Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. Patrick's day

• 13-02-2005 11:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭

Just wondering what people think of the city center on st. patrick's day? I was in there a couple of years ago as my girlfriend at the time was Canadian and wanted to see what it was all about. Anyway, it was a disgrace, drunk scumbags EVERYWHERE, fighting, throwing litter on the ground, pissing all over the place, horrified tourists etc.
    Why is it that anytime you try and have a public event like this, it is ruined by chavs? I've been to many street festivals in Europe, and people have a good time and interact and behave themselves, and the scumbag/chav element just doesn't seem to exist. Is this just an Ireland/UK problem? Because they're the only places I've seen this chav element making a show of us and ruining it for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

You might not have seen them, because you may not know what they look like. Chavs and skangers are easily recognisable in the Uk and Eire.

Any of the streets adjacent to grafton street are just disgusting on paddy's day. But bins can only hold so much - why they don't place more bins down on paddy's day is beyond me. They know there are going to be huge amounts of people in town, and the capacity of the bins cannot accommodate all the extra amounts of rubbish produced.

Its disgraceful really. I'll be living it up in Barcelona on paddy's day this year though!

Oh, and I really hate that word "chav".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

They're trying to change that this year, prob won't work though. They've asked off-licences not to open until the evening time so families can come in watch the parade and go home before it all kicks off. Not sure it'll work and it'll still be awful in the evening but I spose it's worth a try. Anyone in town come see me in the information booth at the bottom of grafton st! Signed up to help in a moment of madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Yeah closing til 6 would be a good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Wasnt Grafton St closed for a short period of the day last year due to a mini riot?
    Something seemed to happen outside McDonalds involving lots of little drunken teenagers throwing things at passers by. The Gards had to close off the street as passersby (tourists mostly) were panicing and could have caused a crush due to the amount of people in that area.
    It just is a disgrace. I wouldnt advise any of my cousins to come here for it. We all just get as drunk as possible to "celebrate" the day of our patron Saint. A good excuse for a piss-up in reality.
    I can bet a lot of people will be taking the Friday off, and the road death count will probably go up that Thurs night / Friday morning....
    Happy Paddies Day indeed.
    Am trying to arrange to spend it abroad with friends somewhere.... and will still end up in a pub of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

Its my birthday on Paddy's day, the big 18, so i have to admit, i like being in town after the parade. Usually good fun. It's true about the rubbish and drunkiness though. Really is a bit of a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

They're trying to change that this year, prob won't work though. They've asked off-licences not to open until the evening time so families can come in watch the parade and go home before it all kicks off. Not sure it'll work and it'll still be awful in the evening but I spose it's worth a try.

That's like asking cadburys not to sell easter eggs around March 27th!!! They have a business to run, and of all days they certainly wont open late on Paddys day!!

Knackers look different in different countries, so where we wouldn't instantly recocognise a spanish knacker by his/her cloths/accent it works the other way to...believe it or not!! Since we can spot scum from miles away in Dublin.....
    Plus it makes it kind of obvious when they're p!ssing off O'Connell bridge into the liffey!!!

Solution: Begin assesing every person in Dublin as to wheter or not they are knackers, when we've found them all deport them to a man made island in the middle of the atlantic, where the 12yr olds can have as many kids as they want...they can mug whoever they want...they can vandalise whatever they want...we'll even give them a few double decker buses so they can sit at the back, talk sh!te and abuse everyone else on it....also their will be no "Dole" for them to spunge off/we pay for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

umm

I think we should ask people from other counties if the dubliners are scumbags.. dubliners might be a little biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

DubGuy22 wrote:
    island in the middle of the atlantic

We live on one. I wonder did europe pack the all the scumbags they had over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

SCT Final YEAH... MARYO'S MARYO'S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

irishgeo wrote:
    We live on one. I wonder did europe pack the all the scumbags they had over here.

lol, very possibly!

I was thinking more along the lines of making one smack bang between here and the US...no ports....just Lesure Plex's and O'Connell streets!
    They'd love it..they wouldn't want to leave!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

its not just dubliner who are scum bags.....skangers are everywhere in ireland. I live 20 miles from dublin and i hate to even go there on a weekend nite- full of drunks startin fights....much prefer my local niteclub and pubs. And i dont have to pay a fortune for drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

What amazes me is that local newspapers are full of court reports for drink related issues. I've yet to see a publican being fined for allowing people to get into the drunken state and then sending them out onto the streets. The publicans are peddling the drug, therefore they are responsible for ensuring that the consumption of the drug on their premises is done responsibly. Perhaps if the law concentrated on the sellers of the drug rather than the consumers, a change might occur in the overall attitude to binge drinking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

the most difficult thing i found the year before last was not being able to cross the street for miles, it was such a crush i wouldn't go again, once you left the parade the place was strewn with rubbish and drunk teenagers... they should have more bins it such a simple thing, whats the theme of this years parade?

it will be strange now with no smoking there'll be even more people on the streets, how will the guards define street drinkers and pub goers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

Id hate to be in Dublin on Paddy's day!
    All the drink consumed in this county on that day will be unreal.
    I wonder how a drunken scumbag would react to a publican(spelling?) refusing them more drink? More fights i presume :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

sure ain't it tradition, i was trying to find the threads on paddy day here last year, there was the grafton street fighting and someone saw someone giving someone a blowjob on the street??? your using google search for the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

whiskeyman wrote:
    Wasnt Grafton St closed for a short period of the day last year due to a mini riot?
    Something seemed to happen outside McDonalds involving lots of little drunken teenagers throwing things at passers by. The Gards had to close off the street as passersby (tourists mostly) were panicing and could have caused a crush due to the amount of people in that area.
    It just is a disgrace.
    yep, i happened to be passing it as it all kicked off. it was outside burger king at the top of grafton st. They started fighting among themselves then. There was about 40 of them in a massive brawl and the garda came along and stuck into them... it was great to see it. Every one of them getting lumped in the paddywagon...