Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

just for fun .saying....

• 04-02-2005 5:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭

my dad comes out with some beautys real dub... north side lol
    anyway id love to know of a few saying that parents or elder members of the irish nationality say.for example.
    my mam says to me . that fella hes a right CURD.
    IE.. BAD PERSON.
    loads of others but im sure we can have a giggle on here bout it.
    get out of that garden
    stop the lights and a million and one others ..
    theres a load of crude ones . like ahh ive an awefull pain me in b_ollo_x looking at him etc...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

well my grandad, god rest him, used to say all the time after referee decisions, planning decisions, loadsa stuff, ''Ah, sure theres roguery in everything''. Doesnt mean much on its own but its was almost expected when something hapened. Twas quite amusing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭littlejay

me auld grand dad used too say holy be to jeazus.
    or ahh hes a right gob ****te lol god reat the both of them real irish sayings are almost dead now adays. i getting a book together if the sponser dosnt let me down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Yeah my Dad's the same way,littlejay.
    Some beauts he comes up with are:

"I don't give two fiddlers"

"You will in your barney do that!"

"Get up out of that" etc.

You've got to love the Dublin lingo! :)

Oh or else when we're leaving someplace and there might be a group of us, my dad will say, ''alrite lads, spread out in a bunch''. I have no idea where it came from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

hehe some good ones there.....my faves are:

"i'll soften your cough for ya"

"that put you back in your box, didnt it?"

"i do in me hole/bollóx/arse"

theres loads more that i cant think of......the Barrytown Trilogy has them all though, class read.

i just love the Dub sarcasm and wit. its great :D

just finished a fun night in the job . yeah right .lol
    heres a few the lads told me.

the head on that,and the price of turnips.
    therel be skin n hair flying in a miniute.
    and heres an odd one.. every cripple has his own way of walking .lol

keep em coming bhoys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

haha cool thread, all so true :)

Heres another one, ive heard of

"Now, put that in your pipe and smoke it" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

There's a few more gems:

"Ah be jaypers!"

"Janey Mac!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

"Pigs is always quite while they're eatin'"
    As a kid when I'd fall or get hurt, was always told "It'll be better before you're twice married"
    "I'm so hungry I'd eat a scabby babby through the back of a chair" That one of my favs... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

:):):)

GAVIN!!! That bastard father of yours could drink off a scabby leg! -my mummy 1995.lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

Gavin: Howeya Ma! What's for me bleedin din din?! :D
    Mammy: Dog's cough cake, and cat's malackies! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭frodi

From my grandma, a real lady! (northsider)
    "Do you want a crooked way of farting"
    "Ask me arse"

From school days
    "Get up the yard, there's the smell of benjy of ye"
    "Are you talking to me or chewing a brick"

From me ma
    "I'll knock your teeth so far down your throat that you'll have to shove a toothbrush up your arse to clean them"

AlienGav wrote:

Try
    "Diarrohea custard, diarrohea pie,
    All washed down with a deads mans eye,
    Snots on toast, three inches thick,
    All washed down with a cold cup of sick!

just a stupid non sencical one . colin farell.
    and all in anyways?
    cant make head nor tail of it...lol

theres a few rude ones i know of . but dont want to get banned.
    but heres a quick one. girl bends over shows her ass in tight jeans. fella says jezus id never eat all of that . lol classic dub slang . a1. keep em coming
    cherio lads... littlejay...

I heard a young wan say of a good looking gentleman
    "I'd eat coleslaw outta his jocks"

ahh look at him hes lapping it up.
    ie.. lovin it...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Givin' it socks

How d'ye like those apples

Id put a bun in her oven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mobile04

ahh yeah mate thats pants . fcukin hate that
    or alright horse?
    hate that one 2.

Or from football matches-
    ''Take it yourself ref!!''

''Jaysus what game are you lookin at ref?''

''Put on a <insert opponents colour here> jersey ref!!''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Romo

littlejay wrote:
    my dad comes out with some beautys real dub... north side lol
    anyway id love to know of a few saying that parents or elder members of the irish nationality say.for example.
    my mam says to me . that fella hes a right CURD.
    IE.. BAD PERSON.
    loads of others but im sure we can have a giggle on here bout it.
    get out of that garden
    stop the lights and a million and one others ..
    theres a load of crude ones . like ahh ive an awefull pain me in b_ollo_x looking at him etc...lol

"Stop the lights" :) It just came back to me.

That was from "Quicksilver", Bunny Carr used to present it. People would say "Stop the lights, Bunny." I was about 2 and a half at the time.

The prize fund would increase by 50p every round. People would end up playing for £5.50.

I used to watch "Going Strong" also presented by Bunny, it was on in the afternoon and the audience was made up of people over the age of 70.

Now we've got "The Afternoon Show" and discussions about clitoral orgasms. :eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

heard this one today:

"here listen to me, tell me this and tell me no more"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

"**** or get off the pot" was one my father used to use

whenever you brought a girl home he would say "huh you dont look at the mantlepiece when poking the fire i suppose"

just two that I can remember at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

prolly still used today.......

My Dad....will ever ask the but end of me prick :D

Granny.... well holy lantern jaysus ...classisc

omg i often hear myself say this.....sure it isn't.....like wtf :rolleyes:

remember...Alright bosco :confused:

and last of all, g/f's father from Monaghen....i'd eat the arse of a low flyin duck...said with a strong castleblaney accent :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

AlienGav wrote:
    Spiders legs and pigs crubeens were always my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

My dad's a fan of:

"Now we're sucking deisel(sp?)"

thats an awefull kip.
    your an awefull man etc etc..
    youd give an aspro a headache ..

also quick joke. auld timers one.

man goes in to a butchers . have you got a sheeps head? butcher replys.
    no. its just the way i part me hair.
    a joke my dad should of killed and put to bed years ago. but i still love the fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Yeah, sheep are funny. Cows are overrated in their comedy value, so are pigs, but sheep..