Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilmainham yay or nay

• 14-03-2005 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

Hey

I just put a refundable deposit off an apartment in Kilmainham, just opposite the Garda Station(v.good thing) its 800sq ft, E325,000 and E25,000 for the car space. I don't know this area particularly well bar driving around - any stories/views much appreciated;crime, re-sale value, renting a room, downsides etc. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭wilkins

Well my sister lives there with her family. Grand area, nice open spaces (Royal Hospital, Phoenix Park etc.). You do have to be careful of the headtheballs from the flats though. My car was broken into there and they nicked my handbag. A buggy and a packet of cornflakes were taken from the boot of her car! But it's like anywhere else, you just have to be vigilant, it could happen in Blackrock.

The LUAS is another added plus and if you're renting the gaff out you have a market of nurses and doctors at your doorstep in James' Hospital. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Very much an up and coming apartment area. The Old Chocolate Factory started construction last week too. Not much in the way of facilities at the moment but that should change over the next year or 2.

Are these the apartments that are currently being built opposite the Garda Station and run down to Old Kilmainham?

I'd be happy to live there although I think the bottom of the hill is susceptible to serious flooding.

Close enough to town & St James's that it should always be attractive to renters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Kangaroopoo

thanks for that. Heard about the flooding but thats more towards Mount Brown I think. Looking at the river it looks like a little trickle of water, hard to imagine it bursting its banks but could happent hen I have an apartment I can't give away. I'm the top of that road towards the crossroads leading into Inchicore. Nearly bought the Old Choloclate Factory but my apartment across the road is a nicer location (ie. not over looking a motorway) much bigger and cheaper. I think the Old Chocolate Facory with all the facilities bars, restaurants, offices will really improve the area, mines not ready for a year either is the old chocolate factory, hopefully by then the area will be even better, if it doesn't flood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 madison 1

you picked a nice area, i drive up that way all the time, if i was single id love an appartment up there, good luck in any way what ever you decide to do.