Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the future?

• 09-04-2005 6:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

I dont want to be someone involved in scaremongering but I would like peoples opinion on this site.

http://www.christinagallagher.org/en/

I have read extensively about this kind of thing (prophetic writings) and it is not a totally unique situation (there are many others who write/have written about similar events and have done so for hundreds of years but perhaps not to the same level of detail). Christina is currently under examination from the church before they will approve of her writings. Her writings are in my humble opinion theologically sound and in keeping with the Catholic church and it is just a process that the Catholic church undertakes for all such cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭smidgy

Anyone got any opinion on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

"There will be another tsunami-type wave which will come over Ireland and a number of different countries throughout the world"

Hmmm. interesting.

I dunno about this prophecy. What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

I think I heard that one before but it was by someone else, malachi I think or some Irish monk/saint who lived hundreds of years ago. (about the wave thing)
    Always thought of Ireland as being like atlantis :)

<edit> ST. COLUMBEILLE (6TH CENTURY)

Seven years before the last day, the sea shall submerge Eirin [Ireland] in one inundation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Thats it, I'm outta here, Scottish Highlands for me!

I suppose the thing that gets me about this prophecy is that the person is Irish ,is still alive and lives up in Galway or somewhere around there. To be honest I dont want to believe it but when you look around at the world can things get much worse? If you are anti-abortion and realise what it is then you will see that humanity has sunk to a new low in killing its own children. Materialism is rife. With Pope John Paul II dead will the next leader of the church be able to hold the line? If he does not then all that Pope John Paul stood for will be lost. The church could unravel like a ball.
    I read Christinas prophecies about the 'people lying dead on the beach' some years ago. To see that it can be linked in quite easily with the tsunami in SE Asia adds truth to her argument. Obviously she can not pin point an exact time or date that something will occur because that would 'prove' what she is saying is true and undermine the whole 'belief' system that forms our relationship with god.
    To be honest if the big 'wave' or 'flood' or 'whatever' comes in my life time I dont think i'll bother running to the hills. It would be so miserable in the scottish highlands you'd probably end up throwing yourself in the water anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

Christina Gallagher is the same person who ran (runs?) the 'House of Prayer' in Achill, which got considerable national press here a number of years ago due in no small way to the amount of cash that was floating around connected with it.

Interesting article here

That makes for an interesting read. I understand the jury will be out on these apparitionists until they are proved or disproved.

I have often asked myself how you would know if they are real or fake. My conclusion is that the answer lies here in Matt 7:15-23- "YOU WILL KNOW THEM BY THEIR FRUITS" ...

“Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves. Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit.

If they have brought people to God then they have they not acted in accordance with the Lords wishes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Call_Me,Stan

Personally, I find this one much more interesting.

The Future and the Pope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

smidgy wrote:
    Is this the future?
    No. Quite simply it's a load of bollox..
    The earthquakes will cause a great vacuum which will pull huge portions of land and property into the sea.
    Sorry.. WHAT?

This simply does not happen.

Don't listen to religion on scientific issues, same goes vice-versa.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    No. Quite simply it's a load of bollox..

What an input to the discussion. My dog could have typed that in ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

smidgy wrote:
    What an input to the discussion. My dog could have typed that in ...
    Then your dog is either not a dog or it is posessed. Simple as..

But seriously, you'd want to take heed of my argument. It's pretty clear it's the only input based on sound logic rather than fanciful wonderings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Call_Me,Stan

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Don't listen to religion on scientific issues, same goes vice-versa.

Not the best advice, there.

That's how people get all closed mindeds.

We need both and they constantly cross.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    But seriously, you'd want to take heed of my argument. It's pretty clear it's the only input based on sound logic rather than fanciful wonderings.

Seriously I want people to express their opinions about this, but in a constructive manner. Sure you can say its a load of bollix but where are you coming from? Has it been your decision that you simply dont believe in God? or God from the perspective of the catholic church? Do you believe in the possibilty of apparitions at all? Do you believe in the messages of Fatima and their acknowledgement by the church as being real? Do you believe in Saint Faustina Kowalska and her message of devine mercy from the lips of Jesus himself? The church also has accepted these apparitions as true. Either you have decided to stay totally outside this sphere of thought or you are open to possibility that this may in fact be true.

If you accept the above as a possibility then you can look at Christinas messages and give a more constructive opinion.

We're not all crazy and neither are the all the people who speak about such messages from God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Ehh.. does she mean that Ireland will be covered by a Tsunami? If she means something similar to the one in the indian ocean then that cant happen!! It would have to come from the west and most of the West is full of cliffs hundreds of feet high. The Asia tsunami was not high at all.. it was just a lot of water that swept over flat land.
    There will be more problems in asia, its a very active area.
    Ireland is not and while there are earthquakes out to sea its not very active.

Im sorry im not sure where this website or this person comes into Christianity at all. Apparently God is punishing humanity according to her and thats why all these disasters are happening.. im sorry but that sounds more like the actions of an utterly EVIL being rather than the merciful, peace loving God he is supposed to be.
    It sounds more like the actions of the God portrayed in the old testiment who is completely different to the one in the New testiment.

No as far as my understanding goes this is what she is saying.

1. The thing that brings a lot of 'middle of the road' believers to God is when a something happens in their lives that they cannot deal with. They fall on their knees and implore Gods help. If humanity has turned from God then if a natural disaster strikes it will turn their attention from the material world which can offer them no refuge and turn them towards God.

2. All of creation is linked through God since we all have been spoken into existence in the same universe and by the same creator. When one aspect of ther world has upset the balance of things (humanity through its evil ways in this case has upset the natural laws of the world) then this will have an effect on some other part of creation. In essence we are doing this to ourselves.

The difference between the God of the old testament and He of the new is that mercy given to us through Jesus' sacrifice. If this mercy has its limits (which are exhaused throuh the millions of aborted babies and other evils) then we may yet witness the God of the old testament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Hang on a second.. aborted babies? Evil? Says who???
    Who said that Abortion is Evil?? God??? Dont remember reading that chapter in the bible... Or was it a Man? Some guy, a member of some church.. probably catholic who decided its evil and therefor is just HIS word...
    There is so much in Christianity and all religion that is man made.. so many imagined evils.

The way i and a lot of people see abortion is.. you are not killing babies.. you are preventing the possibility of a baby... only the possibility... they are not living creatures, not alive in any sense.. not thinking, they are a pile of goo that gets flushed out of the womans body. What makes it murder when the child has not been born?

Hang on now, the act of being born is a physical act of coming out of the womb into the world. It does not denote the first second of life. Please keep to the title, I am not really in here to argue over abortion, I am far past that. I am sure there is a board for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

By starting off as a discussion of prophecies on Achill Island and then ending up debating whether or not abortion is simply the "flushing of goo from a woman's body" (Saruman- you know better than to write such needlessly provocative lazy stuff), I think that this thread needs to be shut down.

If you want to discuss abortion here, then it must be discussed in some rigourous way in terms of Christianity- general discussions can happen on more general boards.

This thread was for the prophecies of this Christina person and I think at this point that it is unlikely to be brought back on topic.

Thread closed.