Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

value of a powerbook with drive not working

• 24-02-2005 1:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

hi lads, i have an 18mth old powerbook 12 " g4 1mhz, 60 gig hd and 256 mb ram running panther with slot loading superdrive that unfortunately i managed to make ****e out of by having a problem ejecting a cd.(and didnt have the extended applecare on it) .anyway i brought it along to get fixed as i thought it was just a problem with the eject mechanism on the superdrive, but the service people were unable to fix it and since then the fan has stayed on when it is in use... i was told it could cost about 300 to repair, but am not sure whether it is worth fixing as i dont really need the drive as i have a g5 imac also and can transfer stuff via usb. my question is how much does anything think the machine is now worth, (it is working perfect by the way) and also is anyone interested in making an offer?!! i will list it in the sale section by the way so please dont give out to me for looking for a price. i have read the previous post of a powerbook worth round a grand. with the drive non functioning would this devalue it significantly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

500-550 euro probably maybe a little more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭ScabbyLeg

I'm not so sure about the Superdrive, but you might find the part cheaper on eBay if you would be willing to install it yourself- there's probably a how-to out there somewhere. (Would void whatever warranty you have left)

eBay might also give you an indication as to the price of similar machines.
    This one for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

with the drive non functioning would this devalue it significantly?

Yes.

You can get one of these for US$199 before shipping and VAT at point of entry. You can do a self-install if you're up to it. It's possibly a better drive than the one that's already in it (if it wasn't fecked, that is).

If it was working you'd get around 1,000 US, maybe a little less coz you're light on RAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

assuming everything else is in good nick, ill give you 550 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Maoltuile

hi lads, i have an 18mth old powerbook 12 " g4 1mhz, 60 gig hd and 256 mb ram running panther with slot loading superdrive that unfortunately i managed to make ****e out of by having a problem ejecting a cd.<snip>i was told it could cost about 300 to repair, but am not sure whether it is worth fixing as i dont really need the drive as i have a g5 imac also and can transfer stuff via usb.

Where did you go for repair? Mactivate, TheMacShop, ISS?

I got a TiBook hinge replaced by TheMacShop recently (thank God), and can highly recommend them :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭grumpypaddy

i aint the biggest techie in the world so i would probably make a bad job worse if i tried it myself.. i brought it to compub in limerick whom i would recommend highly by the way for quality of service, they replaced the drive but it still didnt work. they recommended mactivate and i was told that (obviously depending on what exactly was wrong) it would be minimum 300 to fix by them. every thing else is fine in it, ie usb , firewire modem etc and of course the os, it has never let me down in any way. i just didnt bother with the extended warranty as i thought it was a bit excessive on a powerbook so i suppose its me own fault!! if anyone is still interested in giving it a good home i would let it go for in and around 550. it has a bit of software on it, ie office , p/shop elements and some other stuff including a good dj software package megaseg.
    thanks for all your help lads, much appreciated... dreaming about a mac mini and a 20 inch cinema display!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

would you be interested in offloading megaseg individually?
    i might be interested if the price was right....