Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the first satellite tranmission you have seen ?

• 13-02-2005 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Intelsat, 27.5 degress west, 1985
    Channel : Premiere the movie channel,
    Mirror Vision
    CMT
    not including Russian Tv from Gorizont 1982

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

came home from school, we got satellite installed, walked into the living room and a channel called RTL-4 was on in english with dutch subtitles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

first ever was an Astra promo

at home was a sparkle filled Eurosport
    the joys of installing for the first time on your own

hmmm well sky back when sky movies and sky channel were in the clear-ahhhh the days before subscription and encryption.
    I can remember the old Sky when they showed programmes like the magician and land of the giants amongst others.

Of course there was RTL and Sat1 to corrupt my mind late at night :D tame now but a revolution back then.

Shortly after that I got a 1.5 metre motorised dish and picked up loads of news feeds (and Russian tv from Gorizont) like the ITN one from Washington where yer man snow(now ch4 news anchor) was busy practising his script and combing his hair outside the whitehouse before he went live to itn :D

And then there was an italian guy who before he went live, used to take out a big cigar and smoke it...
    I had Cnn headline news for about a year or so from intelsat before they changed it to the rubbishy(imo) European one.It was like being back in the States being able to watch U.S tv news with U.S adds on tv here and it is nothing like fox-its actually news minus much of the spin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

erm.bout 1996. sky television, i didn't understand it. I saw it as da place were the simpsons was on all day long....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Smeagol

Transmissions by PRO 7, West 3, Tele 5, Bayern 3, ARD 1Plus, RTL Plus on DFS Kopernikus 23,5°e from 06.06.1989. That bird was launched for DTH (Direct to Home) and as a feed for german cable networks.
    And the channels on Astra1 19.2°e later that day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭weehamster

Ah yes, 27.5w, the Astra of the day. You had Music Box which became Super Channel which became NBC Super Channel which became NBC Europe and still going today. Dont forget the old CNN and the Dutch Fav Filmnet.

Later Sky Channel on Eutlesat with UK Dj Pat Sharp and the 'run ronnie, run ronnie, run ronnie'

Remember BSB and their 5 channels including great names like The Movie Channel and the Sports Channel and all received on the famous Squarial Dish (I still have one in the attic somewhere)

The First Astra Satellite and Sky moving on it and setting the the first Analogue channels. The Decoder box (whcih was huge) was seperate from the satellite receiver (not like all in one which appeared later).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭clarkbelt

Anyone remember those two Irish lads who submitted a project to the "Young Scientists Exhibition " involving an antenna of some type to receive satellite transmissions way before we knew what a satellite dish was ? They sent me the instructions to build one , but sadly I never did . circa. 1982 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭telecinesk

BSB, wow that takes me back. Yeah I had one of those things. Still do in attic. But earliest Sat tv was EuropaTv on Olympus 18west(I think) circular pol.1982ish.. Saw a demo in RDS too.
    Mid 80s Tv5 Europe used to transmit in Secam which forced me to go get a nasty transcoder... Folks liked french tv. I see Telecom is still active this way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 meatball1

Air Lingus 1986, TVRO Home Reception :

Builted 1.8 metre prime focus antenna,
    maplin rx kit
    maplin L.N.B kit
    received pictures from 27.5west with sparklies, but it worked.
    Dunnes stores tin foil was the relefector in side the fibre glass antenna,

Real satellite enginners can talk, and work, about the good old days. :D

it was me at Air lingus. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

My first was god in comparison to ye lot only a tiny time ago! (id seen sky signals yonks back in my mates house in the nalogue days but the first on my own) Syria Satellite channel on Telecom2D (8west) in jan 2004 :-D

What a damn addiction it has all turned into...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭inigo

It was only a few months ago with the Lidl system. It was a football game between Besiktas and Athletic Bilbao in Turksat, which most of you will remember reading 'cause I've mentioned it a "few" times... :D

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

The first satellite channel I remember watching was the Sky Channel, in a hotel in Scotland. It was quite a while ago :o

With regards to BSB, am I right in thinking they used C-Band transmissions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Zaphod

Nope, DBS region of Ku-band, circularly polarised.
    http://www.colin99.co.uk/bsb.html

All else being equal, C-Band transmissions require larger dishes than Ku-band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 meatball1

sorry Bite,

BSB (British satellite broadcasting) used Ku Band,
    back in 1990, then joined BSB (British sky broadcast),

open to correction, so long ago.
    meatball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Xcom2

I remember sitting up at night watching sat1 and rtl,friday night softcore. :D

After a few months of that I just had to buy a d-mac decoder(churchill I think) to watch Filmnet and TV1000.I even had to get a 1mt dish to follow the channells to Intelsat. :p

X