Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magic Mushrooms Discussion

• 25-03-2005 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry this took so long, I was trying not to make any rash judgements.

Further discussion of where/how to pick, buy, or consume Magic Mushrooms isn't allowed on this board.
    Discussion of their legality is fine. Any posts talking otherwise about them will be binned/locked.

In the interests of openness, my reasons are:

1. I have seen Irish sources which both contradict eachother on the legality and are equally reputable, so best to err on the side of caution. The only thing we know for sure is that "Prepared" mushrooms are illegal. But what is a prepared mushroom? An apple freshly picked from a tree is "prepared" for eating, so how about a mushroom freshly picked from the ground? The law is fickle, if the above could be argued, then boards could be dumped in a world of ****. Boards cannot afford to take the risk that someone would investigate it unless we are 100% sure we're OK. Which we're not.

2. The issue of "Publisher" comes up again. If little Jimmy poisons himself due to misunderstanding advice received, or receiving dangerous advice, boards may be in trouble and little Jimmy's mother is knocking on Tom's door, looking to get her hands on his valuable hair. Remember: Boards.ie is responsible for what you post, not you.

3. There are plenty of sites who can and do take the risk of sitting on the edge of legality, it's not like boards would be depriving anyone of a specialist advice section. Google would easily get you whatever info you need.

So in future, anything but debating their legality is banned on this board. This is until an Admin decides otherwise, and/or I hear from my co-mods.

I'm leaving this thread open for debate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

There are plenty of sites who can and do take the risk of sitting on the edge of legality, it's not like boards would be depriving anyone of a specialist advice section. Google would easily get you whatever info you need.

well then, why have any forum at all if we can all just go elsewhere?
    ****, why bother coming to boards. We can all just meet up at these other websites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

seamus wrote:
    But what is a prepared mushroom?

But what is a magic mushroom?
    There are hallucinogen mushrooms growing in this country which are not even recognised by law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

The reason magic mushrooms are only illegal when prepared is because people who pick normal mushrooms may pick hallucinogenic ones by mistake and they can hardly be punisheed for this. 'Prepared' means dried or generally 'prepared' for eating.

Wet Mushrooms are LEGAL. You can buy them in Asha for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭garthv

Irish law regarding mushrooms is not set in stone hence why they are avaliable in street shops at the moment.
    I recently purchased some in a shop in Dublin City Centre and when I questioned the guy behind the counter about the legality of it all he told me that basically its a grey area at the moment but if the Gardaì (god bless their souls) ever asked him to stop he would straight away.
    So i gave him my hard earned dosh and was about to walk out the door when I thought id ask how to consume them(head or stalk?) and when I asked him he was adamant that he could not tell me how to as thats a major no-no in in the Law at the mo....
    I dont see the point of making them illegal,or even the discussion of them illegal but then again theres a good few things I dont see the point in being illegal:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

i didnt know asha sold them,have they just started?

theres a good few shops selling them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

oh and if your looking for an irish based forum to talk about drugs i suggest giving

www.timmaay.tk a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Mordeth wrote:
    well then, why have any forum at all if we can all just go elsewhere?
    ****, why bother coming to boards. We can all just meet up at these other websites!
    You missed the point Mord. If it was something that was slightly dodgy, but there were no other resources than boards, then that would add weight to the argument for allowing it.

As it is, I say "feel free to debate it", but I'm not going to reverse my decision until an Admin says otherwise (I'm going to PM ecksor now), or someone gives me some earth-shattering evidence. Tusky, just because Asha, of all shops, are doing something, doesn't make it OK for boards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

seamus wrote:
    You missed the point Mord. If it was something that was slightly dodgy, but there were no other resources than boards, then that would add weight to the argument for allowing it.

As it is, I say "feel free to debate it", but I'm not going to reverse my decision until an Admin says otherwise (I'm going to PM ecksor now), or someone gives me some earth-shattering evidence. Tusky, just because Asha, of all shops, are doing something, doesn't make it OK for boards :)

Many shops sell them, its just kinda ironic that you can legally buy them in the shops but you cant talk about them on an internet message board. I see where you're coming from though....it doesnt actually bother me either as I have no need to talk about them online :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

seamus wrote:
    Sorry this took so long, I was trying not to make any rash judgements.
    Dermatologists :rolleyes:

http://bodd.cf.ac.uk/BotDermFolder/BotDermF/FUNGI.html
    ... both irritant and allergenic reactions have been reported following contact with various fungi or their extractives. No one group of compounds can be incriminated as being a characteristic cause of a fungus-induced dermatosis. Dermatological effects following deliberate or inadvertent ingestion of certain fungi have also been reported. These include ergotism from Claviceps purpurea Tul. (fam. Clavicipitaceae) and the disulfiram-like reaction following the ingestion of alcohol and ink cap fungi (Coprinus atramentarius Fr., fam. Coprinaceae).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭[ Daithí ]

I'm against most kinds of drugs, but I feel that magic mushrooms should be legal.

However, fried button mushrooms are the only ones for me. ¬_¬

Feck, I want a fry now.