Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

i have a problem

• 30-01-2005 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

you see theres this girl i like and whenever i try to talk to her some guys who dont like me for some reason start making fun of me and yelling bad things about me

i know i shouldnt care about people like that and just ignore them but i think the girl i like is starting to get the wrong idea from them and it might make her hate of fear me

any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Talk to her when they're not around. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

rip off your shirt and strangle the other guys with it. women are impressed with this.*

*I swear

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

banquo wrote:
    rip off your shirt and strangle the other guys with it. women are impressed with this.

banquo
    read the charter with regards to unwelcome comments such as this one
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

those guys aren't around you all the time are they, if so, then they must like you as they are stalking you.
    try and arrange to meet her somewhere in town, a cafe for example, tons around, and I don't think you would run into them that fast.
    If you like her, then I think it is worth the effort imo.
    If she likes you to any degree, I don't think she will mind this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Gilgamesh wrote:
    those guys aren't around you all the time are they, if so, then they must like you as they are stalking you.
    try and arrange to meet her somewhere in town, a cafe for example, tons around, and I don't think you would run into them that fast.
    If you like her, then I think it is worth the effort imo.
    If she likes you to any degree, I don't think she will mind this

well i think she at least thinks of me as a friend and i have talked to her a few times

the thing is im less afraid of getting slagged by them (im used to simply being mocked by now) than i am of her hearing it and thinking its true (some of the stuff they say about my intentions toward her is pretty nasty) and even more shy of actually asking her out or anything like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Eh, how old are they? Just ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

just talk to her and dont mind those guys. try to be a little more confident, mabye. If she really is sound or lieks you she wont mind what anyone says to you/her. Go for it man!

Victor wrote:
    Eh, how old are they? Just ignore them.

i guess i should have said in the first post that everyone i mentioned including myself is in or around 15/16

i do talk to her (or try) but its kinda awkward talking to anyone - not just this girl - when the likes of one of them comes over and listens in with others staring and yelling rather obscene remarks about my intentions toward her

she usually walks away at that point and i think it would look a bit ... clingy ... if i then followed her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

(some of the stuff they say about my intentions toward her is pretty nasty)

I bet its true though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

You should take up a Martial Art, no I'm not sayin this so ya can learn some fancy moves to use on these guys. Self Defence and MA training is not about that, it teaches one how to react and deal with such situations, as well as giving you confidence (which from what I read you could do with), along with building up your self esteem, and making you a better person!

Fighting these guys is always a last resort, and I for one do not encourage it. And I do not suggest you do MA for these reasons. But you do need to learn how to stand up for yourself, boost your confidence, and learn how to handle these muppets.

well i have no intention of fighting them. its not so much a question of confidence. i would be able to talk to her easily if it weren't for all those guys. that's precisely the problem.
    DRakE wrote:
    I bet its true though.

ummm... are you joking? i have nothing but the noblest intentions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭The Fitz

Try it again, if they say anythin then jus say somethin back to them like "ur ma" that gets em pissed off, martial arts is a good idea, wgere u go to a hard are? templeogue? terenure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

fitzer you fool.. you'd look like a sap if you said "your ma".. weel that's explain your lack of achievement with girls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

the blokes slaggin u are jealous of u. the bird must be pretty fine. i'd say they were turned down by her or are still tryin to get stuck into her. slaggin u is their way of being the "alpha-male" and appearing superior to you so the girl (they think) will prefer them to you. if u cant get any privacy, just text her sayin them blokes are arseholes and what they're sayin isn't true! if u dont deny it, she'll start believin them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Beruthiel wrote:
    banquo
    read the charter with regards to unwelcome comments such as this one
    B

lol :D

Anyway, just slag them back...nothing so bad you'll get your ass kicked, but stick up for yourself...then whenever you get her alone, make sure you get a good slag in about them, let her know you think they're knobs, they always give you sh!t, so you just give it back...

That way she wont think your a pussy, and she'll understand that they are just some random gimps.

yea, nothin'd piss these guys off more than to see you go out with her, get her alone, if she says yes then they can't do anything cuz if they beat u up then she'll see what they're really like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

haha.. man you seem to have some worries about these guys.. Like are they even her friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

DRakE wrote:
    I bet its true though.
    So you do want to f*ck her. There's nothing wrong with that. Your 16 ffs! :D

On the serious side of things, when they're there, make or break, and ask her out. If she says no, you then know. Whereas if she says yes (and proberly will if she's still talking to ye), then it'll totally sicken the muppets. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Ah jaysus, limit this area to over 18's, "people shout at me" boo hoo, grow up

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

BolBill wrote:
    Ah jaysus, limit this area to over 18's, "people shout at me" boo hoo, grow up

bolbill
    please read this forums charter
    B

yeah and its not just adults who have problems you kno bolbill. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ha! No point in denying it, you *would* like to get down and dirty. You're male. :D

Anyway, there's a good chance that if they're saying this stuff whenever you talk to her, that she hears it, and sees you going bright red. She knows that you're into her. And yet she doesn't run away.

This is a good sign, it means that you have a passing chance. Just ask her out, she's probably been dying for you to do it.

yea the worst she'll say is no, give it a shot, let us no the score

Shrimp wrote:
    Like are they even her friends?

no and i dont think they are fancy her either

you all seem to have gotten the wrong idea i dont think most of them have ever even spoken to her

its just because they dont really like me for no real reason and will try to turn anything against me

all ive really done so far is talk to her and they dont even know what i was talking about

and bolbill i think it is you that needs to grow up judging by your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

yeah theyre just being childish...do they know you?You should just tell them to fúck off or grow up cause if you just do nothing theyll know they got through to you good luck hunny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Yeah, exactly, just stop dead in conversation with this girl, stare down the main offender of the group, and then say "Now toddle along child"... while waving your hand in the direction of where ya want em to go.

The girl will find it amusing at least... and ya just managed to bug the guys! Try it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Try looking over and laughing at them, and then getting her to laugh at them. They'll see that theyre getting no reaction. That'll make them realise what gobshítes they're being. Aint so funny when the jokes on them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

seriously youll be ok im in the same age group, so at this stage she prob knows how spasticated they are by now! good luck luv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

You haven't given much information, but

Sounds to me like you're in a class situation, and whenever you have a chat with her before class, these morans are roaring out "He wants to ride ya" etc. Unfortunately for you these guys probably get a good laugh out this behaviour and are not going to stop.

When i was at school two quiet guys sat up front in one of my classes. All the backrow cool guys saw them as easy targets before class and started shouting "Look at the two gays, they wanna get off with each other" the two lads turned red, and the whole class started laughing at them because they wanted to be in the "in crowd".

The two quiet guys resolved this by not sitting together again. Motto of the story, they probably won't stop, you're going to have to work around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

he has a point, unfortunately there are too many a$$holes in the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

You do want to ride her though right?

.logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭planck2

That is a stupid question, he's 16 and male, need I add more. Listen kid, just ask her out and while your at it make them look foolish by doing it maturely, she 'll see your maturity and you'll have her in the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I know I'm about two months late for this, but if you want one phrase that'll put ANYONE down in this situation, it's "STOP ****ING SHOWING OFF...GOD!"

Swear to God it works every time. And they can't jump you either cus that would be considered showing off too. So they'll sulk and you'll win. Easy.

Hopefully that'll be of some help to...somebody...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Okay obviously these dudes are majorly immature. Get your friends to walk with you and when they start slagging you, get your mates to yell things at them, like "Anyone who told you to be yourself couldn't have given you worse advice", "Are you always so stupid or is today a special occasion?", or "Can I borrow your face for a few days while my ass is on vacation?"

Meanwhile drag the girl away and gobsmack her.

Ask her out and end the mortification!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Zoned

Dinxminx wrote:
    .......Ask her out and end the mortification!

Thats the one....Dinxminx..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Dinxminx wrote:
    Meanwhile drag the girl away and gobsmack her.
    Now now, beating her up won't resolve anything.

Anyway... yes I agree that they're only doing this because they have the hots for this girl and don't wanna see you going out with her so they're trying to make you look like an idiot. Can you not talk to this girl when they're not around? Is she friends with these guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Gobsmack her as in kiss her without her expecting it, tiffany....

I think that would be pretty cool! Though you might want to be sure of her attitude towards you unless you want a slap on the face....