Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open Satellite Tonight (23/3)

• 23-03-2005 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭

I presume this is in or around last chance saloon for a ticket. Is anyone else going to have a bash?

I'm regged. I see Karl of the Hoff is also registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

what time does it start at? I may be forced to get involved...if only to help pay for your ticket ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

2100 hours soldier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

shhhh!

was hoping only ten would reg and we'd have a stt for the ticket :p

see ya tonight lads!

DapperGent wrote:
    2100 hours soldier.

excellent, presuming I can persuade my nancy generals to get a move on I should have wiped out the barbarian horde at that point and be ready to start dominating a poker table instead!

and still get home in time for supper :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

is this on paddy power?

My skin is VC. I think it's on all the tribeca sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

I'll be there under my PPP alias of BigSynergy. Only going to use my VC skin for ring games from now on.

Good luck all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Was thinking of giving this a try and last night decided to try a €4 qualifier to it. So as ever I sit down and try and decide who is tight-solid, agressive and a maniac. It was pretty easy. 8 maniacs and me sitting in a total gamble fest. I fully expect tonights €36 to be just as bad but I might risk a buy-in. Honestly who are these head-the-balls that want to play in this thing. Worst of all one of them will get to the final table of the Irish Open deriding solid players by saying "ye have te gamble jimmy. It's poker, ye have to gamble."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Good Luck lads ....the bubble hurts :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Culchie wrote:
    Good Luck lads ....the bubble hurts :(

Too true. Two Fitz regulars I spoke to played the $36 last week - one on Sat = 2nd and one on Wed = 3rd.

Bummer.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I am playing tonight.....username Paul Larkin.I won a ticket in one of the $1 MTT

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Well I signed up. Here goes. GL all.

No luck for me...came 54th,I did not catch many hands all night.

How did the rest of you lot do...?

went out 33rd when I went alll-in preflop and was called by two players

Hand id : 2715196-91
    Board cards : Kc 4h Ad 2c 6h

Side pot 1 : 900
    collins2 ....... 2d Ah
    golly ....... 8s 8c

collins2 wins 900 with Two Pair: Aces and 2s

Main pot : 6,540
    collins2 ....... 2d Ah
    Kag ....... Qd Ac
    golly ....... 8s 8c

collins2 wins 6,540 with Two Pair: Aces and 2s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

DapperGent is at the final table!!
    Seems the entireity of boards is watching him - do us proud Dapper :)

D'oh. :(

Went out in 42nd place. Low stacked went all-in with A8o in late position. Called by the big blind after some thought. I don't think he was getting good odds to call. Anway he calls with K3 and hits a pair of 3s. And guess what he qualified for the Irish Open. My predictions yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

BigDragon wrote:
    Too true. Two Fitz regulars I spoke to played the $36 last week - one on Sat = 2nd and one on Wed = 3rd.

Bummer.

Gggrrrrr ...BigBat from Wicklow was second on the Saturday, knocking me out in 3rd, my QK out with his Q7, hitting two 7's on the flop....very aggressive player.

I was on his table at start of tourney as well, and he got some incredible breaks...3 in a row to build a nice stack early on.

Once he got to the last 2, he gave the impression he would rather the $1900 in cash rather than the seat ... then again with $1900 he can near enough pay the registration fee anyway with a little top up, if that's what he wants to do with his dosh.

I see Dapper made the final table last night ...well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Great representation last night all. Pity none of us could make it through. Anybody know who got the seats in the end, my software crashed and I couldn't get back in. Lets hope some of us have a better run in the evemts at the weekend.

Well done lads and tough one Dapper....nice for one of us to get so far. happy with how i played, went out ~35th when my all in on the button with JJ got called by A7 :( if he had of folded or not spiked an ace i caould have been a contender!

enjoyable tourney though and great to see the crowd cheering on Dapper :)

anyone up for some SNGs or €25 HCGA after the freeroll to ease the pain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Echoed here. Fantastic game. Unlucky Dapper. DeltaDawn and Gaverty Join Mark Mac as the three PPP qualifiers. We are chuffed. Well done the Paddy's !!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Echoed here. Fantastic game. Unlucky Dapper. DeltaDawn and Gaverty Join Mark Mac as the three PPP qualifiers. We are chuffed. Well done the Paddy's !!!!

/chancing arm ;)

Now we all know that the Boards.ie poker forum pulls considerable weight in regard to new/novice poker players throughout Ireland. You only have to look at the daily discussion to see that. With this in mind and the recent emergence of PPP, I think it would be a wise move for PPP to 'sponsor' a boards.ie member (and not Dev!) into the Irish Open.

Such a move would guarentee a 'favourable' slant towards PPP regarding additional online players and more than make up for the 'small' entry fee.

So what about it.

p.s. obviously poker moderators would be the one to send - get a better perspective and be an authority in recommending PPP in the future ;)

Hyzepher ---- always contactable - especially this weekend

btw - this is a serious offer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Hyzepher wrote:
    /chancing arm ;)

Now we all know that the Boards.ie poker forum pulls considerable weight in regard to new/novice poker players throughout Ireland. You only have to look at the daily discussion to see that. With this in mind and the recent emergence of PPP, I think it would be a wise move for PPP to 'sponsor' a boards.ie member (and not Dev!) into the Irish Open.

Such a move would guarentee a 'favourable' slant towards PPP regarding additional online players and more than make up for the 'small' entry fee.

So what about it.

p.s. obviously poker moderators would be the one to send - get a better perspective and be an authority in recommending PPP in the future ;)

Hyzepher ---- always contactable - especially this weekend

btw - this is a serious offer
    Indeed ;0) and you wouldnt believe the amount of "wonderful" and "beneficial" sponsorship requests I have received from.. well quite franky EVERYONE in Ireland. Is it not enough that I read your wonderful posts every day, pondor on your desires and whims and try to find ways to fit them into the schedule. That I care truly ;o) and that I myself have not been permitted sponsorship ;0(

I have nothing on this weekend....:D I would wear a PP hat,jumper G String what ever it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

PPP-Pit Boss,

Quick question. I got a ticket for the Donnacha O'Dea workshop from yourselves last night (did well last night with the pizza also, nice touch btw and Ross-host deserves credit, or a raise for good customer care work).

Any idea of the structure, length of time, hwo many will attend, that kind of thing. just wondering as I don't want to travel all that way if its just a 10 min interview.

Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭podgeen

I'd even take a sponsered entry into one of the satellites :)

i think 2K is extremely cheap for the amount of people who have gone to PPP through boards! i actually presumed boards would get a buyin to use as a prize or sumthin.

of course it should go to the person who's topping the online league (even if it is by alphabetical order!)....the only fair way to judge IMO :p

Good idea Karl but it really should be the form player of the online league. i.e. the current best points for March whoever that may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

musician wrote:
    Good idea Karl but it really should be the form player of the online league. i.e. the current best points for March whoever that may be.
    If you had sat out again you might have got points for last tuesday too!