Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On-Line MTT's

• 23-03-2005 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

I'm interested in why some websites seem to run extremely successful MTT's and why others don't.

You look at Ladbrokes and Pokerstars, thousands enter their MTT's.

Party Poker (and it's various skins) with arguably the largest player base in the world has a pathetic selection of MTT's, a few a week that's all.

The Tribeca sites also seem to struggle (VC, PPP etc...), they may get 100 or so, but rarely more.

Is it simply a case that each site devises their offer to a specific market (e.g VC, PPP lower stake cash games) or what do you think?

I suppose from my own point of view the MTT on the Tribeca sites becomes an all in fest very quickly due to the rapid rate that the blinds increase compared to Pokerstars or Ladbrokes ... so therein may lie the answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Really? I haven't played Party Poker since losing my DSL connection (moved apartments) a month ago, but they certainly had a good dozen (at least) MTT each day. Over a thousand would play in each of the smaller stakes freezeouts each day. There is not much variety (all freezeouts IIRC, some speed tournies) but I don't think the MTT situation at Party Poker is quite as lacklusture as you paint it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I will stand corrected, myabe I'm looking in the wrong place.

I know they have what they call multi tourneys of 2 or 3 tables, but I haven't seen a large MTT .... other than the odd $5+$1 advertised which no-one enters.

Must look again, you have me wondering now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Lately I haven't being playing many MTTs but I can never find one I want to enter on Pokerstars or Party (I probably just need to become familiar with when the ones i'd be interested in start). VC seem to have ones starting every few minutes which might explain the low numbers. Ladbrokes and Prima can be good too and fall somewhere in between the offerings from Tribeca and Party/Stars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Culchie wrote:
    I will stand corrected, myabe I'm looking in the wrong place.

I know they have what they call multi tourneys of 2 or 3 tables, but I haven't seen a large MTT .... other than the odd $5+$1 advertised which no-one enters.

Must look again, you have me wondering now.

While waiting for the Boards tournie I played in a $5 MTT on on Party with over 1600 runners. Slow played AA and got cracked.

I definitely must be looking in wrong spot then, although I can't explain why I haven't found them... as I say when I click on the tab, it does show the odd tournament, but certainly not a serious choice.

I was using Party as a example, I rarely play it . It's mad trying to get a seat at the STT NL, you need to be so quick off the mark doubleclicking until you get lucky, and then half the time end up on a limit or pot limit game :rolleyes:

Yep, you are definitely looking in the wrong place :) You are accessing the 'multi-table' part of the STT section, rather than the MTT section proper. All of the $5 + $1 MTTs get over 1000 runners...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

When it comes to MTTs I can't recommend Full Tilt poker enough. I've been there a year and they are still relatively new. The number of players on the site means the MTTs have not huge numbers but not too small either so you're not grinding it out for hours against 1000 players in a lottery but you are still getting a good value for your time. There are also a lot of big name pros affialiated with the site who play in the tourneys including Bust out bonanzas where they have bounties. (Phil Ivey, Chrise Ferguson, Clonnie Gowen, Howard Lederer, John Juanda, Andy Bloch and more) I evn got to play a $10 SnG with Eric Siedel. There MTT blinds structure is also in my opinion the best on the net.

15/30
    20/40
    25/50
    30/60
    40/80
    50/100
    80/160
    100/200
    120/240/25
    150/300/25
    200/400/50
    250/300/50
    300/600/75
    400/800/100
    500/1000/125
    600/1200/150
    800/1600/200
    1000/2000/250
    1200/2400/300
    1500/3000/400........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Rodge

Culchie wrote:
    I definitely must be looking in wrong spot then, although I can't explain why I haven't found them... as I say when I click on the tab, it does show the odd tournament, but certainly not a serious choice.

I was using Party as a example, I rarely play it . It's mad trying to get a seat at the STT NL, you need to be so quick off the mark doubleclicking until you get lucky, and then half the time end up on a limit or pot limit game :rolleyes:

THe tab you are looking for is a little lower down than the one you click to get the 3 or 4 table tournaments. Its called tournaments and there is regular or special. In regular you will find the normal mtt's with some massive prizes but with over 1000 people in it, it has to be a lottery.

Special is where you will find the player points freerolls and satellites to the quarter million and million guaranteed tournaments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Party's MTT tournament structure ranks amongst the worst out there although the play is mostly terrible. Having said that I made a good profit last year out of them !
    I would recommend honing your skills on Pokerstars where the quality of play is generally higher and then using that experience to go and clean up on some of the softer sites. Betfair, William Hill & any other Cryptologic skins seem ripe for the picking. I have just started on Betfair and have made the money or final table in 7/8 MTT's so far, still haven't got into top 3 though for any decent money (not going to mention some of the beats!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

The Tribeca MTT's (PPP, VC, etc) have been good to me but I pretty much only play the 7.5K game once a week and a few $1 sat's to other sat's (Irish Open, VC Cup etc).

The main difficulty I have is that a lot of the MTT's have quite short levels (approx 8-10 mins) which I think are too short.

The 7.5K has a level of 15 mins allowing you to settle in and get to know the table and get to the break without rebuying like some people go mad doing.

For the record, the 7.5k last night had 179 runners, but alot of the names are regulars so you get to know their play and can avoid alot of dodgy situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

I particularly like the 1.5K guaranteed game on Tribeca. $25 Freezeout, normally around 70-80 players. 12 minute blind levels, and first place is normally between $650-$800. 9th gets you $60.........even if you are kicking your screen in frustration for having played that long for a measly $32.50 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

NickyOD wrote:
    There are also a lot of big name pros affialiated with the site who play in the tourneys including Bust out bonanzas where they have bounties. (Phil Ivey, Chrise Ferguson, Clonnie Gowen, Howard Lederer, John Juanda, Andy Bloch and more)

Not being smart here but who the fcuk is Clonnie Gowen ? I know all the others but never heard of him/her (delete whichever is applicable).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Iago wrote:
    I particularly like the 1.5K guaranteed game on Tribeca. $25 Freezeout, normally around 70-80 players. 12 minute blind levels, and first place is normally between $650-$800. 9th gets you $60.........even if you are kicking your screen in frustration for having played that long for a measly $32.50 :D

What time does that start Iago ? Is it on every night ?

careca wrote:
    What time does that start Iago ? Is it on every night ?

They run a couple of them each night. There's one at around 9 and another one starts at 11. (there may be one at 6-7 but I'm not normally home in time for that)

They have a $2k guaranteed that runs every couple of hours as well, but that only has 8 minute blind levels and I'm not as keen on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Rodge

careca wrote:
    Not being smart here but who the fcuk is Clonie Gowen ? I know all the others but never heard of her.

I saw her on a WPT final table the other night and Sexton was saying that she is one the worlds best cash game players. Phil Hellmuth said something similar in a little interview snippet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Clonie Gowen is a terrible player. I've only seen her play once in the WPT womens invitational which she won but she was total cack. Making moves like going all-in in unraised pots for *30 the BB with hands like K7o.

P.S What would Hellmuth know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Iago wrote:
    Thats a lovely tournament. It's been good to me too. :)

There's a good payout for doing well and it doesn't take a monstrous amount of time to play out. I like it.

Clonie Gowen is a terrible player. I've only seen her play once in the WPT womens invitational which she won but she was total cack. Making moves like going all-in in unraised pots for *30 the BB with hands like K7o.

P.S What would Hellmuth know?

I agree. She's no Lucy Rokach that's for sure. I've never seen her finish ITM or even near it in an online MTT.

Hand id : 2752615-22
    Board cards : 4d 5d 9c 2d 3d

Main pot : 5,100
    frenchgirl62 ....... Ad Ks
    golly ....... Kd 6d

golly wins 5,100 with Straight Flush 65432 (6 kicker)

sweet :D

Iago wrote:
    Hand id : 2752615-22
    Board cards : 4d 5d 9c 2d 3d

Main pot : 5,100
    frenchgirl62 ....... Ad Ks
    golly ....... Kd 6d

golly wins 5,100 with Straight Flush 65432 (6 kicker)

sweet :D

Poor girl had the "butt flush" (nut flush with possible SF on board)

no wait 2 SFs. nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

whatever about her play , clonie has a nice lookin chassy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Iago wrote:
    Just a quick heads up for you.. I know you guys were looking for more reaonably priced Frieezeouts so I have set up one starting on the 1st April at 9pm it is a $20 Freezeout with a $1,000 guarunteed prize pool. I have also taken your suggestions and givenit 12 minute rounds so I hope that satisfies! (Bear in mind that the max is 15). It is Paddy Power Specific by the way so you wont be able to access it from the other network partners. We have a host of others starting soon also (the two days after there will be two $50 giveaways) anyway I will keep you posted. And keep the suggestions coming!

I haven't played on PPP before. What sort of sign up bonuses are you offering. Can I deposit with Neteller? What buy-in (structure) WSOP sats are you running?

Pit Boss ... Good Move !!

This has been my biggest hang-up on PPP ....fair play to you, I think you will see some heavy numbers participating in these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

NickyOD wrote:
    I haven't played on PPP before. What sort of sign up bonuses are you offering. Can I deposit with Neteller? What buy-in (structure) WSOP sats are you running?
    Hi Nicky.. there are variations on sign up bonus'but for this group "the poker elite" ;0) I recommend using the code: "dnutz" this will give you $50 dollars after you have accrued 2.5k action points. As for the WSOP sats.. check out:
    http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/t_promotions.php
    This should give you an idea of what is on offer.. (is that ok to post urls?)

Hi Nicky.. there are variations on sign up bonus'but for this group "the poker elite" ;0) I recommend using the code: "dnutz" this will give you $50 dollars after you have accrued 2.5k action points. As for the WSOP sats.. check out:
    http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/t_promotions.php
    This should give you an idea of what is on offer.. (is that ok to post urls?)

Cool. What's the maximum bonus I can earn? I see there are World HU sats as well. I think I'll move some money there as soon I'm done bonus whoring at Full Tilt. :p

Seeing as your attention is undivided at the moment Pit Boss ...

What about an 'All Ireland' Poker championship ... you could line up the teams to play each other on the same weekend that the counties clash in the GAA championships.....or run a league.

You could run qualifiers ... people must declare (and be able to prove) their residence or county of origin?

Failing that, you might do a '25's' version rather than Omaha stuff ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Wouldn't be fair to the Dubs.
    They wouldn't be able to play as they'd be watching the team in Croker!

Why would they be in Croker watching the Kingdom win again? :) Is that some sort of masochistic pleasure thing?

there you go....this poker competition would have 'feeling'

NickyOD wrote:
    I haven't played on PPP before. What sort of sign up bonuses are you offering. Can I deposit with Neteller?

Unfortunately the do not accept neteller at the moment which is a bit short sighted. Other Tribeca sites do which is the only reason I have not activated my PPP account as I use neteller to move my money around accounts.

Shortstack wrote:
    Unfortunately the do not accept neteller at the moment which is a bit short sighted. Other Tribeca sites do which is the only reason I have not activated my PPP account as I use neteller to move my money around accounts.

Indeed it is short sighted. I haven't had to make a credit card deposit in a long time and don't ever want to again. Neteller is all I use. I huess I'll have to wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

VC get between 100 and 150 for their regular mtts because they have quite a small player base, at peak times they have around 3000 people playing wheras Party would have upwards of 30,000 I believe.

The blind structure on VC is slightly worse than most of the sites, they skip some levels that other sites use. This means that the only mtts playable (IMO) are the 15 min level ones, which is the 7.5 and the 5gtd. Even the 12min level games degenerate into all in fests after midway.

VC get between 100 and 150 for their regular mtts because they have quite a small player base, at peak times they have around 3000 people playing wheras Party would have upwards of 30,000 I believe.

The blind structure on VC is slightly worse than most of the sites, they skip some levels that other sites use. This means that the only mtts playable (IMO) are the 15 min level ones, which is the 7.5 and the 5gtd. Even the 12min level games degenerate into all in fests after midway.

You mean we actually agree on something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

The blind structure is a bit too quick on VC in most of the tournaments though I do find the 12 minute round ones to be quite playable. The thing with VC in it's a favour is the extremely short tank time (can be bad but it does speed up your hands per level) and what seems to be a culture of quick decisions amongst most of its players.

Although pokerstars has longer levels and more of them it sometimes feels like I'm actually getting less hands in than a VC tournament because everyone takes fúcking forever to act.

What I really like about the VC MTTs is strangely the fact that a lot of them are quite small, it's nice to play a 1000+ runner tournament every so often but on 'stars it seems like every tournament has that many players and commiting that amount of time to a single tournament is not something I want to do everytime. VC MTTs are nice and bitesized. :)

What the Tribeca sites really need (besides a fúcking hand history) is a few large buyin freezeouts with satellites to them. Most of the satellites are for like $36 tickets to rebuy tournaments, that's depressingly pointless.