Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dressing for going out.

• 20-03-2005 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

hey, this is kind of half personal issues half fashion/appearance type of question.

here's the deal

i'm in my last year of school (leaving cert. year) and on graduation night all the class go out to a club in town. Now i'm not the club type of going guy but i'd like to go to see what the craic is if you know what i mean.

but here's my problem i'm a simple guy, i wear skate shoes and jeans and a hoody, now since i've never been in a night club what should i wear? i know they have a dress code don't they? i don't wanna turn up in the wrong type of clothes and get like turned away or something to that effect.

will i have to get like a proper pair of shoes a pair of slacks and a shirt or is that too overboard. seriously like i don't have a clue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

you'll get in:

in a shirt or trendy tshirt
    in a trendy pair of jeans
    pair of shoes, not runners
    having said this i sometimes get in places wearing my baggys, skate shoes and hoody...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Aurther Hugh

ferdi wrote:
    you'll get in:

in a shirt or trendy tshirt
    in a trendy pair of jeans
    pair of shoes, not runners
    having said this i sometimes get in places wearing my baggys, skate shoes and hoody...

I wouldn't worry too much about being trendy tbh, we're not new york. Something simple, t-shirt, slacks, jeans, clean and pressed. The only dress code really would be no runners so I wouldn't take a chance there, just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

There's no need to wear a shirt and slacks - that's over-safe unless your more comfortable in them! Try a long-sleeved t-shirt with a t-shirt over it and wear some not-too-baggy trousers with them. As above, shoes are what counts - Nikes are out but Vans will generally be fine as long as you don't come across as a complete under-dressed skater. That's my experience anyway.

Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Blut

I wouldnt risk any sort of runners if youre not sure where youre going, some places can be a bit strict...shoes/jeans/shirt or nice tshirt is about spot on for all but the very strictest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭TrickyDicky

Don't wear Ben Shermen shirts, they generally look skangerish and usually everyone else is wearing them :rolleyes:. Really if you want to look good, just buy whats on a the dummies in topshop and such other places. Btw trendy t-shirts are a good way two go, you'ill be different then everyone else

That's my two cents......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Capt.Christ

ok, well i shop in tribe so i shouldn't find any problem getting a shirt (lol i wouldn't go near ben sherman) and a pair of slacks.

the problem is the shoes, i absolutely detest wearing shoes. anyone got any suggestions with what a skate shoe wearer would like (picture would be great also)

is it alright to like mix brown shoes with dark slacks?

sorry i'm not too fashion orientated and i don't wanna look like a fool, how come these things are so awkard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

What colour are the slacks? If they're black then no, brown shoes and black trousers are generally not such a good idea! If you dont have any other shoes you could always just wear the ones you wore to school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

blondie83 wrote:
    What colour are the slacks? If they're black then no, brown shoes and black trousers are generally not such a good idea! If you dont have any other shoes you could always just wear the ones you wore to school?
    Meh, everytime I've been in a niteclub I've been wearing runners.
    That said I don't go to niteclubs often.

blondie83 wrote:
    well i haven't bought anything yet, i might be going into dublin tomorrow.

okay so brown and black don't go together check!

anyone got any suggestions for shoes (i can't really wear the ones i wear to school as they are a bit wrecked.)

i might stay away from black slacks. would a pair of cords do or are they frowned upon?

Chords all the way once they're not falling off you. You do actually wanna feel comfortable enough in what your wearing.

k i think i'll get some tanned cords, or maybe stoned green coloured ones.

any ideas on shoes? would them wallabie's or whatever alright? are they comfortable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

Don't wear cords!! :eek:

Get some nice blue jeans from Unigue or somewhere, avoid the stone washed ones, and levis and wranglers and that! If possible try budget to spend about 100euro on your jeans
    They can be your disco stu jeans! :D

Another thing, I always find that every time I go to the ilac centre I always find a nice shirt, just browse around! Try find an Urban Basics shirt, they have a nice cut and look really cool! A white-ish one will make u glow on the dance floor! lol

And scuh for your shoes! All sorted! :cool:

okay thanks for the tips, dunno about a white shirt though, i don't really want to be the centre of attention type of thing. (also wear a white shirt in school so.)

100 euros for a pair of jeans, they'd better be a comfortable pair.

actually speaking of jeans this is wear i kind of run into a problem. i'm like 5ft 11" (therefore i have like a leg size of 30") and have a waist of 36" anytime i get jeans or whatever i have to like turn them up so they don't get clogged down near my shoes if you know what i mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

That's not really a problem, Just buy a pair with a 32ins leg size, and have them shortened by an alterer! It's a little girly, granted, but they'll look better! :D

AlienGav: Each to their own but he'd be crazy to be spending anywhere near that much for a pair of jeans. Plus jeans can easily be taken as making no effort and a turning away at the door! :D Chords strike me as more comfortable considering what he wears normally and if their beige etc. can look quite smart (yet not preppy!)

I would fully discourage the OP from shopping in Unique, etc. If your a Tribe shopper try George's St. Arcade and the shops around it - Can never their names sorry.

In keeping with this, I'd also discourage against a white shirt :D

Sorry but that's my view...It's basically upto yourself.

so cords are alright as long as they ain't as baggy as hell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Beige cords would be really nice with brown shoes! You could wear a nice t-shirt with them, and you'd have a good outfit. With jeans maybe go for black shoes - you could also wear a short sleeve shirt open over a t-shirt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I can't imagine any problem with cords. If you decide on jeans though the centred (centre red) line from dunnes have some fairly fashionable jeans. They cost from €10-40. You could also look for 2nd hand gear.

If it isn't the kind of stuff you feel comfortable in, don't spend a whole lot on it. You won't get your money's worth.

thanks all for all your help, i'll be going into town tomorrow and having a look around i think i've settle for something like this

cords either from tribe or them dunnes stores ones centre red (seen them before pretty good for dunnes i must admit).
    light brown suede shoes here
    then i'll pick a shirt in tribe too, i'm not sure on the open shirt idea with a t-shirt, might just get a woolen jumper.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

might just get a woolen jumper.

be careful you don't get too heavy a jumper or you'll end up sweating buckets (nice image I know), nightclubs are hot! A cool t-shirt short or long sleeved would be good.

yeh, i meant something like this here

i don't think i'll be too warm in that.

once again thanks for you input guys and gals, you's probably think i'm a hermit and don't get out much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Burago

That top with cords and those shoes, you'll look like something out of 90210. Perfect!:D

Most importantly, have a great night. My grad was amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

To OP, Id go with a nice pair of jeans rather than cords, Im not so sure about suede shoes, Id go for similar style of shoe, with normal brown leather. If your going with that jumper, id get a shirt that has some light blue in it, light blue checked, would work well.

Damn I wish I was going to my grad again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Omg, you're the exact same measurements as me! I'm a 36 inch waist, 5' 11". I'm 'skater' styled too. I go to clubs a fair bit (although I don't like them) but I'm in 5th year. I'd say try getting a pair of Road chords. They're mad comfy, look good, you'll get into a club with them and Urban have them for 40 euro too (Drury street beside Georges street arcade) and just wear a T with them. You could bring a hoody, but it's like 2-3 euro to store it (but if someone brings a bag you can bundle things in there and only pay 2-3 euro). I'd say get a pair of brown suede shoes (with no laces preferably). I got a pair from Zerep on Grafton street (although your feet sweat after a couple hours) they look really good and are only like 40 euro. Although I think a pair of skate shoes would look better and you'd feel more comfy in them. If you've got a pair in fairly good condition wear them or go to Urban and get them with a 25% discount.

So basically that's:

'Road' chords
    A skater belt
    A pair of lightish brown suede shoes or skate shoes (skate shoes imo if in good condition)
    A cool T
    and a hoody if required.

I seem to be very similar to you and that's what I'd wear. I never have problems getting in anywhere and I always feel comfortable when I'm in there. But defo make sure you're wearing just a T when you're in there cause you'll piss sweat even in just that.

Oh yeh, and I never wear black shoes! I think they look horrible with blue jeans whoever said they look good. They look like you never wear shoes just took your school shoes to look smart.

thanks for your advice Wez. really appreciated.

i have a pair of road jeans and they are so baggy i doubt their chords are different, or are they. I'm heading into dublin tomorrow so i'll have a look around. i have a pair of these

SDVDRFM.jpg

but only got white laces with them and i don't think they'll go well (although they look sweet)

how do you get 25% discount in urban? is it just that they are 25% cheaper than tribe or do you have to have a student card or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

Capt.Christ: Where did you get those shoes and how much were they?

Those shoes look pretty sweet! You'll defo get in with them on. Urban are having a sale, it's been going 3 weeks and is gonna end soon. They've taken down all the signs saying sale cause it's just over. You might catch it today, if so everything is 50% off except new stock and shoes are 25% off. The sale's word of mouth right now, so make sure to tell them about the 50/25% off or else you'll get charged full whack. They've got some very nice stuff in there and is rediculously cheap with the sale. I'm wearing the chords and they're mad popular with everyone, so the bouncer's bound to have seen them before. I'd say you're grand.. Not every bouncer's a w4nker, but the majority are.

Oh yeh, just remember, you can always try the chords on before buying them.

David19 wrote:
    Capt.Christ: Where did you get those shoes and how much were they?
    i got them in G1 skate shop in dublin.

it's fairly hard to find if you don't know where it is, so here's some directions.

cross o connell street bridge (on the side with the guys selling jewelery and tshirts) cross the street and you'll see a pharmacy, and a guy selling the evening herald (he shouts evening hearald but tottally doesn't sound like it) just where he's sitting there's a little door, that has a little shop window with jewelery in it, go in that door and then up the stairs and you're there.

the shoes are DVS dresden i think the colour is mocha

I couldn't get into town today, only got up now and i ain't going into dublin now, will urban be open tomorrow? since it's good friday tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

i got them in G1 skate shop in dublin.

it's fairly hard to find if you don't know where it is, so here's some directions.

cross o connell street bridge (on the side with the guys selling jewelery and tshirts) cross the street and you'll see a pharmacy, and a guy selling the evening herald (he shouts evening hearald but tottally doesn't sound like it) just where he's sitting there's a little door, that has a little shop window with jewelery in it, go in that door and then up the stairs and you're there.

the shoes are DVS dresden i think the colour is mocha

I couldn't get into town today, only got up now and i ain't going into dublin now, will urban be open tomorrow? since it's good friday tomorrow?

Ok thanks for that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Paul + Shark Shirt

Hugo Boss Cardigan

Armani Jeans

Prada Shoes

= Designer Casual Look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Meh, everytime I've been in a niteclub I've been wearing runners.
    That said I don't go to niteclubs often.

I go about twice a week and I dont own a pair of shoes. I have only been refused twice and that has been because I was too drunk. This is over a period of a good few years...

If your skate runners are clean and dark in colour you will get in no problem....unless of course you are going to somewhere like annabelle's or some ****e hole like that. I tend to avoid these places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

I get in everywhere in town wearing runners, skate type runners are ok for most places, have a look at the schuh website, they have some nice skate type runners. As long as they arnt them big multi-coloured ones your fine. I know loads of people who wear runners out. And as its graduation night it makes it all the more easier. If you have got tickets for a particular club doing a graduation party then you'll have no problem what so ever. Graduation night is no bother. Dont be worrying you'll get in. Just wear jeans, tshirt and half decent runners. No need to buy shoes just for one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

jonny68 wrote:
    Paul + Shark Shirt

Hugo Boss Cardigan

Armani Jeans

Prada Shoes

= Designer Casual Look

A cardigan?