Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coghlan announces retirement after funding cut

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

This is ridiculous, 1 of Irelands most promising athlete being forced to quit due to lack of funding, he might have got it had he been sent ot Athens last year, it just shows the far reaching implications of not sending athletes on the B standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Squirrel wrote:
    This is ridiculous, 1 of Irelands most promising athlete being forced to quit due to lack of funding, he might have got it had he been sent ot Athens last year, it just shows the far reaching implications of not sending athletes on the B standard

How the fcuk are they supposed to get to that standard in the first place? John Treacy may have been a great runner, but he's clueless as regards nurturing talent. Doesn't he realize we're not just a nation of XC runners?

Sprinting, Hurdling, throwing and jumping talent gets siphoned off into team sports as it is, without taking away what little money they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Common Sense

I must say the handing out of grants this week has left me perplexed. According to today's Irish Times, Mark Carroll got a forewarning from the Sports Council as a "courtesy". However, James Nolan only found out at lunch-time yesterday. Why was Nolan treated so differently to Carroll (they both were treated shamefully.) Does anyone know the criteria for these awards. Carroll and Sonia with A standards for the World Championships and Nolan, Coghlan, Brizzel (and someone else who I can't recall) with B standards get nothing. Yet Paul McKee who hasn't run in over 12 months is given 22,000. Don't get me wrong I have no problem whatsoever with the award to McKee, he's a fine athlete. But what criteria were used in the selections. In the report today on Nolan, he's been left in dire financial circumstances. This is not good enough. It was like, as James himself said, being told at lunchtime yesterday that he had been made redundant. I hope the AAI fight this to the last on behalf of their athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Hammerwerfer

I must say the handing out of grants this week has left me perplexed. According to today's Irish Times, Mark Carroll got a forewarning from the Sports Council as a "courtesy". However, James Nolan only found out at lunch-time yesterday. Why was Nolan treated so differently to Carroll (they both were treated shamefully.) Does anyone know the criteria for these awards. Carroll and Sonia with A standards for the World Championships and Nolan, Coghlan, Brizzel (and someone else who I can't recall) with B standards get nothing. Yet Paul McKee who hasn't run in over 12 months is given 22,000. Don't get me wrong I have no problem whatsoever with the award to McKee, he's a fine athlete. But what criteria were used in the selections. In the report today on Nolan, he's been left in dire financial circumstances. This is not good enough. It was like, as James himself said, being told at lunchtime yesterday that he had been made redundant. I hope the AAI fight this to the last on behalf of their athletes.

Funny how the administrators of Irish Athletics are not held to the same standards as the athletes. Have the various paid coaches and directors been performing at world class levels? I think not.

Support of Irish Athletes is abysmal and Treacy's approach leaves a lot to be desired. With the current economic climate in Ireland, surely the funding can be found for atheltes. Barring outright grants, how about Garda or Military positions like other European countries provide thier sportsmen and women? Surely more needs to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Slow coach wrote:
    How the fcuk are they supposed to get to that standard in the first place? John Treacy may have been a great runner, but he's clueless as regards nurturing talent. Doesn't he realize we're not just a nation of XC runners?

Sprinting, Hurdling, throwing and jumping talent gets siphoned off into team sports as it is, without taking away what little money they get.
    The point about sprinters and throwers being siphoned off by team sports is extremely valid,and particularly true in Ireland with the TOTAL emphasis from primary school upwards on soccer,Gaelic games and rugby.
    Distance is about all that interests John Treacy.Isnt he lucky that Deise hurling was in the doldrums in the 70s. Otherwise he might never have traveeld nay further than Semple or Pairc ui Caoimh.