Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thinking of getting a Strong 6355......

• 22-03-2005 5:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭

thinking of getting a Strong 6355 any comments from users [good or bad],

at present i have a humax ci 5100,but she wont initialize my new matrix rev cam.....need something newer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

this thread gives me an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

i'd also be very interested to hear what users think of the 6355

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭cormacl

I can't say anything good about the one I had.. it froze frequently and was prone to getting confused about which LNB it was dealing with... you would switch station (where a LNB switch was needed) and get a "no or bad signal" on screen.. a quick on/off of the remote control would rectify the issue.

I had it switched with another one which was better but also had periodic hanging.. but the real excitment started when I tried to use a Dragon CAM in one of the CI slots.. hangs crashes all the time.

Last September, my brother-in-law from Germany was visiting and brought over his Kathrein receiver.. it never once hung or acted strange with or without the Dragon CAM or his Premiere Direkt CAM. BTW: the Premiere Direkt CAM also caused the 6355 to hang.. so its not something the Dragon CAM alone was causing.

I since replaced it with a Dreambox 5620s and have never looked back.. no freezes or signal errors.

There was suspicion that the Diseqc I had maybe faulty.. but the fact that the Kathrein or Dreambox never glitched with it tells me the 6355 was definitely the issue.

Since that time both the Brother in laws sat friend, another Sat dealer in Ireland and another chap that installs systems told me that Strong receivers are regarded as total ****e. One of them also confirmed that the CAM issue is caused by power drain that the PSU of the receiver is not up to supporting CAMs.

That all said.. my 6355 is now down in my sisters holiday home in West Cork with a Lidl dish (single LNB no cam) serving up 28.2 FTA and they have yet to report any hangups.

So I think its a cheap piece of kit.. grand for a single LNB no-cam installation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭NewDubliner

cormacl wrote:
    I can't say anything good about the one I had..

Maybe they've improved the firmware since or maybe the install job is at fault.

I know someone with a 6355 working with a motorised dish & quad LNB. It's stable & gets on well with a Matrix revolutions 2.21 CAM & basically does everything it's supposed to do & more ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭kramlq

cormacl wrote:
    ...over his Kathrein receiver.. it never once hung or acted strange with or without the Dragon CAM or his Premiere Direkt CAM. BTW: the Premiere Direkt CAM also caused the 6355 to hang.. so its not something the Dragon CAM alone was causing.
    I think that premiere cards only work in premiere licenced cams, which in turn only work in premiere authorised receivers (of which there area only about ten brands).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭cormacl

Maybe they've improved the firmware since or maybe the install job is at fault.
    The OTA update option never actually received any update even after being left wait for hours on end. Neither did Strong provide one on their website for the 6355.. the manual says that if it fails to receive an update, then there is none available... If I recall it was dated Oct 2003. I bought it in March '04.

update: Just saw on their site (which seems to have been overhauled) that there are several updates now available for the 6355.. so hopefully the issues are solved

On the install being the cause.. that doesn't add up when two other brands worked flawlessly. The guy that that installed it along with a Sky digital package was no ladder monkey.. he spent time positioning and getting the best signal etc. I've braved the elements and even examined the connections on the roof etc.
    I think that premiere cards only work in premiere licenced cams, which in turn only work in premiere authorised receivers (of which there area only about ten brands).

point taken on the chance that the 6355 may not be approved for usage etc.

Folks, all I can do here is share my experience.. the box (both of them) were very bad and the replacement dreambox has never given trouble nor did the Kathrein that I had on loan... as I pointed out, the 6355 is now on a single LNB solution working seemingly without any problems.. it was after hearing from another shop and then later on from an installer in Ireland alone that Strong have a poor rep that prompted me to even post to this thread in the first place... I cannot recommend them based on the horrors I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭toonarmy

ok lads , what receiver does it for ye ? someone also suggested a QUADRO DR-8200?

[just saw mossy thread on same :o ...]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

i got the strong 6355 and i have for the best part no complaints.
    I have it working with a dragon cam and a reality cam.

Ocassionaly there is some freezing but its once in a blue moon...what more do you expect from a reciever in its price range

do you run a sat. motor on it?

I do... i have the motek motor.....works extremly well
    Ive only got four sats programmed with it at the moment...havent had time to try and find others

the ones i can get are astra2/eurobird, astra19.2 hotbird and sirus.

I tried getting atlantic bird 2 once but wasnt able to...must check if the pole its on is completly vertical but i got a feeling its off by 1 or 2 degrees. if so ill find it hard to get true vertical on it.

whats a good frequency to try and get AB2 ior should i create a new post for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Zaphod

This might be of use when aligning dishes. Eventhough it comes from the UK, it should mostly apply here also.

http://www.satellites.co.uk/php-bin/forum/showthread.php?t=28972

45e 11.495V 3254
    42e 11.135V 4444
    39e 12.524V 27500
    36e 12.695V 3030
    28.2e 10.773H 22000
    26e 11.919H 27500
    23.5e 11.675H 27500
    19e 10.832H 22000
    16e 11.554V 28800
    13e 10.758V 27500
    10e 11.054V 4375
    7e 11.175V 27500
    5e 11.766H 27500
    1w 11.189V 2142
    5w 12.543H 27500
    8w 11.556H 27500
    12.5w 11.132H 3255
    15w 11.494V 17464
    18w 11.661H 5632
    22w 11.613H 1655
    27.5w 11.665V 12223
    30w 12.012V 27500

53E, 11100V, 6000, 3/4
    33E, 11472H, 30000, 5/6
    4W, 10726H, 3750, 3/4
    7W, 11747V, 27500, 3/4
    11W, 11464V, 4340, 1/2
    37.5W, 12522H, 5425, 1/2
    43W, 12584V, 27500, 3/4
    45W, 11510H, 26694, 5/6
    58W, 11612H, 3670, 3/4

thanx for that Zaph.

Sorry for going off topic guys.

cormacl wrote:
    Folks, all I can do here is share my experience.. the box (both of them) were very bad and the replacement dreambox has never given trouble nor did the Kathrein that I had on loan... as I pointed out, the 6355 is now on a single LNB solution working seemingly without any problems.. it was after hearing from another shop and then later on from an installer in Ireland alone that Strong have a poor rep that prompted me to even post to this thread in the first place... I cannot recommend them based on the horrors I had.

Of course all you can do is relate your experiences which is very fair. The only thing I would say about shop/installer comments is that sometimes they can be skewed if the shop is pushing a particular brand themselves and/or have had a bad experience with their first few products.

The difficulty I have always had in Ireland is stocking several brands as because of market size its difficult to buy at bulk discount as it can take a while to shift stock. If I did buy other brands at lower stock levels it would most likely make the price un competitive and it would not sell. A chicken and egg situation unfortunately.

Still its great to hear comments about a particular product good or bad

tony , you sell these, what if any feedback are you getting ?
    what have you got yourself ...?

toonarmy wrote:
    tony , you sell these, what if any feedback are you getting ?
    what have you got yourself ...?

I'm sorry I cant really answer that as it could be construed as advertising. I can say though that boards is probably the first place I look for feedback as the guys here usually give a well balanced view.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

I still swear by the technomates. I have plenty of then installed in various locations all with matrix, viaccess, and dragon cams been used in them and I never have any bother with them.

I personally use the TM5500CIP which controls a motor, I also have the Humax 5400z which is also a quite good receiver provideing you keep the most up to date software on it.

Leonard wrote:
    I still swear by the technomates. I have plenty of then installed in various locations all with matrix, viaccess, and dragon cams been used in them and I never have any bother with them.

Yes the technomates seem to be well regarded, any idea on retail pricing as I'm talking to a distributor at the moment about them?

hows this sound ....mind i'll have to pay for postage

TECHNOMATE TM7700 2CI 2VIACCESS SLOTS
    little used,comes like brand new with box, instructions + r/control
    this receiver can be patched although it still has manufacturers software in it
    cost me £149.00
    will accept £110.00 incl p+p(uk only)
    any personel callers can collect for £110.00
    prefer payment direct into my bank account or chq
    dont do paypal.....................

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Tony wrote:
    Yes the technomates seem to be well regarded, any idea on retail pricing as I'm talking to a distributor at the moment about them?

I'll make a few calls and get back to you tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Technomate recievers are fantastic. Still use my one even though ive a dreambox, nice sensitive tuner on the 5000ci as well.