Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At which point would you wear Sunglasses?

• 23-03-2005 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

I'm starting to see a few pairs of sunglasses at the Fitz and wondered when I might wear them?

As someone once said in reference to Bono "Only blind people and assholes wear sunglasses indoors"

When would you start wearing Sunglasses? 28 votes

Fitz Freeroll
    0%
    Fitz 100
    25%
    RasTaCorben DallasMarathon_ManDoc FarrellDeLaBassjtsuitedpokerpaddy 7 votes
    Fitz 250
    10%
    BrendanBJuan PabloNickyOD 3 votes
    Irish Open
    3%
    JuliusFranco 1 vote
    EPT Event
    28%
    karlhWaylanderDapperGentDub13bohsmanwillisdeadbeatroryc 8 votes
    WPT Event
    17%
    LafortezzaShortstackBigDragonRustySpoonspectre 5 votes
    WSOP
    3%
    KevIRL 1 vote
    Never
    10%
    Jaden][cEMAN**Rodge 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

hell no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I honestly don't believe someone at the poker table will be able to tell your cards from your pupil dilations. I know there are tells by your demeanour (like scratching your nose or such ****) but if anyone can honestly say they called some monster raise because of a players eyes, I'd be shocked.

Personally I'll never wear them, unless its an outdoor tournie in Aruba.

off topic, playing the 20 game couple of weeks ago, luke and myself were at the same table. Guy comes to our table with huge stack. Couple of hands later hes on the BB. UTG was thinking about calling (blinds were huge at this stage) when BB looks at his cards and goes to grab a load of chips. Myself and Luke looked at each other and nearly burst out laughing. UTG calls, I muck AQ and luke doesn't complete the SB. Course yer man raises big time and shows the pocket rockets. He wasn't wearing shades :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

EPT Event
    I'd wear them if I thought they would improve my game sufficiently to repay me for the amount of a spa I felt. I don't actually think this is possible though.

I think the main benefit they have is making the wearer fell safe and comfortable when under scruntiny, I don't think I have a problem there and I don't really know if they prevent you giving away "tells" either.

Most of them come from cards you play and patterns unless of course you're looking down and to the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

WPT Event
    I'd have no problem wearing them in an event with a bigger buy-in than the Fitz events. Not a chance in hell I'd wear them in the Fitz, anyone who does usually gets many scornful looks and zero respect. Might wear some in the freeroll for the laugh though.

Sunglasses let you look at people without them knowing that you're looking. It also makes it trickier for people to try and figure you out. They also make you look like a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭hamiltron

I have never worn them, but a lot of people say that the idea is not so much to prevent others from reading you, it's to let you look at others without them being so accutely aware that they are being watched.

Of course there may be an added feeling of being safe behind your shades that might make you seem more confident...

That said, I don't think I would wear them anywhere they were not worn by at least a quarter of the players (and I've never been in that situation).

Ham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

I wonder how much attention people pay to your facial expressions really...most of it is something they read in a book or online..

"If he doesn't make eye contact then he's bluffing, if he holds his hand over his mouth he's bluffing"

"if he's looking directly at you and smiling then he's a freak....he's also probably got good cards but the important thing is he's a freak"

Regardless of whether I'm bluffing, trapping or holding the nuts I pick the same spot on the table or wall and look at it as though I've discovered the meaning of life engraved in it. I also tend to hold my chin in my hand or steeple my fingers...a couple of weeks ago I was playing a tournament and I hit the stone cold nuts on the flop, I checked and completed the bets on the flop and turn and then reraised the last guy all-in on the river.

He sat there for ages, as I studied the table intently, I swear I saw the visage of our lord there and was completely enthralled by the image. So this guy loudly announces "you have none of it, can't even look me in the eye" and calls. Those are the moments I live for :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Thinking of wearing them on saturday, definitely wearing them at the WSOP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Fitz 250
    I rocked the shades for the first time on Friday for the laugh. Got a bit of stick from Cecil and the rest which was grand as it put the table in a good mood early doors. After a few hours my eyes hurt so they were canned. Made no difference to my game. Everyone at my home game wore them on Monday for the crack. Led to a few misreads and they were gradually phased out by the end of the night. Dunno if i'd be bothered, unless my sixth eyelash on my left eye quivered as I raise under the gun with a monster like 2s4s :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Fitz 250
    careca wrote:
    I honestly don't believe someone at the poker table will be able to tell your cards from your pupil dilations.

Well there's a lot more to it than that. I always wear shades and the main reason is I do not want anyone to know exactly where I am looking. If someone looks to their left before playing a hand, they are often checking out the sizes of the stacks and may be trying to steal. If you hit the flop it is human instinct to take a look at the card you hit for a little longer than usual. I can't admit to saying I believe I can tell when someone has hit the flop from their eyes because I'll get slated on this site, but, well, I remember watching Andy Bloch on T.V. once where he played a hand against a player I didn't know and Andy was out of position. When the flop came up they both just looked at eachother. Andy checked without looking at the flop, forcing his oponent to take a look. I think if you are not first to act on the flop you should alway be looking at your opoentent(s) as the cards come up and try to get as much info as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Spiritus

I wear them when playing online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Fitz 100
    I'm a bit surprised by these responses. I will wear massive shades at any tournament where there will be weak players. I'm not risking my stack on their playing habits as they could be nervous or completely erratic. I've seen quality players get knocked out because they weren't paying attention to the weaker players physical mannerisms. If you're wearing shades these weaker players won't feel like they're being watched, and won't get freaked out and start acting in a way you can't understand.
    In a tournament if you watch certain players for the first hour, it is absolutely undeniably easier to put them on a hand when it matters. In a game of psychology, it makes no sense to not take advantage of everything. If that means looking a bit silly so be it. the majority of people i've seen playing poker look a bit silly anyway. Not exactly the best dressed people in the world!
    Maybe it's not for some. But shades definitely increase your chances of catching tells and putting someone on a hand. At least in my experience.
    However wearing reflective stupid looking oakleys is pointless as their too fricking dark. Nice tinted set of aviators and you're laughing.
    bobby Baldwin stylee!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I suggest trying this

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

EPT Event
    The only time I wear shades is in the bath.....and sometimes in the shower,it works well for me.

If you cant take the heat of someone looking at you well IMO you are in the wrong game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Never
    Iago wrote:
    So this guy loudly announces "you have none of it, can't even look me in the eye" and calls. Those are the moments I live for :D

I may be looking at the wrong references, but I thought it was - if he stares at you he's trying to bully you ie. put you off calling/raising. If he looks away and tries not to affect you at all, he's trying to pull you into a big bet.

If he acts meak he's got a hand - if he acts strong he's bluffing. Isn't that the case? (not just refering to 'rounders' there either).

Never
    jtsuited wrote:
    In a game of psychology, it makes no sense to not take advantage of everything. If that means looking a bit silly so be it. the majority of people i've seen playing poker look a bit silly anyway.

I haven't played a live game yet, but I wouldn't be against wearing sunglasses if I thought it helped my game.

If I were to sit down at a table and worry about what others thought of me, then I may as well start feeling guilty when I lift someone's entire stack.

Neither of which are going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 lordofthetilt

Personally I feel like an asshole wearing sunglasses while walking down the street on a really sunny day so there's no way I'd wear them in a game.

However I think they could be helpful. Acording to Mad Mike Caro the biggest tell when someone flops big is to either
    a:) glance quickly at their chips(how am I going to double through here)
    b:) glance quickly at their opponents chips(how much can I win of them)

This plus the aforementioned 'don't want to be caught staring at fish' reason means that they could well be profitable.

Then again dying your hair pink or playing in a sting vest may distract poeple and prove profitable so it back to eejit status vrs profitability.

Personally I feel like an asshole wearing sunglasses while walking down the street on a really sunny day so there's no way I'd wear them in a game.

However I think they could be helpful. Acording to Mad Mike Caro the biggest tell when someone flops big is to either
    a:) glance quickly at their chips(how am I going to double through here)
    b:) glance quickly at their opponents chips(how much can I win of them)

This plus the aforementioned 'don't want to be caught staring at fish' reason means that they could well be profitable.

Then again dying your hair pink or playing in a sting vest may distract poeple and prove profitable so it back to eejit status vrs profitability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

WPT Event
    scargill wrote:

"These glasses are AWESOME!!! The quality is excellent!! Imagine your fellow players 'attempting' to read you...when all thats staring back at them is a pair of LIZARD EYES!!"

No!! Not LIZARD EYES!!!!1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

He He. if only I had a pair of them and a strap on dorsal fin, I might get some respect in the fitz!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

WPT Event
    I have to admit I felt less like people could read me at the EPT when I had my shades on. I only wore them for the second & 3rd days. I used to be of the opinion that I didn't need them and wouldn't be seen dead at a poker table in them, but after trying it I have to say I will wear them again. If you ever make a TV final table then you want them because of the lights anyway.

Rayban is my choice..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

BigDragon wrote:

Suits you sir.

Personally I think it's a load of balls. I don't have a problem with players wearing them but I think players who do are suffering from a lack of confidence.

Most of the top players don't wear sunglasses:

Erik Seidel
    Phil Ivey
    Howard Lederer
    Gus Hanson
    T.J Cloutier
    Dewey Tomko
    Dan Harrington
    Men The Master
    Daniel Negreanu
    Annie Duke
    Barry Greenstein
    Antonio Esfandiari
    Paul Phillips
    Erick Lindgren
    Layne Flack

Need I go on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Fitz 100
    NickyOD wrote:
    Well there's a lot more to it than that. I always wear shades and the main reason is I do not want anyone to know exactly where I am looking. If someone looks to their left before playing a hand, they are often checking out the sizes of the stacks and may be trying to steal. If you hit the flop it is human instinct to take a look at the card you hit for a little longer than usual. I can't admit to saying I believe I can tell when someone has hit the flop from their eyes because I'll get slated on this site, but, well, I remember watching Andy Bloch on T.V. once where he played a hand against a player I didn't know and Andy was out of position. When the flop came up they both just looked at eachother. Andy checked without looking at the flop, forcing his oponent to take a look. I think if you are not first to act on the flop you should alway be looking at your opoentent(s) as the cards come up and try to get as much info as possible.

I've only worn them twice in the Fitz and both times I've won the tourneys. But the big problem is actually seeing the cards and chip colours. It really is a problem and unless the lighting is good it's probably a terminal problem. But being able to sit back and watch gives you a certain feeling of invisibility which helps.
    But I don't think I'll be wearing them often only because the light isnt strong enough for me. If it was bright and the money was gettting serious then on they go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

EPT Event
    Like Shortstack, I wore them once while playing in a big tournie, and felt that they helped my game a good bit. I would wear them again for any big tournaments I play in but would not wear them for a regular game. I disagree that they signify a lack of confidence Davey, and there are also a fair few names out there who do wear them, including the winner of last years world series (if you classify them as shades).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

I haven't wore them myself but one of my fav players does -The devilfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Fitz 250
    Suits you sir.

Personally I think it's a load of balls. I don't have a problem with players wearing them but I think players who do are suffering from a lack of confidence.

Erik Seidel
    Phil Ivey
    Howard Lederer
    Gus Hanson
    T.J Cloutier
    Dewey Tomko
    Dan Harrington
    Men The Master
    Daniel Negreanu
    Annie Duke
    Barry Greenstein
    Antonio Esfandiari
    Paul Phillips
    Erick Lindgren
    Layne Flack

Need I go on?

John Juanda
    Phil Ivey
    David Williams
    Greg Raymer
    Stu Unger
    Hasan Habib
    David Ulliot
    Padraig Parkinson
    Chris Ferguson
    Johnny Chan
    Phil Helmuth

All shaded and a ****load of WSOP bracelets between them. I don't think you could say any of these guys suffer from a lack of confidence.

Never
    Suits you sir.

Yet the last 2 winners of the WSOP (2003/2004) both have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

NickyOD wrote:
    John Juanda
    Phil Ivey
    David Williams
    Greg Raymer
    Stu Unger
    Hasan Habib
    David Ulliot
    Padraig Parkinson
    Chris Ferguson
    Johnny Chan
    Phil Helmuth

All shaded and a ****load of WSOP bracelets between them. I don't think you could say any of these guys suffer from a lack of confidence.

My list beats your list. :D

Stu probably only wore sunnies cause he was hanging all the time and as far as I know Phil Ivey doesn't wear them. I've seen Phil in action alot and I've never seen him with them on.

Jem, I wouldn't so much say Devilfish wears the sunnies for an advantage but more just to be cool. He always has them half way down his nose anyway, so they may aswell not be there.

The last 2 WSOP champs might have worn glasses but one was an average player at best and as for Raymer well he just looked like an idiot with those things on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Actually Phil said he only ever wore sunglasses once. He said they caused him to misread his hand and lose a thousand dollar pot. He never wore them again after that. I did see a clip of Phil wearing sunglasses and Im not sure if that was the time he was refering to. I definately think sunglasses give an advantage in poker. wheter that advantahe offsets the fact that you look like a dick ( unless your one of those real eccentric guys or a wsop winner ) I'm not to sure. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Also many players who dont wear sunglasses like Amarillo slim, Doyle brunson and Dan Harrington actually wear hats for the same reason, to shield their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

EPT Event
    Id wear them in bigger tournaments just so I could look around without it being too obvious where I was looking, much the same way ill have headphones in but not neccesarilly listening to music

Phil Ivey lost a $10,000 pot misreading his hand and went on to throw away his $1000 sunglasses