Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My life is a daytime soap right now.

• 23-03-2005 10:07AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭

Please indulge me I just need to vent.

Saturday, I twisted my ankle & remained laid up for the rest of the weekend. I ended up ringing in sick on Monday because I was still unable to walk on it.

Monday between nine a.m. & one p.m. I recieve ten phone calls from work. My boss has given my mobile number to anyone who asked for it, this has resulted in calls like "I'm locked out of my account". To my mobile. When I'm not in the office. How dumb are these people.

Tuesday morning, my wife faints on the dart, as she's busy collapsing, no-one goes to her aid, they look at her with the look of "I hope she doesn't puke on me", I catch her just in time & end up bodyshoving people who won't move out of the way & stand there looking at us, not assisting in any way. Seriously, have you ever felt the dead weight of a person when they faint?

I call her office & tell them I'm bringing her home, then I call my office & tell them I'll be late & the reason why, they don't ask how she is, just "OK see you as soon as possible", I get the impression it's more of a command than a statement.

This job is seriously draining my will to live. I'm beginning to hate it. I'm trying to get a PSV now & am waiting, and waiting, and waiting... I'm giving up a lifetime (in a work sense) of working with computers (& a position as an IT Manager) to drive a taxi. I may be burnt out.

About two hours later I get into the office & get a call from my mother, my sister's partner has gone missing. His sister killed herself about a year ago, his cousin did it four years ago, & he's been on the verge of a breakdown ever since, denying it the whole way. He's missing for a total of nine hours when he's found there's a pipe leading from his exhaust into his car. It's touch and go, but he survived it. Their relationship won't though. They've just bought a house and moved in three weeks ago. She held it together yesterday, but I think she's facing her own breakdown today. Her world has literally just exploded.

That's all, I just need to put it down & try to get it out. Thanks for listening/reading. helpful comments will be read and appreciated, unhelpful ones will not.

:eek: You really should be a taxi driver. imagine being in the back seat listening to that!
    Best of luck though and fair play for not going postal...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

iMax wrote:
    Tuesday morning, my wife faints on the dart, as she's busy collapsing, no-one goes to her aid, they look at her with the look of "I hope she doesn't puke on me", I catch her just in time & end up bodyshoving people who won't move out of the way & stand there looking at us, not assisting in any way.

we were once a very helpful people, something terrible has change in the last 20 years or so, I come from the country, maybe that's different, but I do remember fainting once and 6 people were around me in no time to help.
    would that happen now? I don't think so

but I think she's facing her own breakdown today. Her world has literally just exploded

awfully sad, I hope her partner gets some professional help?

good luck with the taxi job, it can't possibly be worse and at least you will be your own boss and can work your own hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

The DART is notoriously souless. I'm sure other places might be different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

iMax wrote:
    Monday between nine a.m. & one p.m. I recieve ten phone calls from work. My boss has given my mobile number to anyone who asked for it, this has resulted in calls like "I'm locked out of my account". To my mobile. When I'm not in the office. How dumb are these people.
    They’re not dumb. Either they’re under the false assumption that they have 24/7 support and yours was the number they had or maybe they’re chancing their arm that you’ll be too polite to tell them to fuck off.

Either way if there was no agreement with you on your being on call on Monday, then your boss was at the very least highly irresponsible. Even if you use a company phone (and if not I’d go through him for a shortcut for that alone), dropping you in it without telling you could have resulted in a support call on a Saturday night - After 12 pints.

That would no doubt have made your company look very professional.

Nonetheless, such behaviour is unacceptable and given that and your decision to leave that job anyway I would suggest venting at your boss. I suspect you’ll find it far more edifying than doing so here.

And good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Jimmeny

I'm not sure if you should vent to your boss. For me the jury is out on whether complaining does any good or just brings up the bad feelings again. I recently received what I thought was a bum deal while renting a house down the country. We basically got overcharged. What annoyed me was that they bullied my sister out of the extra money. I rang up and ranted. The result was that I got even more angry. If you have ever tried to win an argument while angry - you'll know what happens next. I'd preach keeping it all in a tight little ball at the pit of your stomach. Ranting at your boss really won't solve anything. Far better to leave on good terms - explaining that you just want something different.

Fair play to you for getting a taxi license. That really is taking matters into your own hands. I really admire people who do something other than just gripe about their situation expecting someone else to fix it.

cheers

James

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Beruthiel wrote:
    we were once a very helpful people, something terrible has change in the last 20 years or so, I come from the country, maybe that's different, but I do remember fainting once and 6 people were around me in no time to help.
    would that happen now? I don't think so

Luckily the charter frowns on one pointing out that perhaps it's not society which has changed for the worst in those intervening twenty years and so I certainly won't be doing that ;)

What can I say iMax, at least you seem to know what you want out of life, even if life seems to be taking the piss out of you at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Jimmeny wrote:
    I'm not sure if you should vent to your boss. For me the jury is out on whether complaining does any good or just brings up the bad feelings again.
    You're probably right, but he also should probably do something about what his boss did, otherwise it'll continue happening until he finally leaves.
    I really admire people who do something other than just gripe about their situation expecting someone else to fix it.
    You'd hate moderating the Mobiles / PDAs board then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Jimmeny

You're probably right, but he also should probably do something about what his boss did, otherwise it'll continue happening until he finally leaves.

Maybe your right. Its tricky to do that without getting into a big bun-fight. I'm sure his boss was just annoyed that he was making life more difficult for him.

Its no ones fault that he twisted his ankle - but I assume that he is getting paid for the day. Its not really all that unreasonable to expect that he take a few calls at home. Where he went wrong was maybe telling him /asking him first. That really isn't a hanging offence.

I don't think anyone is really to blame here. Its just that he isn't enjoying his job. The taxi thing will surely help.

How about telling his boss that he is feeling the pressure. Maybe even sharing the taxi idea with him. Writing it all down often helps too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

I don't get paid for sick days (have to be there a year). To be totally honest, I didn't mind the first couple of calls, because they were senior management. It was when it got down to the level of management (my level) calling, one in particular who is so completly computer illliterate it's actually not funny, it's like he has a learning difficulty with it. He seems to be able to completly bluff his way through things & then expects me to sort things for him when I'm lying on my sofa with a bag of frozen peas strapped to my ankle (we were out of ice mmmkay?)

No way I'll be sharing the taxi idea. with anyone, I'm literally going to be good to go & give the required notice (hoping it's two weeks.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

iMax, I'm nearly sure that they can't restrict sick leave to staff members with over a years service. A quick google throws this up but I'm sure someone on the work board would be able to confirm.

As regards the phone calls, my initial reaction wouold be similar to The Corinthian's but i'm not sure that would benefit you at all. If it happens again just don't answer! :)

I hope it all works out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Definately have a go at your boss for giving out your personal number. I am often on call - for which I have a company mobile, and I have also given my personal mobile number to a select few colleagues for use in an emergency.

This is with the implicit understanding that they will only use it for such - and certainly not pass it on to anyone who would abuse it.

What he did is unacceptable - call him on it. If you dont stand up to him he will just take the piss more. (Im assuming you are going to be there long enough for it to matter, which I doubt!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

Jimmeny wrote:
    How about telling his boss that he is feeling the pressure. Maybe even sharing the taxi idea with him. Writing it all down often helps too.

If they know iMax is thinking of leaving he'll become the company doormat until he's gone - bad idea.

Tell your boss that if he wants you on call then he needs to give you a company phone. And if you are on call you're entitled to get paid for it afaik. Something worth looking into but tbh its sounds like a really sh*ty company to work for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

They say that no one is indisposable. However I bet that another person in your job, wouldnt pick up the phone on an unpaid sick day.
    You show commitment to your job and your not getting anything back.

The PSV licence would be a nice short term escape to relax for a while, but are you the type of person who thrives on a busy working life and deadlines?

If thats the case you should really have something else, (a small mobile IT business or something...??) to keep you going.

I would most definitley recommend looking for another job anyways in your current field, preferably a large "young" company, which IT is the hub of the business and respected as such. Or something that involves some alternative project work on top of IT, to keep you interested and motivated.

There are companies out there who will respect what you have to offer, and appreciate certain personal circumstances withi reason, because they understand that if they lose you, they loose a major part of their organisation and dont appreciate staff turnover.

My advice is to keep all your options open until the licence comes through adn then decide what you really want.

On the personal life side of things...

I cant understand why bad things always happen together and perhaps this has excentuated the stress levels associated with your job/ or higlighted that your family life needs some room too. Its up to you to find something that will give you that room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Update... I think I'm going to have to tell them sooner rather than later that I'm going. There's a huge project coming up that they want me to take ownership for, If I proceed & tell them at the last minute, it'll leave them just started it with me having done the training & then bogging off.

My wife is now grand thankfully.

Sister's partner is now recieving treatment, although she's unsure of where their relationship is going, she's happy that he's going to get the correct care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

phlematic wrote:
    The DART is notoriously souless. I'm sure other places might be different.

was on the dart about 6 weeks ago on my way to work, this d00d starts having a fit, i was at the far end of the dart, Now his partner looked paniced and she seemd to frezze, all the people sitting around him just got up and walked away .... I went up did the first aid thingy for him , got the train stopped and ambulence called, i then went back to get my bag and stuff,

as i'm walking down all i hear from some heartless and dumb ahole, " typical , why can't he of had the fit once he got off the dart". I just launched into a verbal volcano on him ... he wasn't joking , he mean every word he said....

Thing is , i treat people how i would like to be treated, but it would seem i am a freak for this now :mad: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

iMax wrote:
    Update... I think I'm going to have to tell them sooner rather than later that I'm going. There's a huge project coming up that they want me to take ownership for, If I proceed & tell them at the last minute, it'll leave them just started it with me having done the training & then bogging off.

Why? What do you owe them .. sounds like you have a chance to take advantage of them the way they have been taking advantage of you. If you think the training is going to be at all useful in the future - take the training and then tell them you are off. Treat them with the contempt that they have been treating you.

Glad the personal stuff is starting to sort itself out.