Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whacky rally - St Patricks day festival

• 16-02-2005 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭

WHACKY RALLY 2005
    Sponsored by Formula Sheane

Date: Friday 18 March
    Timing: 6.30 - 9.30pm

St. Patrick’s Festival is organising an event during next year’s festivities ‘Whacky Rally’, Friday 18 March, which I hope you will participate in. The procession of vehicles will celebrate the different types of transport used and enjoyed throughout the country. The Whacky Rally provides a great opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of the finest automobiles from vintage and classic cars to motorbikes.

The vehicles will assemble on Wilton Terrace from 18.30hrs on the night of the event to enable car and bike enthusiasts enjoy the spectacle of this gathering. Refreshments will be served. The MC will announce the launch of the procession of vehicles at 20.00hrs. The vehicles then leave the canalside escorted by the gardai and proceed leisurely northward through the city and then circle Parnell Square and return to Wilton Terrace. It is expected that this will take about 60 minutes to complete.

The MC for the evening will invite the Rally attendees to vote for The Best of Whacky Rally, the Most Original Whacky Vehicle and the Best Whacky Driver’s Outfit: the winning vehicles will sport Whacky Rally rosettes.

Participating organisations will be mentioned in the official St. Patrick’s festival programme.

Should you need further details or clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me. I hope you will be able to take part in this great event - (deadline for receipt of confirmation entry forms (will post this up in this thread...): as soon as possible).

stpatricksfestival.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

St Patrick’s Festival 2005

Whacky Rally
    Sponsored by Formula Sheane

ENTRY FORM

OWNER’S NAME:

ADDRESS:

MAKE AND YEAR of BIKE / CAR :

REG. NO. :

PHONE NUMBER :

DISPLAY INSURANCE AND TAX DISC :

PLEASE RETURN THIS FORM TO Angela Carolan ASAP
    St Patrick’s Festival
    St. Stephen's Green House
    Earlsfort Terrace
    Dublin 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Sounds like it will be a great event.

(......although 6.30-9.30pm seems like a strange time to hold the event. I suppose they want to avoid rush hour, but many classic owners might be reluctant to drive their pride and joy around the city at night)

Could somebody get some pics of the event ?
    (I won't get to see it otherwise :( )

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Gonna be in Edinburgh. :(

Sounds like a good laugh though, despite the odd time (and day)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Paul (MN)

Is anybody planning on going to this?
    Might be a bit of a laugh and a chance to meet each other/others?

I was thinking of bringing my son along so he can say he was in a parade of some kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

If I'm in the country I shall pop along to this..with my camera but without my car, which is still being restored and won't be finished before summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Anyobody going to this ?

I'll pop along with my daughter.......should be a bit of fun !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭camarobill

aaai have a few yank tanks going il b cruzin that night ;)

anybody else got a motor in this, ;) classics belong on the road,not in the garage ;)

I'll be there tonight, white '64 Merc, what are you drivin' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

MercMad wrote:

I'll try to pop in - Fat bloke in a Black '72 Citroën DS.

MercMad wrote:
    sorry only seen ur post now,if u where there it was the black and white 69 camaro convertible,great night had by all,30 or more american motors and loads of class machines :D :cool: :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Practical

camarobill wrote:
    sorry only seen ur post now,if u where there it was the black and white 69 camaro convertible,great night had by all,30 or more american motors and loads of class machines :D :cool: :D:D:D

I remember seeing a camaro actually, beautiful car. There were a good few rides that I've never seen before which was nice!
    Was a good laugh and it attracted a lot of attention. It seems the classic scene is getting bigger in Ireland :cool:

Practical wrote:
    I remember seeing a camaro actually, beautiful car. There were a good few rides that I've never seen before which was nice!
    Was a good laugh and it attracted a lot of attention. It seems the classic scene is getting bigger in Ireland :cool:
    sure was a great night :D well put on,fair play to everyone who made the trip, ;) the gold wing motor bike club where brill,made a show off the cop bikes, :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

Anyone bring a camera?

Musta been fun with 30+ over-heating V8's in traffic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

I was there with the Minis :)

Hope everyone had a good time - doing 60 down o'connell street with a police escort was very cool.

As was the noise from that cobra kitcar :o

gs39t wrote:
    Anyone bring a camera?

Musta been fun with 30+ over-heating V8's in traffic :D
    must b thinkin of vw,no sorry there the best ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

[url]Http://www.miniresource.com[/url]
    DSCN2675.JPG
    DSCN2679.JPG
    DSCN2689.JPG
    DSCN2688.JPG
    DSCN2687.JPG
    DSCN2686.JPG
    DSCN2711.JPG
    DSCN2666.JPG
    DSCN2701.JPG
    DSCN2702.JPG
    DSCN2703.JPG
    DSCN2706.JPG

Sorry my pics are a little bias :o I was quite hungover (hence the slight shake) and could only be bothered to take out the cam for the MiniResource lads :)

Great day though :D

sorry only seen ur post now,if u where there it was the black and white 69 camaro convertible

Yes I saw it ! Fantastic car ! I've looked at it at some of the other car shows !
    Musta been fun with 30+ over-heating V8's in traffic

........yeah there was the odd straight six looking dodgey for a while. It was really too long a wait and the guy in front of me in the Stag lost about a stone worrying !