Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SG:1 - 8x19 - Moebius (Part 1)

• 15-02-2005 9:06pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Howdy. Sooo that wasn't quite what I expected...

Firstly, I thought this was going to be more of an action piece. I thought we'd see Ra in person and more of ancient Egypt. Instead the first part had the production values, etc. more common to a normal episode but with a lot of promise for next week (I didn't watch Sky's spoilerific clips).

Now there was some good points:
    * Yay Goa'uld costumes and Teal'c suiting up

* How much did I laugh aloud when Carter started "Just because my reproductive organs are on the inside rather than the out-" and cut herself off for sounding stupid. I love in-jokes like that, rewarding us long term fans :D

* McKay! Back to sarkier, meanier McKay we knew in SG-1. He immediately stole the scene he was in (I'll assume he'll be back next week).

* Nice cute change details: Major Davis with a moustache, the return of Samuels, and Kinsey as President. Half hoped for Doc Frasier but maybe next week..

* Good to hear about Katherine (I knew it as soon as I heard Daniel on the phone) but where the hell was Ernest at the funeral? Should've been mentioned!

Actors probably had fun but I'm hoping for something meatier next week to set us up for the all-change that will be in S9. *Fingers crossed for Ra*

What did you think of Stargate:SG-1 - 8x19- Moebius (Part 1)? 33 votes

Excellento! Me likey.
    0%
    Good ya. Not saying brilliant - but I'm happy.
    24%
    IvanTompaulj13seamusjhegartyBadly Drunk Boysecret_squirrelSooner or Later 8 votes
    Meh, it was alright...
    42%
    suttyManachEyeKevokmr_angryixoycallmescratchUser45701ShabaduDraupnirBahcase n basketSeedtoiletduck 14 votes
    Poor shows Sir.
    21%
    NietzscheanNeoSlicerZJohnKbada_bingzilpaulyxPrivate Joker 7 votes
    Even a Shou'vah shouldn't be made to watch this...
    12%
    stereo_stevemadrabOmegaRedsteveland? 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Meh, it was alright...
    thought the episode was a wee bit slow to be honest but it had a lot of really great moments. i also thought ernest was gonna pop out at some stage at the funeral, would have been a nice blast from the past!

should be much better action wise next week, but it was vintage SG-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Much slower that I though it would be but was still a classic episode.

Lots of cool Jake moments and even the name of his boat was deadly :)

Was nice seeing Hammond back but walter should of been in it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

Was really slow.... As a huge fan of the movie I was hoping to see Ra's face and some huge palace scene like in the movie.... but i guess not! Teal'c putting on the head gear was class. Really bringing it back to the movie.

Gotta say tho.. Disappointed overall... Hope they are saving their budget for next weeks show and we get an awesome finale like SGA!

Here's Hoping!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Seed

Meh, it was alright...
    Overall I think comedy dominated this episode. So, I wasn't down over the lack of action or whatever.

The one and only thing I was annoyed over was Ra. All I wanted was to see his face. I mean he was the first Goa'uld we come across. It would have been cool to see him giving a little evil, half smile type thing before the jaffa shot that poor bugger =P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I too felt this episode was too slow, but hey, fingers crosssed that it's just a build up to next week. Though I honestly thought we would get to see some Egyptian action, especially when Teal'c donned the horase gaurd.

The 'in-jokes' were a nice addition but didn't make up for it in my opinion.

I thought it was brilliant to see Davis back again, I think he's a great character.
    McKay was as brilliant as he ever is.

Oh yeah, there was a reason we didn't get to see Ra.
    The actor that played him has retired from acting so the maker folk were un-able to get him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Tbh I thought it was pretty crap... wasn't what I was expecting at all.

Some funny moments but just boring overall...

Plus why did Jack become Canadian...
    The actor that played him has retired from acting so the maker folk were un-able to get him.
    Didn't bother them getting RDA instead of Kurt Russel :)

steveland? wrote:
    Didn't bother them getting RDA instead of Kurt Russel :)

True...but getting some random Joe behind a mask was a lot easier than finding someone that looked like the original Ra.

Meh, it was alright...
    I dunno..it shouldn't make a difference really, but I really do feel that having the original Ra would've made that episode so much better.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Its gotta be build-up. People, dont you get it. Sg-1 started the human rebellion on earth that freed their planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Tom

Draupnir wrote:
    i also thought ernest was gonna pop out at some stage at the funeral, would have been a nice blast from the past!

Keene Curtis who play Ernest died 3 years ago but it would have been nice if he got a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ivan wrote:
    Its gotta be build-up. People, dont you get it. Sg-1 started the human rebellion on earth that freed their planet.
    That's what I'm guessing. There'll be some big storyline about what happened to SG-1;
    It would look like somehow Ra found out about them, and that's why he took the stargate with him this time. Then, as Ivan says, they'll incorporate a big causality loop where SG-1 become the catalyst for the rebellion which started the whole thing off in the first place. :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Meh, it was alright...
    seamus wrote:
    That's what I'm guessing. There'll be some big storyline about what happened to SG-1;
    It would look like somehow Ra found out about them, and that's why he took the stargate with him this time. Then, as Ivan says, they'll incorporate a big causality loop where SG-1 become the catalyst for the rebellion which started the whole thing off in the first place. :)
    Yup. Or what I'm thinking is that AlternateJack, AlternateSam, and AlternateDaniel go back in time to rescue our group and tell them what happened - i.e. Ra stealing the gate. Then our guys go back but their alternate versions stay behind to instigate the rebellion, including AlternateDaniel burying the medallion, etc. in the correct places. It would work nicely because the alternate versions were stuck in dead-end positions and freeing Earth from the Goa'uld repression would work nicely.

And, of course, they take the ZPM from the alternate timeline with them so that, when the timeline is corrected, they still have the ZPM... I think :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

True...but getting some random Joe behind a mask was a lot easier than finding someone that looked like the original Ra.

it was acient egypt , all they needed to say was different host.... i seem to remember they change host every now and again .....

Meh, it was alright...
    Yeah. But if I remember correctly, they said ra took the form of a boy. So, the guy we saw in the movie would've been the same one. Probably. I miss him =P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

if this were star trek, the timecops would be *all* over their asses :mad:

Meh, it was alright...
    Thank christ.

But people, in the episode Carter was going on and on and on and on about keeping the timeline in tact. So..if they are the ones who cause the rebellion (which makes sense at this point) then..what I'd like to know is why the sudden change of heart? Surely it couldn't be something as simple as "Well..what if we are the ones who are supposed to start the rebellion?"

Seed wrote:
    But people, in the episode Carter was going on and on and on and on about keeping the timeline in tact. So..if they are the ones who cause the rebellion (which makes sense at this point) then..what I'd like to know is why the sudden change of heart? Surely it couldn't be something as simple as "Well..what if we are the ones who are supposed to start the rebellion?"
    I'm sure we'll find out next week. Most likely they'll describe a story about how SG-1 were found out - Ra notices the ZPM is missing, loses it, rampages into the town and finds a group of strangers, speaking an unknown language, who seem to know a scary amount about the Goa'uld.

Meh, it was alright...
    Seed wrote:
    Reminds me of a short sci-fi story I read by Clarke, or Assimov, or somesuch. It was a time travel story where the tourists went back to different events - in this case it was Jesus' crucifixion. They were told not to do anything wrong, to act as part of the mob whatever their religious beliefs may be.

So off they go and they call for Jesus' death. One punter, however, wanders off from the mob and notices that all the people were in their houses and comes to the realization that the only people in the mob were the time tourists - their own actions precipitated the very thing that they were told not to change in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭norbert64

Nuts, I was hoping they would be able to get him for these 2 eps, I guess not. That said he prolly wouldn't have had that much airtime anyway.

@ Moebius part 1. Said B4, but again a little slow. That said it's nice to have a break, from the all out action, once in awhile.
    The timetravel story is pretty cool, but, Sorry to think so much into it, but R they going to have a crossover ep for Atlantis.
    Maybe they do an ep of Alantis where Tayla, her ppl & some of the other good crew in the Pegasus galaxy discover Atlantis or summit along those lines.
    Coz the current timeline as it stands doesn't allow for the SG-Atlantis crew to exist so they can't nessecarily have Mkay in SG-SG1 & also in SG:A, or are they just going to dismiss it as the timeline is fixed B4 any of that comes into play. (I know, I know just watch the show, stop over-analyzing everything)

Funny line by McKay, about Sam as a sexy librarian, but definitely true.

Anywho, can't wait for part 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Meh, it was alright...
    good episode i like dit well settting the scence for next part hope its not 3parter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Meh, it was alright...
    I think its perfectly conceivable that Ra could have had a different host 5000 years ago, so I was a little disappointed with the mask - and the palace. I would have expected a pretty grand entrance hall rather than the cheap set we saw. Hopefully it was just a back room for gift-givers. I liked the way he dismissed the gift and killed the worshipper though - very Goa'uld.

It was nice to see some use of the staff weapons and the costumes again. In a way, its like the whole franchise has come full-circle - back with a full compliment of System Lords, and all the original series cast. That should leave them open to killing them all off again!

I dont think so myself...about Ra that is, but I'm sure the makers has long heated discussions about what should have been done.

I disagree with Sg-1 staying in ancient Egypt though, there's no way Jack would have agreed to it.
    So a few Jaffa went missing, I doubht that could contaminate the timeline any worse than Ra having a pieve of bloody ancient technology, especially a feckin timeship for that matter!

I dont think so myself...about Ra that is, but I'm sure the makers has long heated discussions about what should have been done.

I disagree with Sg-1 staying in ancient Egypt though, there's no way Jack would have agreed to it.
    So a few Jaffa went missing, I doubht that could contaminate the timeline any worse than Ra having a pieve of bloody ancient technology, especially a feckin timeship for that matter!

all it changed was that Ra took the star gate with him, (i persume becuase of someone SG1 did)....

that explains everything except why sam wasn't in the air force ... anyone ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Johnmb

jhegarty wrote:
    all it changed was that Ra took the star gate with him, (i persume becuase of someone SG1 did)....

Maybe next week it'll turn out that she was, and left when she got her degree because there was nothing to keep her interested, whereas originally she ended up working on the Stargate project which kept her interested.

mr_angry wrote:
    I think its perfectly conceivable that Ra could have had a different host 5000 years ago,
    Indeed - When Apophis died and his original host came to the surface, he was speaking ancient egyptian, which would put the age of the host at around 5000 years. Who knows how long hosts last or how often they change?

Did you even watch the episode? Even if they got their hands on the ancient ship, they wouldnt know or be able to use it. FFS, they had a ZPM in their hands as a religious icon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Meh, it was alright...
    Not quite sure what you mean there Ivan... O'Neill can fly the Ancient vessel.

As regards Seniordingdong's point, you can't just assume that those bunch of Jaffa are irrelevant in the causality loop. What if one of them is a rebel that helps the uprising on earth succeed? What if killing him means the rebellion fails, and earth never escapes from the rule of Ra? From a temporal point of view, you can't just run around randomly shooting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭sutty

Meh, it was alright...
    mr_angry wrote:
    Not quite sure what you mean there Ivan... O'Neill can fly the Ancient vessel.

He means Ra or the Jaffa. They can not use the puddle jumper.

I thought it was a good ep, although a few things got to me. Dannal and Sam's alt nerdy selfs was a bit to over acted and as asked before.... WHEN DID JACK BECOME CANADIAN?!?!?!!!? that one really got to me. I douth the new sam was ever in the army/airforce.

Also why did Ra Leave the time ship but take the gate? I mean even if the ship didn't work. They could still backword engineer it surely?

But still a good ep none the less. I cant wait to see the last one. Does anyone know what the expeced are date is for seasion 9?

Oh and did anyone cop-on to what was on the screen when Proper Sam was talking about the Dautlus (Spell) It was the plan to the ship, looks like the old one. Just that everything is meant to be intergrated in to it, not just "tacked" on as she put it. So maybe a faster Stronger ship. Oh and you have to remember... this is all before the last ep of SG:A. As they haven't properly found the ZPM yet to install on the ship :) A nice little loopwhole there I think.

/Edit:

Oh and a side note, I think Ra takes the Stargate as he finds out that Jack and Dannal go through it in the 1990's and kill him. Remember kiddies, in the Alt time line, Ra is still alive and the Supream System lord :)

Meh, it was alright...
    jhegarty wrote:
    There were a few differences in OriginalTime and AlternateTime that wouldn't be explained by the lack of the gate alone - why, for example, does AlternateMajorDavis have a moustache? Why do they have slightly different tape formats than our world? I don't think there's an obvious Stargate-related reason to this because Sam was still in the Air Force in "Children of the Gods" regardless of the presence of the gate. Guess we're just meant to accept it.
    sutty wrote:
    WHEN DID JACK BECOME CANADIAN?!?!?!!!? that one really got to me.
    *Shrug* He didn't go through the gate, he went up to Canada to escape from the memories of Charlie. Nine years there or so and he had adopted the accent and lifestyle and was a citizen. Works for me.
    Also why did Ra Leave the time ship but take the gate? I mean even if the ship didn't work. They could still backword engineer it surely?
    Yeah I don't buy that either. It's possible SG1 stole the puddle jumper away before Ra could use it because I refuse to believe he'd ignore it. We've always been told the Goa'uld are parasites and just steal from everyone else...

As to the host... Have we ever heard how long, bar major injury, a host can last? And would a Goa'uld ever switch when they didn't need to (e.g. for vanity's sake)? It's certainly not inconceivable given their disregard for everything. That way we could have Ra make an appearance, played by someone other than Mr. Crying Game...

ixoy wrote:
    There were a few differences in OriginalTime and AlternateTime that wouldn't be explained by the lack of the gate alone - why, for example, does AlternateMajorDavis have a moustache? Why do they have slightly different tape formats than our world? I don't think there's an obvious Stargate-related reason to this because Sam was still in the Air Force in "Children of the Gods" regardless of the presence of the gate. Guess we're just meant to accept it.

*Shrug* He didn't go through the gate, he went up to Canada to escape from the memories of Charlie. Nine years there or so and he had adopted the accent and lifestyle and was a citizen. Works for me.

Yeah I don't buy that either. It's possible SG1 stole the puddle jumper away before Ra could use it because I refuse to believe he'd ignore it. We've always been told the Goa'uld are parasites and just steal from everyone else...

As to the host... Have we ever heard how long, bar major injury, a host can last? And would a Goa'uld ever switch when they didn't need to (e.g. for vanity's sake)? It's certainly not inconceivable given their disregard for everything. That way we could have Ra make an appearance, played by someone other than Mr. Crying Game...

they might have left it as invisible until after ra left....

but why didn't they use the time ship then ? ( i think that was 5 years later)...

then go back 505 years (500 minium jump i think) then forward 500 years ... stop their own ship landing (from when sg1 flew in first) , or even better , get them to park the ship somewhere else....

Meh, it was alright...
    jhegarty wrote:
    they might have left it as invisible until after ra left....

but why didn't they use the time ship then ? ( i think that was 5 years later)
    Maybe they were too dead to do anything or they went off with Ra...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

ixoy wrote:
    And, of course, they take the ZPM from the alternate timeline with them so that, when the timeline is corrected, they still have the ZPM... I think :confused:

I bet at the end of the episode they will end up WITHOUT the ZPM because if they get it , it means they basically have unlimited power (i know it evenyually runs out) and that gives them too much of an advantage over the Goa'uld and there will never be that "struggle to survive against massive odds" senario. And that wouldnt make good tv!

Thats why they never end up with the ZPM in sga because all they would have to do is plug it in and power up weapons/shields in the city and the wraith attack wouldnt exactly bother them too much!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭sutty

Meh, it was alright...
    cooperguy wrote:
    I bet at the end of the episode they will end up WITHOUT the ZPM because if they get it , it means they basically have unlimited power (i know it evenyually runs out) and that gives them too much of an advantage over the Goa'uld and there will never be that "struggle to survive against massive odds" senario. And that wouldnt make good tv!

Thats why they never end up with the ZPM in sga because all they would have to do is plug it in and power up weapons/shields in the city and the wraith attack wouldnt exactly bother them too much!!!

ehhhh.... did you watch the last ep of SG:A at all? They (the humans on earth) find the ZPM in a dig site. So thats point one marked off. Then second, they would only be able to rase the shilds as the city is out of defeances that they know of.. Also it Takes 3 ZPM's to power the city fully. You also have to remember that for now the humans on earth dont get to keep the ZPM as it is going to be taken Athlantis in the new ship. Its powering its enginens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

For those wondering why Sam wasnt in the military - dont forget that in the Quantum Mirror episodes that Sam was a Civilian consultant on the stargate program. Therefore we could assume that it was a fairly difficult decision for her to join the Airforce or not. Therefore any tiny change to the timeline could effect that decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Meh, it was alright...
    dont forget, in the first half of Threads I think it was, didnt Anubis change hosts from the big scabby looking lad to the nice healthy new host? I know he was not strictly a gouald at that stage, but still, he had to change host due to health issues. its feasible gouald do the same.

and isis entered sarahs body when she came out of the canopic jar and that certainly wasnt her first host. so i think they could have easily explained away a new host for Ra.

They could have explained another host for Ra...but if they had given him a new host I bet everyoen would still be complaining. Anyway, giving him a new host is practically the same as not showing his face at all.

A goa'uld can keep a human host forever with the zarcophagus.

It doesn't matter if they don't knwo how to/can't use the timeship, it's still a pieve of ancient technology and it is in the hands of a Goa'uld 3000 years before it's supposed to be discovered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

It's been a while since I saw the film, but didn't Ra keep his headgear on infront of the common folk in that too? It was all part of the whole god persona.

Good bloody point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Meh, it was alright...
    MrPinK wrote:
    It's been a while since I saw the film, but didn't Ra keep his headgear on infront of the common folk in that too? It was all part of the whole god persona.
    Correct

A gouauld system lord host can not live forever

Lord Yu Wang Shang T is the oldest of the corporeal system lors anubis is the ordest gouauld but he dosent count.Lord Yu Lord his abality to regenerate in the cercoughus and lost his abalirty to take a new host this means that gouauld system lords do in fact change host every few thousand years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭case n basket

Meh, it was alright...
    User45701 wrote:
    Correct

A gouauld system lord host can not live forever

Lord Yu Wang Shang T is the oldest of the corporeal system lors anubis is the ordest gouauld but he dosent count.Lord Yu Lord his abality to regenerate in the cercoughus and lost his abalirty to take a new host this means that gouauld system lords do in fact change host every few thousand years
    R O F L