Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dead forum after cheltenham

• 22-03-2005 6:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭

Humm so does this forum only come alive during big racing events? there has been nothing happening here for ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

is that right Mr 22 post man?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

A guy takes his monthly wages and heads to the bookies after work. He backs a few horses but they all finish second so he increases his stakes and backs a few more. They too finish second. Coming to the last race of the evening, he realises he has feck all money left and his wife is going to be majorly p1ssed off with him but he can't go home with just what he has left so he sticks it all on a 33-1 shot. The horse is 10 lengths clear but falls at the last fence. The guy who had been screaming and jumping up and down like a madman just stares at the screen and his face goes white.

He leaves like everyone else and when he's outside, it starts lashing rain. He fiddles around in his pocket for change for the bus but he doesn't have any left so he resigns himself to having to walk home in the rain for 90 minutes, face his wife and tell her that he lost his monthly wages.

As he starts walking, the sole of his shoe rips right off and starts flapping in the puddles of rain. He can't take it anymore. He just sits down on the ground and starts crying. A couple of minutes later, the bookie comes out of his shop to lock up and notices the guy sitting on the ground crying. He goes over and asks him if he's okay. The guy explains that he's lost all his money on the horses that day, that his wife is going to kill him, that he can't even afford bus fare and that he has to walk home with the sole of his shoe hanging off.

The bookie says "aw you poor chap" and then reaches into his pocket and takes out a gigantic wad of cash. The guy looks up at the bookie with a stunned look of admiration. The bookie takes the elastic band off the big roll of €50s and says "here you go, wrap this around your shoe".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭applehunter

Was that story in the old or new testemant?

Paul's letter to the corinthians...massive gamblers them fellas..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

As the old saying goes:

"Quality not Quantity"

Im sure if there was something to be said, it would be said. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Im smashed after Cheltenham! Will be looking forward to Aintree.....hope ye are all talking to your tipsters. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

thats 23 posts now fade2black.

And a fancy sig to go with them...Go team!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

ya i know a bit of effort had to go into that one. then i read a form about sig maximum deminsions. im about double the allowed size so now i have to go and shrink it but that will ruin the whole look. lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

Crumbs wrote:
    A guy takes his monthly wages and heads to the bookies after work. He backs a few horses but they all finish second so he increases his stakes and backs a few more. They too finish second. Coming to the last race of the evening, he realises he has feck all money left and his wife is going to be majorly p1ssed off with him but he can't go home with just what he has left so he sticks it all on a 33-1 shot. The horse is 10 lengths clear but falls at the last fence. The guy who had been screaming and jumping up and down like a madman just stares at the screen and his face goes white.

He leaves like everyone else and when he's outside, it starts lashing rain. He fiddles around in his pocket for change for the bus but he doesn't have any left so he resigns himself to having to walk home in the rain for 90 minutes, face his wife and tell her that he lost his monthly wages.

As he starts walking, the sole of his shoe rips right off and starts flapping in the puddles of rain. He can't take it anymore. He just sits down on the ground and starts crying. A couple of minutes later, the bookie comes out of his shop to lock up and notices the guy sitting on the ground crying. He goes over and asks him if he's okay. The guy explains that he's lost all his money on the horses that day, that his wife is going to kill him, that he can't even afford bus fare and that he has to walk home with the sole of his shoe hanging off.

The bookie says "aw you poor chap" and then reaches into his pocket and takes out a gigantic wad of cash. The guy looks up at the bookie with a stunned look of admiration. The bookie takes the elastic band off the big roll of €50s and says "here you go, wrap this around your shoe".

brilliant :D:D:D