Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Came across a mugging, I think?

• 17-02-2005 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭

Was walking past GIT on my way into the bus station in Galway early Saturday morning. Noticed 3 lads across the road bunched together. Then there was a few pushes and one guy held another guy's arms out while the other went through his pockets.
    They were of similar age (mid 20's and of similar build). Then they got the guy in a headlock, the other looked across at me nervously but didn't say anything.
    I was about to go across and ask what the fook was going on, but the guy got free and walked away, but turned and was talking to them ( had my walkman so didn't hear much) but heard one of the "offenders" call after him something like "But we asked you if you...?"
    They all were dressed up as if they were on their way home from the night before, so I guessed it was just a drunken game and that they probably knew eachother?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

What's your question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

What's your question?

Sorry. Do ye think it was a mugging from what I've written, coz i'm feeling guilty that it was and i didn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

It's impossible for us to tell but if it was the mugging the guy got away unharmed so it's probably best that you didn't get involved.

The fact that the guy walked, rather than ran away would lead me to think that no, it was just a few mates messing or some mild bullying. Unless it was a figure of speech and he legged it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

More than likely undercover cops from what you say ive seen it loads of times
    in Dublin & it pretty much follows the routine you mentioned.
    Despite the fact that everyone knows what an unmarked garda car looks like, the drug squad undercover guys make very convincing skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

Why would the guards stage what looked like a mugging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Kingsize wrote:
    the drug squad undercover guys make very convincing skangers.

Reminds me of that episode of Family Guy where brian becomes a sniffer dog and addicted to coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

prob messin around, were they drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

nah i get guys in headlocks and feel them up all of the time...

azezil wrote:
    nah i get guys in headlocks and feel them up all of the time...

Ha ha, that almost makes you sound as though you were gay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

yeah could you imagine! gawd me a fag tehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

joe. wrote:
    Why would the guards stage what looked like a mugging?

Yeah almost as ridiculous as them planting bomb making materials in Donegal, can you imagine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

prob messin around, were they drunk?

They were dressed as if they had been out on the town, but I don't think they were drunk.

It def wasn't undercover cop, not with the stare your man gave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

"Why would the guards stage what looked like a mugging?"

it was just an observation ive seen it happena few times & they dont take any sh_it.The way it was described sounds like what ive seen thats all.
    but there you go.
    also worth noting, a couple of years ago there was a wierd aul fella who was always driving around our housing estate.Eventually he drew enough suspicion & numerous people called the gaurds.there were obvious worries that he was a paedophile & there was also a rapist at large in the wider area at the time.The gaurds reply to people concerns was always very non commital,it emerged months later that he was a detective staking out a local crim gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

It def wasn't undercover cop, not with the stare your man gave.

YES KIDS!! Buy the new STARE-O-METER!!! It'll absorb the look your mom's giving you, and calculate what sort of trouble you're in accordingly!!

What, undercover cops stare a certain way? They waggle their eyebrows like this, then their mouth moves like so...

OP, it's simple:

a) It was a mugging, you are a bad person
    b) It wasn't a mugging, you are a good person
    c) It was a mugging, you're still a good person coz it's not your problem
    d) Cactus Col*

*see Atari Jaguar thread on AH.