Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dell Laptop €599 including VAT and shipping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

where is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

that's great, wanna give a link or more info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭tadhgrrr

i think this is the one he was talking about ...works out to €599 if you take off the service package

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

what do ye think of it? i want a laptop but im not going to spend a fortune on it so maybe this could be for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭ClonmelMan

tadhgrrr ......... i think this is the one he was talking about ...works out to €599 if you take off the service package

I have looked but can't see how to exclude the service package?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭XT_Dweezil

ClonmelMan wrote:
    I have looked but can't see how to exclude the service package?

Change " Enhanced Service Packs"
    To 1 Year European Collect and Return Service [subtract € 133.10]

And you´ll be down to 599 yoyo again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

jaysu$ lads don't buy that one :eek: - it's cheap but nasty!

If you have to buy one quick - heres a (very) rough guide :o

go to http://www.dell.ie/do

choose express shopping

change the search options to "Inspiron Laptops"

Click on the price column to sort by price

Buy the cheapest 510m with 512MB RAM - Upgrade the warranty to 3 years if you can afford.

Don't forget to tick the £50 (€79) discount at the checkout ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

zod wrote:
    jaysu$ lads don't buy that one :eek: - it's cheap but nasty!

If you have to buy one quick - heres a (very) rough guide :o

go to http://www.dell.ie/do

choose express shopping

change the search options to "Inspiron Laptops"

Click on the price column to sort by price

Buy the cheapest 510m with 512MB RAM - Upgrade the warranty to 3 years if you can afford.

Don't forget to tick the £50 (€79) discount at the checkout ;)

and the cheapest doing it ur way is 917+shipping so persumably 967 for a 256mb ram machine with pentium m 1.3 ghz cpu, cdrw drive etc.

599 is good for that machine, will do what most people need out of a 2nd computer.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

My friend got one of these, they are awful.

The screen is completely crap, it is very fuzzy and not very bright.

I suppose you get what you pay for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

I agree, I've seen people asking for 400e for P3's in the buyand sell!

600e for that is grand for a solid office/internet machine if you *need* a laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

The 510m's were starting from €650 on the "proper" dell site last week. Talk to them on the fone about the extra warantee, the sales people can often knock the edges off the €300 ot so dell look for at times.

Or watch out for latitudes on the outlet which often have 3 years as standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

lomb wrote:
    and the cheapest doing it ur way is 917+shipping so persumably 967 for a 256mb ram machine with pentium m 1.3 ghz cpu, cdrw drive etc.

599 is good for that machine, will do what most people need out of a 2nd computer.

Sigh :rolleyes: There seems to be scarcity of the 510m at the moment but could you not look at the other ones! - it was a quick rough guide because of how nasty that one is. I know future proofing is near imposible but to buy that one you are actually buying obsolescence!

heres a 5160

Inspiron 5160 (System Identifier. 04MV3652)
    Inspiron 5160, P4, 2.8GHz/533MHz/1M Cache,
    English - Win XP SP2 Home (No Media)
    Operating System: English - Win XP SP2 Home (No Media)
    English - Win XP SP2 Home (Backup Media)
    Memory: 512MB DIMM (333MHZ) (2 X 256MB)
    Hard Disk Drive: 60GB (5400rpm) Hard Drive
    Video: 64MB DDR nVidia(R) GeForce(TM) 5200 Go AGP 4x
    Modem: Internal 56K Modem
    Network Interface Card: Internal 10/100 Ethernet LAN on Motherboard
    CD Read-Write Drive: CDRW / DVD COMBO Drive
    Software: Microsoft® Works® 7.0
    Inspiron DVD Cyberlink PDVD Decoder S/W
    English - Adobe Reader 6.0
    MISC: Inspiron 5100 UK Keyboard
    Inspiron 5160 LCD, 15.0
    BATTERY, 96WATT/HOUR, 12 CELL
    D-Series 130W AC adapter

Total : EUR 759.13 (inc VAT excl Del )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

zod wrote:
    Total : EUR 759.13 (inc VAT excl Del )

That is a much better machine, zod. Much better value for money as well imho. But bottom line is that it is 35% more expensive than the one in the thread. Many people just want to surf the interweb and print a letter and the price difference can be crucial to them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 ekelly

I'm looking for a laptop, that i'll mostly be using for downloading etc. I'd like to have a CD/DVD burner. I'll probably end up getting an external hardrive so anything above 40gb is OK. Anyone any suggestions? I'm a bit in the dark about processors, RAM etc

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If price is really an issue you could always try for a windows refund , might take another €40 off the price, months later...

Oh yeah at that price , no serial / parallel / infra red ports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭huh!

That original laptop posted can be had for € 518 now

dell

529 i think but with a cd writer as well, fabulous value compared to buying a used POS...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

http://www1.euro.dell.com/content/products/compare.aspx?c=ie&cs=iebsdt1&id=inspn&l=en&s=bsd

The Inspiron 1150 from the above link is even bettr Value with a 15" screen 512 mwgs of ram a free all in one printer/scanner and Fax and free delivery all from €459 plus VAt. Thats a whopper of a deal IMO.

N.B the free deivery is only available until the 13th of April.

its better value for sure but u are paying for it. that 469+vat one has a dvd drive only, whereas the other one has a cd writer as well.
    however it has more ram, a faster cpu, and a liion battery as opposed to an nimh battery so is def much better value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

lomb wrote:
    its better value for sure but u are paying for it. that 469+vat one has a dvd drive only, whereas the other one has a cd writer as well.
    however it has more ram, a faster cpu, and a liion battery as opposed to an nimh battery so is def much better value.

Hi Lomb, where is the Cheaper one with the CDRW I can only find the inspiron 1000 that is cheaper and it has a dvd.?

The Muppet wrote:
    Hi Lomb, where is the Cheaper one with the CDRW I can only find the inspiron 1000 that is cheaper and it has a dvd.?

http://www1.euro.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/inspn_1000?c=ie&cs=iebsdt1&l=en&s=bsd

its the inspirion 1000 with cdrw and nimh battery which is useless frankly, ur one is better value as u say. :)

thats the spec anyway # The following are included in the Base: Mobile Intel® Celeron® 2.20GHz
    # Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition
    # 256MB shared DDR SDRAM & 30GB Hard Drive
    # 8-cell NiMH Battery
    # DVD/CDRW Combo DriveXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    # Microsoft® Works 7.0
    # 60W AC Adapter Inspiron 1000

Inspiron 1000, 2.2GHz Cel ,14"XGA Screen, 256MB DDR RAM, 30 GB HD, 8 Cell NiMH