm going to do, and then i'll hopefully be able to do a full time degree:) plus the year will give me plenty of time to save money to see me through the first couple of years in college:)

Sounds like a plan.

Ok, i just got a reply from kilroys college, if i wanted to do 7 subjects then that would cost 2086 euro, screw that!! What a rip off, it's a distant learning course ffs, where are they getting those fees:eek:! I could probably go to Bruces College for that amount and get expert tuition FULL time!

Anyway, i guess this only leaves one option for me to stay in work and do the leaving cert at the same time, and that is to sign up as an external candidate and tutor myself. Does anyone have any experience in this? I know i'd have to go to a school and ask their permission for me to sit exams etc, but does anyone know anythin about fees for being an external candidate etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

bonzai bob wrote:
    I'm 21, live in Dublin, have a full time job and I don't think I’m going anywhere.

When I was in school I didn't really care, at the time there was nothing I wanted to do, so I didn't bother trying in exams tbh. I failed the leaving cert, just to point out, this isn’t because I’m stupid :) , my IQ is above average, and I just didn't care.

After I got my results, I was talked into repeating, so I did, again I didn't care, and I didn't try, but I passed, I think :confused: Ya see this is how much I didn't care, I don't even remember if I passed or not:rolleyes: but I’m pretty sure I did.

If I could go back and do it again then I wouldn't have repeated in the first place, nothing came of it and it didn't benefit me in anyway. It just wasted a year of my life, after doing it I started a PLC course in Media (radio/TV etc), it was a 2 year course but I left in the middle of 1st year because I didn't see myself doing it as a career so I thought ''so why the fúck am I here for??'' and just left and didn't go back, literally!!

So here I am 3 or 4 years later, working in a full time, well paying job, I’m earning more than most people do after 4 years in college but I’m just not happy, I find myself liking a job and then 6 months later I get bored of it and just want to move on. After a few years working I’ve realized that I do have interests now that I didn't have when doing the leaving, such as psychology, photography, computers, music, films production etc, I think I always knew I wanted to go back to college as a mature student, but I won't be eligible as a mature student until '07 and I don't think I want to wait that long.

So I was even contemplating doing the leaving cert again: eek: It's not a nice prospect, I’d have to leave my job, wouldn't I? I don't think I could keep my car, for u car owners out there, you know the prospect of having to get a bus again is NOT nice :(

I suppose the MAIN thing I’m afraid of is, half way through the cert, or ANY course that I do in the future, is that I’ll get bored again and just leave, and I don't want that to happen... and if I do stay, what if I failed? Then it's all for nothing.

I just don't know what to do.

Sorry for the LOOONG post. :o

I know this is frowned upon here, and it might get me banned, but after reading your post one thing is obvious

Your a spa (looser, thick cvnt, eeejit)....nothing can be done for you,

pot. kettle. black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Well, I was the biggest waster in school ever.....

I managed to scrape 385 points after literally 2 weeks study at the very end and dropping down to pass in 2 subjects at the last minute.

I'm the same in college, bumming about becuase I ended up doing something I didn't totally want to do, now I'm just bored and wondering if I should have done the leaving again.....I'm only 17 though, so that would be an easy enough option for me.

I understand how you feel - I would be the same if I was you, but in a few years, if you do the leaving again, think of where you might be.

In college doing something that makes you happy, or in a job that you like and was unavailable to you before. I think its worth it for the few years of your entire life, and for what you can possibly get back out of it, I dolnt think within reason you can put a price on it.

Anyway, best of luck with whatever you go for, keep you updated as to what you actually opt for - would be interested to hear!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I know this is frowned upon here, and it might get me banned, but after reading your post one thing is obvious

Your a spa (looser, thick cvnt, eeejit)....nothing can be done for you,

honestly
    you should know better meditraitor
    banned for a week
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Well, I was the biggest waster in school ever.....

I managed to scrape 385 points after literally 2 weeks study at the very end and dropping down to pass in 2 subjects at the last minute.

I'm the same in college, bumming about becuase I ended up doing something I didn't totally want to do, now I'm just bored and wondering if I should have done the leaving again.....I'm only 17 though, so that would be an easy enough option for me.

In a very similar situation to that of several people here were, i'm sittin my leaving cert in a few weeks, and i'm just sick of it all! I hate the place, i want out! But the L.C. stands in my way, and i know i hate it but i'm definitely going to sit it, life and opportunities without a L.C. is too hit and miss as to whether you can make anything of life, or be happy with what you do eventually get, asi think is apparent in bonzai bob's post.
    Also i'm also by no means stupid, i would consider myself and considered by anybody that knows me as an intelligent person. But i too have dropped two ordinary level in two subjects and have all but given up on biology, my 7th subject, so essentially i'm sitting 6 subjects. And i know if i just do some feckin work i'll be grand but i cant motivate myself! Any tips? Sorry for piggybackin a bit bonzai bob!

@MobileInfantry

Any study tips, being in a similar situation i could do with the help, studying is definitely not a strong point of mine! Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Any study tips, being in a similar situation i could do with the help, studying is definitely not a strong point of mine! Cheers!

I did subjects like Geography and history - easy subjects to cram for. I also dropped into pass biology, maths and Spanish, because due to my performance during the LC course I would have flat out failed honours in these subjects, so it was better to get high grades in pass then fail grades in honours.

In Irish, I just did a good tape and a good essay - my lack of work EVER meant that I pretty much had to leave out all of paper 2, which focused on the work learnt during the year - but still managed to get a c3 overall on Paper 1, tape and a tiny bit of paper 2.

What helped me greatly is that I'm naturally very good at english, so without doing any work whatsoever I got an A1 in honours.

I suppose it really depends on your subjects as well, for me, they were fairly suitable for someone of good intelligence to cram in the last 2 weeks.

But if you are of good intelligence, its not hard to pull off a last minute quick job - much like the Junior Cert is before you do it, the LC is over-rated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Yeah i'm doin maths(ord), english, irish(ord), french(ord), geography, biology and music.
    My main problems will be english as i havent covered most the poetry(moved house and school after fifth year, poets already covered in the new school...) and my single text, Wuthering Heights, i have to study myself as the new school are doing Amongst Women i believe...

I guess its do-able, it'll jus be painful.... :rolleyes: