Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alias (season four)

• 04-04-2005 9:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭

Did anybody watch the new season of Alias on Bravo last night???

I thought it was really good... like the new set up and the revamped opening music and titles is pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Oh crap I missed it, ya dont know if they'll be repeating it do ya!

I read the script for that episode a few months back, seemed really good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

i think it is on from 7pm till 9pm on Bravo tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Oh ok, thanks, I dont wanna miss it again!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

The new premise works for me - grand for old viewers but not discouraging to potential new viewers the way Season 3 was. The title music is funkier too. Thankfully I can tell ye that it's a good season so far (seen up to 4x13) so you should all enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

ye i liked it,new format with APO was cool,some good fight scenes,but the whole jack killing irina thing is bull,you know its not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭solo1

I've seen more of the episodes in the US earlier this year. I have to admit that I have rarely seen a plot point as forced as that whole subterfuge that was an obvious narrative trick to get all out heroes in the same room at the same time - I'm talking about the first ten minutes, when they all get drafted into the special black ops team. Bull****.

Also, in general, don't you think that it's way formulaic? Bad guys might get hands on Bad Thing, so Sydney has to break into some fortress-like house in the middle of a party to steal some other Bad Thing, so they can bargain for the original Bad Thing, or so they can decipher it. Inevitably, Sydney will almost get caught, or get caught and then escape.

Any of us could write a sample episode.

HAving said that, I did think enough of the show to buy the first two seasons on DVD, so I obviously like it some. Although, the blooper reel on the DVDs is set to music, and edited badly. Which ticked me off.

Grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Maybe because it was the first returning season of 'Alias' that wasn't coming off the back of either one or more cliffhangers it just lacked any 'wow' factor in these opening 2 hours. It was solid, but not spectacular.

I like the new remixed theme music, I like the new offices, I like having 'Alias' back on TV, I'm just not sure how much I like the new setup, with the gang and various relatives all signing on to the same team. It just doesn't make THAT much sense to have Sloane running the team, and then just recruit all the main cast, including Nadia (but excluding Weiss...for now). Compared to the pilot and previous 'Alias' episodes that j.j Abrams has written, he's capable of delivering a script that doesn't raise any red flags in terms of illogical developments, simply because it's such a good script -- this wasn't the case with this new setup.

The whole Jack/Irina plot felt forced, but again that might be because I knew going into the season that the original cliffhanger for S3 was supposed to be more arc-y (in keeping with the rest of S3) in the sense that the files Sydney was reading were more about HER than Jack/Irina. I mean, even in the flashback we can clearly see "Name: Sydney Bristow", that a top secret project began on Sydney's birthday, and at the bottom "Project Manager Jack Bristow". Now, that was written before that Rambaldi arc-y direction was put on the backburner in favour of the new 'APO' direction for S4. BUT, I'm not sure how the title of 'project manager', her date of birth as project start date etc., can really be explained away in relation to Jack killing Irina.

Of course, it may all be worked into the plot at some stage, but Sydney herself said that the most striking thing about the files was the order for Irina's killing being granted, so even she doesn't seem to be wondering what the whole 'project' with her name on it is or if it has anything to do with Project Christmas, her eggs being taken, her missing two years... *shrug* Just seems sloppy to include that shot of the opening page in the flashback if it's going to be ignored?

All in all, a decent start with a fresh, if underwhelming new direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

@ TCAMEN.

I totally agree with what you said... at the end of Season three from reading what was on the files it looked like Sydney had been 'planned' since before her birth and that once she was born the 'project' was underway.. it made it look like she was maybe not quiet human or something... there was absolutely no mention of what had happened to her mother...

A lot of people didnt like season three because of the whole 'arc' type plot but i prefer Alias that way.

I totally agree with what you said... at the end of Season three from reading what was on the files it looked like Sydney had been 'planned' since before her birth and that once she was born the 'project' was underway.. it made it look like she was maybe not quiet human or something... there was absolutely no mention of what had happened to her mother...

Yeah, I mean there's *SOMETHING* there that's either going to explained later, or is discarded completely, which makes me annoyed if they just ignore it. I mean we SAW Sydney reading that first page, and unless she's retarded now (well she's back with Vaughn so who knows :rolleyes: ) she has to think there's something dodgy about it!
    A lot of people didnt like season three because of the whole 'arc' type plot but i prefer Alias that way.

Yeah, as do I. Season 3 wasn't near as bad as some people complained it was.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

I really like Alias and I'm delighted it's back, but can they please cut down on all the Crying that Sydney does. She's supposed to be a tough government spy and she spends at least 10% of her time crying! Also, has anyone else noticed her tits have gotten a lot bigger? Boob job me thinks :)

She's supposed to be a tough government spy and she spends at least 10% of her time crying! Also, has anyone else noticed her tits have gotten a lot bigger? Boob job me thinks

Both are contractual obligations. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

TCamen wrote:
    Yeah, as do I. Season 3 wasn't near as bad as some people complained it was.

I have to say I really enjoyed Season 3. Some of the episodes were very exciting and still had the edge that the first two seasons had of "you never know whats going to happen". I've seen the first 13 episodes of Season4 and its really hit and miss. I know its doing great in the ratings and its more accesable to new viewers but its so boring sometimes. I don't care about Nadia's past (though no doubt its important), or whatever villain of the week it is this week. I miss Rambaldi and am pretty happy it seems to be making a bit of a come back.

One thing though, Sydney's voice. In certain scene's it seems to be really really deep. In the episode where she fights Anna in the store, she says "she can keep the sweater" and its hilariously man like. One of the worst is episode 4, she just sounds like a man the whole way through. Kind of makes me miss crying, whingey syd.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Hmm I've seen all the US episodes too and quite enjoy S4. Its own arc is kicking in. Like you Wheels I miss certain elements but I think I know how it ties in
    Rambaldi was all about preserving life right? So the invention Sloane made at S3's end was probably related to prolonging life. Now that Jack has been poisoned by radiation and is, in all probability, dying I bet Sloane will have to use that device to heal Jack and prove that, once and for all, he's reformed. What do ya think?
    I'd really advise those who haven't seen right up to the latest US episode not to read that spoiler...