Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formual 1 Countdown

• 05-03-2005 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭

Ok Guys, i really need some help here.

As every one knows the F1 season is immenient and thanks to my boss's i have now only realised, by reading the forums, that RTE have lost all rights to the formula 1 which is now owned by Setanta. I contacted setanta just now to be told that they have a minimum one year contrat of 99.99, i do think he mentioned pounds.
    I have absolutely no intereast in football, it has never been my thing but i do like the aul GP.
    I live in an area with only sky digital and cannot even get the regular bbc's/itv'v etc.
    I have contacted Sky and was informed by their call centre rep that i could programme ITV into the general channels if i had the signal and polarity, its hard to beleive but i do have some idea of what he was talking about, but i have no idea where to get that info.

Can anyone please help/assist a petrol head to getting to watch his only sport with having to be blackmailed by that shower that work in Setanta.

Lads/Ladies, the ball is over to you.

Cheers
    Nanook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Found them here.

http://www.kingofsat.net/en/freqs.php?pos=28.2E <--Setanta halfway down

http://www.kingofsat.net/en/freqs.php?pos=28.5E

I have Setanta as part of the package so i didn't test this.
    You can add the stations through the services menu.

Coverage starts at 11am or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

Edge, thanks for the quickness of the reply but i am a real novice here and have no idea what all those numbers mean.

I have tried putting in the frequency as 10230 but then it say it is out of the range.

i am a novice but a nice person :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Handy-Man

I'm afraid I'm in the same boat as well and can't make head or tail out of the frequencies listed on the link but I've no intention of paying the exhorbitant amount Setanta asked for so it looks like I'm gonna miss my first Grand Prix ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

have to say that i have been robbed at phone point. have given into the dick turpin of call centres, i guarantee that an adult chat line would be cheaper.

Handy, if you wanna watch come and visit, there will be a €10 charge on the door, have to recoup the damage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭dl

TV3 have C4 & UTV blocked from the Sky packages because they too are owned by ITV and people may watch their beloved 'Coronation Street' on UTV and then TV3 would lose their number of viewers and possibly go out of business as I don't think anybody watches the channel..!!

Maybe they'll start showing the GP's..!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Sorry, I think I gave ye the wrong links above there.
    Try here instead.

What you do is

Services
    4. System Setup.
    4. Add Channel

Try this one:
    Freq: 12129
    Pol: H
    Symbol Rate: 27500
    FEC: 2/3

I doubt it very much you'll get a working Setanta channel mind but sure you can add other channels while your at it.

Roll on 11!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Get your self a ftv card of Ebay i have had my in the box all day and now have all the channels re activated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭Charles Slane

If you have an Irish Sky subscription you will not be able to view either ITV or Channel 4 through the "Other Channels" feature. You can key in the frequencies etc and store them, but these channels are encrypted and unfortunately are not viewable with an Irish Sky card under any circumstances at the moment.

Setanta is also encrypted, so if you store it under "Other Channels" without subscribing, you'll see exactly what you'd see if you tried to watch it on the regular Sky EPG - nothing.

Unfortunately it looks like subscribing to Setanta is your only easy immediate option.

It IS possible to get a Sky card from the UK which unencrypts ITV, Channel 4 and Five. I'm not sure how much people are charging for these or how easily available they are lately, but this has been covered exhaustively in other threads, so have a look through this forum and you should find any information you'll need if you choose to go this route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Gargantuan

If all fails on getting a Sat Channel here is a link to get it over the web... http://www.freepremiership.com/
    Just go to the live gaes section and there is a link for the F1 there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Nanook wrote:
    Can anyone please help/assist a petrol head to getting to watch his only sport with having to be blackmailed by that shower that work in Setanta.

How are you being blackmailed by Setanta? Would it be fairer to say that "I do not want to pay a subscription to watch the F1". Its €99 and not £99. I believe that TV3 have a F1 highlights show as well.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

What you could do, is get another dish, aim it at Astra 1 (19°E), and tune in RTL. It's a German channel that will be showing F1 Free to Air. Of course, the commentary will be German, but maybe a radio station could give you English commentary? Radio 5 Live or something?