Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your worst job ever!?

• 16-03-2005 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

What job sucked the most for you?

The worst job I ever had was working in a place called Beaumex in Ballymount. They’re a distributor of cd’s/dvd’s/videos etc to places like hmv/virgin and independent record stores.

What sucked was the tedious TEDIOUS work, all the time constantly making up orders of cd’s and **** that each store needed.. Walking back and forth up and down picking out the same cds/dvds for 9 hours!!

What also sucked is that you worked from 9-6 and I only got ONE 1 hour lunch break at TWELVE!! Then you had to work from 1 – 6 without another break...

Also the fact that you HAD to complete every order that came in that day, so if there's still stuff to do at 6pm, then it's ''expected'' that you stay back which SUCKED!! and if you didn't, then boy did you get the silent treatment the next day :rolleyes:

Plus you got paid monthly, but I was only there two months:D in fact I gave a weeks notice but didn’t show up for the last 3 days...

I have to say that was the most depressing job I ever had, every morning I woke up I just felt like crying, now that’s saying something! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

Bunching scallions..

Smelled like a Frenchman..

jd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

In a warehouse supplying parts to Dell in Limerick, take the order, walk to the shelf, fill the pallet, bring it back, sign it off, drag it onto a truck.

Manager's were morons, 10 minutes late for a 7 o'clock start one morning and I got chewed out for 15 monutes for it!

to put it in perspective, my first job wasa summer job packing sweeping the floors in Dunnes, and I rank that ahead of the warehouse job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Oracle Ireland.

Work was manual quality assurance (basically running through same test documents finding the same bugs every day, wash, rinse, repeat ad inifinitum) and it involved working with some of the driest people I've ever met in my life. Management/Staff relations were also really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Car parking attendant at Race Meetings in Leopardstown, Punchestown etc..
    I didn't get to park cars, I got to stand in the middle of the road/field and direct cars into car parking spaces.

God help you if the driver didn't want to park where you wanted them to park, they would literally drive over you.

You'd be sworn at, shouted at, accelerated at.. and if the Posh Horse Racing dude's car got stuck in the mud, then you'd better be there to push it out for him.. No respect from the people you were working for, or with, and no respect from those you were there to help either.

That job sucked great big donkey balls!

Now I work in a callcentre.. that's much better :rolleyes:

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Price control in a supermarket.

Spending 90% of my time scanning a couple of thousand products over and over, ensuring they were marked correctly. All the time with a schizophrenic psycho bitch-boss complaining about me not using intiative, and chewing me up for not asking her when I did use initiative.
    Only good thing were unregulated breaks - 30 minutes for breaksfast 1.5 hours for lunch and 30 minutes for tea - and also being the only person in my dept on a Saturday, allowing me to do as much or as little work as I wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

McDee's; Flipping burgers. It gets to you after a while.

Also; helping customers on the phone, in a callcentre. OK for some, but it stressed me out a bit too much.

Lasted in the former for 2 weekends, and the latter for 1 weeks, 2 days.

Only by doing those jobs, do i relaise I don't want to do them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Worked in a snooker hall in amien street, to get behind the counter you had to crawl in a latch that was about 2ft X 2ft and then you were in behind a cage. There were poker machines in there and when one of the scumbags (I mean clients) won, you had to go out and reset the machine and give them the money. It was one summer when me and a few mates were stuck for money so started working for the company in there Rathmines hall but slowly got moved in there. Once, one of my mates lets call him Dan (because thatis his name) was working in there alone and one scumbag won some money, Dan went out and reset the machine which had 350 credits on it. What the scumbag didnt know was that he was playing a 10 cent machine and this only meant £3.50 not £35, he was probably drooling over the thoughts of his next hit when dan gave him £3.50. He went beserk, and even crazier when Dan explained it to him.
    He started picking up snooker balls and firing them through the cage at Dan, hitting him hard enough to knock him over. He picked up snooker cues then and started to jab at him through the cage.
    Now in behind the counter let me set the scene. There are half snooker cues (the fat end) with wrist straps to your left, right and above your head. The idea is that if someone sticks there hand in you break it. Then there are 4 or 5 panik buttons, which I assumed would call the guards. So Dan was fairly hurt on the ground and pressed the closest one to him. No gardaí came but the bartender and a customer from the pub next door came in, dragged yerman out the back exit and he was never seen in that place again.
    After that, and one or two of my own scary incedents I left the place.

In the words of comic book guy - "Worst Job Ever!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

MPO:

Putting cds in plastic/cardboard sleeves for various magazines for hours on end.

IBM:

Order picking on a night shift with a load of black dudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭lilulila

working as a chambermaid/slave in a hotel. By far the scummiest job ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭thafitz

lily o 'briens chocolates factory.

i had to stand in the one position all day (except for the break of course) putting chocolates into boxes. me being the only irish person on this particular production line meant there was nobody even to talk to cos i never bothered to learn chinese. the supervisors were all dumb bastards who felt they needed to show you how to put a chocolate in a box. and if decided to do it your own faster way oyu got in sh!t. oh and they have someone to count the amount of chocolates in each tub so you cant just fill it up and let it on. it was the most boring and hateful job i ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

oooh... reminds me of a wonderful Derek and Clive sketch...
    CLIVE:
    Er, I'll tell you the worst job I ever had.
    DEREK:
    What was that?
    CLIVE:
    The worst job I ever had was with Jayne Mansfield. You know, she was a fantastic bird, you know .....
    DEREK:
    Yeah, yeah.
    CLIVE:
    ..... big tits, huge bum, and everything like that, but I had the terrible job of retrieving lobsters from her bum.
    DEREK:
    Really? Bloody hell, that must have been a task.
    CLIVE:
    Well, it was quite a task 'cause she had a big bum .....
    DEREK:
    Well, I remember.
    CLIVE:
    ..... and they were big lobsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I still work in Supermacs part time for some cash for college. It sucks so bad. In the branch I work in, everytime I work bar an extremely rare occcasion, I'm the only Irish person there. For 9 hours. Its so boring. Even when its quiet theres this manager with bad english that either tries to initiate painful conversation or find something totally stupid and crummy for you to do.

ITS HORRIBLE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

Selling frames for Degree certs on graduation day at NUI galway. It was on the sly and unofficial so we had to hide them from the academic staff. Hard to do in August when you're in a t-shirt and jeans trying to cloak 5 A4-sized frames on your person. Longest day of my life. Then the boss paid us poo so we all refused to leave until he gave us each £10 more. We won!
    Other bad job: ticketmaster booth.... when it was mad it was very very mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

2 hideous ones I can remember...Saturn 2000 in Citywest, packing cd's into packages, 7am to 3am with a 20 minute break at 11 o clock. Complete silence and a half tuned radio as company, remember getting some real euphoric highs when 2FM would change their repetetive playlists... :D

A microfilming company, 30 illegal immigrants and me hunched over a photographic machine with a button it. Lift document, place it on screen, press button...lift document, place it on...etc etc :o:o:o

Well I suppose where I work now is a slight step above this...Mountjoy... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Worst job for me has to be working for Conduit (11850 , also Orange Directory asst.) now i worked in the orange part . So the avarage time taken on every call across the company was 45 secs. however after about 5 days there i had my steady at 19 - 22 secs. so that's about 1000 calls in a 12 hour shift. Also if you where late back from your break ( as in it was 13:30 and 2 seconds and you finished at 13:30 they would be down looking for us). All we did was look up telephone numbers for people. that was it. Example :

"Welcome to Orange, Megatron speaking which name please ?"
    "ok and can i have a road ?"
    "And a town/city ? "
    "Would you like to be connected to your number at your normal rate ?"
    "Texting and attempting connection now".

It was such a mundan job it was really scary, i used to say it at meetings that Monkeys would be doing our job but for 2 problems . 1st they have a better union that us , sorry .. they are allowed a Union , and 2nd it would be considered Animal Cruelty . I lasted 6 months , but i was only doing the job to build up a bit of cash before i fecked off to Finland. I've done some really crapy jobs in my time , but this by far is the worst of the worst. even for a call center this beats them all ( of the 5 i've worked in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

A couple of years ago I really needed cash to get away for the Summer. So in the space of about a month I ended up in the two worst jobs Ive ever had. The first was a tele-sales place on O'Connel St. About 30 people showed up for the "group interview" in the morning, and by around 1 o'clock, half the people had fore-seen the BS of the job and had gone home! I on the other hand, decided to stick it out for a week! What did I make at the end of the week? €0.00. Urg. I could go on for ages about how incredibly awful the place was, but I'll spare ye.

About a week later I responded to another job ad in the paper, got my interview etc. This time it was door to door charity fund-rasiing, Yvolutions it was called. Oh my god, was that place scary! For charity fund raisers, they were the biggest bunch of money hungry leaches I have ever seen. On my first morning, I was in "learning the pitch", when the big boss Yvonne comes in. Everyone suddenly gets all excited in their suits and ties and form a big circle around the room. I'm standing there thinking wtf? Then, to my horror, the whole room starts jumping up and down where they stand, chanting "ba ba ba ba ba, its Yvonne, ba ba ba ba ba, its Yvonne", clapping their hands to top it off. Sickening. As if all this wasnt enough, I had to then go out and abuse people at their front door! After a week I got fired from that job because the guy above me found out I was planning on going to Europe in two weeks and that wasnt enough time for him to progress upwards on the pyramid scheme of death.

Oh, and what did I make from a weeks work in that place? Hmmm...about 60 squid. :mad: !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Cianos wrote:
    A couple of years ago I really needed cash to get away for the Summer. So in the space of about a month I ended up in the two worst jobs Ive ever had. The first was a tele-sales place on O'Connel St. About 30 people showed up for the "group interview" in the morning, and by around 1 o'clock, half the people had fore-seen the BS of the job and had gone home! I on the other hand, decided to stick it out for a week! What did I make at the end of the week? €0.00. Urg. I could go on for ages about how incredibly awful the place was, but I'll spare ye!!

Wouldn't have anything to do with stationary would it?? man what a waste of time that was :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭zefer

Megatron wrote:
    Worst job for me has to be working for Conduit (11850 , also Orange Directory asst.) now i worked in the orange part . So the avarage time taken on every call across the company was 45 secs. however after about 5 days there i had my steady at 19 - 22 secs. so that's about 1000 calls in a 12 hour shift. Also if you where late back from your break ( as in it was 13:30 and 2 seconds and you finished at 13:30 they would be down looking for us). All we did was look up telephone numbers for people. that was it. Example :

"Welcome to Orange, Megatron speaking which name please ?"
    "ok and can i have a road ?"
    "And a town/city ? "
    "Would you like to be connected to your number at your normal rate ?"
    "Texting and attempting connection now".

It was such a mundan job it was really scary, i used to say it at meetings that Monkeys would be doing our job but for 2 problems . 1st they have a better union that us , sorry .. they are allowed a Union , and 2nd it would be considered Animal Cruelty . I lasted 6 months , but i was only doing the job to build up a bit of cash before i fecked off to Finland. I've done some really crapy jobs in my time , but this by far is the worst of the worst. even for a call center this beats them all ( of the 5 i've worked in).

I worked there too. Hsve to agree, it is the sh*test, most boring, mundane, depressing place ever. And you didnt even have access to the net, nothing to do all day,apart from listen to abuse from some t*sser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭dearg_doom

My first job was my worst, glass-collecting bitch in a nightclub. Just a Xmas job but we had to work NYE at normal rates, but to make up for it we werre promised free food and drink till the cows come home.

Cue the busiest NYE ever, we clean up the ****hole, and get sent on our merry little way. Not even one pint (officially:)). Dickheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

working in a hotel kitchen where the thermometer rarely went below 36° celcius :mad: long gone from that though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

To The OP (DIVEBOMB) I Used to work in a stockroom for one of the retailers mentioned in your post,we always hated processing the beaumex delivery for what its worth!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

telesales in Oz...trying to flog mobile phones...got sacked after 2 weeks of not selling even one phone:)

Worked as a greenkeeper at a decent championship golf course...really good in general but there were some seriously **** jobs to do every now and again....

once spent three weeks with 6 others weeding out AMG (annual meadow grass) and Rye grass from the creeping bent grass greens....tedious, on yours hands and knees with your face about a foot from the ground trying to identify the alien grasses and digging them out without doing to much damage to the green. Each green took the 7 of us about 8 hours to do...would go to bed at night dreaming of grass and the different shades of it :o

Another job was constructing the bunkers on the course....over 2 weeks, between the seven of us we shoveled and shaped 1800 tons of sand into bunkers.....absolute killer on the shoulders and hands...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Kingsize wrote:
    To The OP (DIVEBOMB) I Used to work in a stockroom for one of the retailers mentioned in your post,we always hated processing the beaumex delivery for what its worth!!!
    must of been a different Beaumex:D why did you hate it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

working in a freezer in a dairies 8am-8pm 6 days a week.for one everybody has a constant cold that works there and then there is the back breaking labour of taking 10litres of milk off a conveyor belt every 2 seconds and stacking them on pallets for a full day,every day.(if you stop doing it for a second conveyor belt backs up,milk everywhere,taken out of your pay=no pay) first week of job,you finish,can't actually move/bend your back or you scream in pain-so you go home at 8,collapse on the couch,not being able to move and wake up at 630am to start again.sundays off but you cant actually do anything apart from stay in bed moaning.every body lasts 2 weeks,i lasted 3!.if you do not have strong arms-real strong-you are fired like after 2 mins.guy workin there b4 me knocked out his back doin it and was in hospital when i started.
    a job thats tedious and breaks your back aha! lining up to do it again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Worst job I had was night packing in Dunnes in Waterford. It wouldn't have been so bad except for the manager. What an ass he was. The trainee managers were allright though.

All the pringles you could eat coming down in the lift was a nice little "perk" though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

A chicken hatchery.

First job in it I had to stand alone in a huge room taking washed trays off a machine and checking to see if they had been cleaned right. The noise was terrible and I was on my own.

Second job was in the candle room removing the rotten eggs from trays before they where put in incubaters. Rotten eggs often exploded in your hands and the smell was disgusting. Then you had to throw the rotten eggs into a skip which was fed from the grinder (more about the grinder later).

Third job there was new-born chick inspection. You might think it was cute until you realise that any diseased ones had to be removed and disposed of, by throwing a box full of them into a grinder. Worst job was when it came to cleaning the incubaters. On you hands and knees in a crawl space with tiny chick feathers flying about and the temperature and the humidity through the roof.

All of the above motivated me to do well in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Texaco, DVD Packaging, Picking and Packing, Data Entry, all sh*te, all far behind me I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Tesco in Maynooth. I lasted a week. I was lucky to get my soul back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

AOL technical support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

McDonalds in the square! every friday night was woeful. sometimes u got junkies shootin up in the jacks! the managers threatened me wit court when i left coz i didnt return the uniform! :rolleyes: losers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Worked is Australia many yeras ago. I installed Fibre glass insulation ( very iychy) in attic spaces of people's homes.
    Imagine 43c outside = almost 90 inside the attic space and itchy as fcuk.
    absolute nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

worked as a cleaner when i was 18 in a nursing home for the just about to die. the place was run by nuns (on the run) which were in my opinion more callous than stalin.

me and a fellow worker made up a country song we used sing whilst goin of spliff breaks.

seen more dead bodies than bed pans.

seen more bed pans than varicose veins.

seen more varico...

u get the picture. it was a 4 month ****ing nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

It was the same beaumex as far as i remember the invoices were a real pain to work out with different or wrong catalog & p.o. numbers :D
    wasnt my worst job ever though i used to work in a Factory/kitchen & could never get rid of the smell of onions & curry etc off my hands that was the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Sar!

Working in an restaurant in Temple Bar as a waitress....
    Wot a disaster - chef used to keep boots in the fridge to keep his feet cool while he was running around....fridge door fell ontop of me one day...chef used to keep his big spoon for sauce stirring on dirty floor and use it in the sauces without washing it first and then put it back on the floor......fizzy drinks machine was so clogged with dirt that used to get lumps in the drinks... and to top it all off i came in early one morning and found owner and another waitress in comprimising position on one of the tables in the place........then i quit!

This is still not a patch on the chicken hatchery - that is just INSANE! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Sar! wrote:
    Working in an restaurant in Temple Bar as a waitress....
    Wot a disaster - chef used to keep boots in the fridge to keep his feet cool while he was running around....fridge door fell ontop of me one day...chef used to keep his big spoon for sauce stirring on dirty floor and use it in the sauces without washing it first and then put it back on the floor......fizzy drinks machine was so clogged with dirt that used to get lumps in the drinks... and to top it all off i came in early one morning and found owner and another waitress in comprimising position on one of the tables in the place........then i quit!

hahaha!! thats gotta be thunder road!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Sar! wrote:
    This is still not a patch on the chicken hatchery - that is just INSANE! :D

Yeah, I think he wins! Nasty! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

my first job when I was about 14 was as a butcher in my local Londis, after 2 days and hardly any training I was left for 2 hours to manage the butchers and the deli counter ON MY OWN. i hadn't a f*cking clue what i was doing and eventually made some oul wan cry because I told her to f*ck off when she couldn't understand why i wouldn't serve her 8lbs of cooked ham.

I lasted a week and a half before i quit. then it took them 3 weeks to finally get around to paying me the week that I worked and all I got for 30hrs work was a measly 100quid. Hygene was crap in there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

D wrote:
    A chicken hatchery.

First job in it I had to stand alone in a huge room taking washed trays off a machine and checking to see if they had been cleaned right. The noise was terrible and I was on my own.

Second job was in the candle room removing the rotten eggs from trays before they where put in incubaters. Rotten eggs often exploded in your hands and the smell was disgusting. Then you had to throw the rotten eggs into a skip which was fed from the grinder (more about the grinder later).

Third job there was new-born chick inspection. You might think it was cute until you realise that any diseased ones had to be removed and disposed of, by throwing a box full of them into a grinder. Worst job was when it came to cleaning the incubaters. On you hands and knees in a crawl space with tiny chick feathers flying about and the temperature and the humidity through the roof.

All of the above motivated me to do well in college.

:eek: Good grief!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

My worst job was working in a pig processing plant on the line weighing meat. I lasted three months. It was so mind numbing, I hated it from the first day. We had no windows, if you were a minute late on a break you were in trouble.

I also worked on a large farm when I was a teenager. It was rough work, very underpaid, but for the most part I actually enjoyed it. I remember having to clean out the spud sheds ready for when the potato harvesting started in full swing. It would have been August and hot, big insulated sheds, hotter than the fiery hobs of hell with loads of decomposed piles of liquidized spuds. The smell was horrible, it stuck to you within a few minutes. No one would eat lunch with us we stank so bad.

I was also part of a crew that had to go through about a hundred one ton boxes of spuds to sort the good from the bad. Normally when potatos are put in storage a chemical in powder form is sprinkled on them to stop them going bad over the winter. Its a nice bright pink colour and gets absorbed as they sit there (think about that when your eating your potatos for dinner). Something went wrong with this batch and a good 25% of each box went bad, so each box had to be gone through to pick out the goods ones. I was making the princely sum of 1 pound an hour for this job.