Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best permanent hair dye?

• 29-01-2005 8:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Whats the best brand for permanent hair dye?
    I want to dye my hair dark brown, but the dyes I use always seem to wash out after a few weeks.

Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

see this link..linky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Sarz

Ahh..thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭shelly04

dont dye it yourself.
    recipe for disaster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

i always use Feria and i find its grand, the last brown colour i put in is still goin strong, though not as dark but its still a strong brown colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

sarz, what is your natural hair colour?
    shelly04 wrote:
    dont dye it yourself.
    recipe for disaster

That's BS to be quite frank.

no its not my mate dye dher hair herself during the summer, a lighter blonde thab she was naturally and it turned green

So your mate screwed up her hair, and that means ANYONE dyeing their hair will mess it up aswell?
    No. Odds-wise, I think I know one person ever that's messed up their own hair by dyeing it at home, everyone else has been fine, so please don't make generalising statements based on one person's bad experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

shelly04 wrote:
    no its not my mate dye dher hair herself during the summer, a lighter blonde thab she was naturally and it turned green
    What did she use.
    I honestly can't believe stories I hear of people turning their hair green or pink by accident. Esp blonde. Its feckin peroxide, the only thing that can happen is that it turns your hair blonde. Thats it, thats what it does to things, it doesn't turn them green, unless your hair was a really dark green to begin with.

On that note I'm off to do a self dye job as I type.

What did she use.
    I honestly can't believe stories I hear of people turning their hair green or pink by accident. Esp blonde. Its feckin peroxide, the only thing that can happen is that it turns your hair blonde. Thats it, thats what it does to things, it doesn't turn them green, unless your hair was a really dark green to begin with.

On that note I'm off to do a self dye job as I type.
    im not sure of the brand of dye, will check with her though. it wasnt green as in this but youd notice it.. and i know another girl who had been getting copper highlights done for the past 2 years, it didnt really look copper anymore so she decided to dye it back to her natural colour, her auntie done it in her salon for her but she had to put a red colour over the copper before the brown went in to stop it turning green i think.

koneko wrote:
    So your mate screwed up her hair, and that means ANYONE dyeing their hair will mess it up aswell?
    No. Odds-wise, I think I know one person ever that's messed up their own hair by dyeing it at home, everyone else has been fine, so please don't make generalising statements based on one person's bad experience.
    well if someone told her that then she might not have screwed it up...theres ALWAYS that risk regardless. its not that i dont dye my hair myself, i do, just not permanent. At least with semi permanent itll wash out or it can be stripped, and there isnt any amonia in the semis.. therefore less harmful to the hair.

there's always a risk with everything, but you don't come into a thread and tell someone "don't do it, it'll go wrong" because that's just plain BS. If you want to post, and outline the risks or link to a website, grand, but that isn't what you did. Spreading misinformation is just plain wrong.

koneko wrote:
    there's always a risk with everything, but you don't come into a thread and tell someone "don't do it, it'll go wrong" because that's just plain BS. If you want to post, and outline the risks or link to a website, grand, but that isn't what you did. Spreading misinformation is just plain wrong.
    i sowwy