Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car broken into. Phone & keys robbed, scumbags have address.

• 28-01-2005 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭

.....well i have to assume they have the address.

Looking for a bit of advice.

Last night around 7.30 I was playing 5-a-side soccer on astroturf near where i live. Parked the car right beside the pitch i was on. I had given a friend a lift so he left his tracksuit top with his keys and phone in the pocket. I left my phone near the dash also. Neither the top or phone was of any great value and I drive a Punto.

Came out after the game and found the car door ajar. Thinking i'd forgotten to lock it i hopped in hoping no one had taken the chance to grab anything inside. 2 phones, keys and €50 cash gone. It wasn't til a mate walked around and had a look at the lock and saw it had been done.

Drove home a little pissed of as you can expect consoling myself that i hadn't got my laptop in the back like i sometimes do or maybe a wallet. Decided it could have been worse.

Got a call this morning from the friend to say that he had got a call from a few friends asking why a Guard had been ringing them looking for his address to return his phone.

checked it up and as expected the cop doesn't exist where he said he did. Phone has been locked now but obviously with his entire address book its not good.

from enquiring with vodafone €10 has been used on the account, that's a good few calls. Cops have been notified of all details and house locks are being changed.

Anything i've missed that should be done? Anyone ever in the same situation?

I was no more than 20 ft from the car the whole night, albeit the other side of a fence so i'm really wondering how i didn't hear anything but i guess when you're playing ball you tune out slightly.

thanks in advance to those with advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm guessing the lock was broken on the side that was facing away from you? Seriously, 30 seconds, the scum just have to go up to your car, knees bent (ie out of sight), pop the lock and go. They'd have it done in the time it took you to turn away and tell someone to pass you the ball.

I think everything you've done there is about it. I assume someone actually gave his address? They don't wait long to try rob the house because they know the locks will be changed quickly. If he wasn't broken into last night, then they may try over the weekend. Did the Gardai say anything about this, and mention anything about having Gardai close to the house for if/when the scumbags show up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Keep a hurley by the bed for a few nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

I think everything you've done there is about it. I assume someone actually gave his address?

i'm still not sure about that. at the moment it seems no one has given the address but we have to assume someone might have. locks are being changed anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

get a loan of a big dog for a while. maybe let the neighbours know to keep a look out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

The best way to deal with bogus calls like that where you want to be sure who you are talking to is to say "Hi I need to do XXXX can you give me a number I can call you back at". (XXX can be like, feed the baby, stop the kitchen from burning down, etc).

That way you get a number to call back from. If they give you the mobile number or make some excuse then you know something is up.

I don't know how the police operate but I suspect they wouldn't ask for an address but to give a contact number, actually not sure they would even give the exact details of why they are ringing to strangers on the phone.

You should be changing you house locks anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I wouldnt worry about it to much...probably kids trying to put the sh!ts up you cause "it's a rapid buzz", if i was you i'd be extra vigelent for a few days, have a odd look out the window, and dont have telly/music playing to loud at any point, leave a bedroom light on at night if you can also...but i wouldnt imagine anything elsewill come from it tho.
    Good move changing the locks...but its annoying man...i know how you feel :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

it's your own fault tbh.. why did you leave your shít in the car, you were just asking to be robbed

i'd say that will be in the end of it alright but really hadn't planned on having to change the locks. its not my house but i feel very bad for the friend. All i can say is i'm almost glad they popped the lock. On a very rare occasion i've left the car unlocked, maybe on the drive and playing ball for an hour next to it is one of the situations where i'd forget.
    Had the door been unlocked and they stuff grabbed i'd be feeling very bad right now.
    it's your own fault tbh.. why did you leave your shít in the car, you were just asking to be robbed

there's always one. :)

because i was was wearaing shorts and a jersey. thanks for the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Of course it's not the little scumbags' fault because they come from an "underpriveledged background" no doubt... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I think you should also get a list of all numbers dialled and texts sent from your phone after it was robbed. Ring up Vodafone and tell them you want exact details of where that €10 went. Not trying to worry you, but those scum could've sent anything using your number.

Oh and change the locks on your house, and like someone suggested, do sleep with a baseball bat for a while, preferably a steel one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭davidoco

The new Punto is a joke as far a security. They just bend the upper part of the door back and open the door, no problem. When mine was broken into I just bent it back and it's as good as new.

Vodafone customers on bill pay should sign up for "My vodafone" as you can see the recent (all) call details online. In the above case it is ideal to see what numbers were rang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Absolute scumbags. That infuriates me!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

which astroturf park were you at, I play in coolock every tuesday and a friend of mine had his car robbed xmas week. scumbags,

Glad I had the windows on my car tinted, even though I never leave stuff on display its worth the few quid as it looks very suspect when scum heads try to see whats inside and draws attention when they try so they move onto the next car. (hope it was not yours!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭rubberduckey

Ah Quarryman, thats a real pain! scumbags. By any chance were you parked in the AstroPark in Tallaght or was it elsewhere?? Might be a good warning for the rest of us who play on the various Astro parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:

Fu0king Idiot

i was playing on the 5-a-side pitches in Celbridge on the Dublin road.

Apparently a BMW was done also. The main car park is actually covered by CCTV but the sides (where i was parked) is not.

its actually smart place to hit tbh. players roll on and off the pitches on the hour. between those times people rarely move about the car park at all.

egan007 wrote:
    Fu0king Idiot
    why so?

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    why so?

read the 2nd line of my post.

you might have missed it.

and?

my advice is to not leave your shít in your car.. i mean you openly admit to leaving your car unlocked and leaving a laptop in the back.. you even left the phone by the dash..

are you really shocked that you were robbed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭AlisonB

i'm not sure - but do vodafone not give you a breakdown on last dialed numbers etc from your online account? (*could be 02*)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

tinkerbell wrote:
    I think you should also get a list of all numbers dialled and texts sent from your phone after it was robbed. Ring up Vodafone and tell them you want exact details of where that €10 went.

and maybe all the recipients will/could say they got bogey texts/calls if you really think the garda will chase that up :)

even though they are scum for what they did, the moral is if they don't see anything worth nicking they most likely won't be interested

don't leave your phone on the dash !!!

it just screams take me please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭boo4842

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:

He does have a point.

You have no right to leave your possesions locked in a your own car, and reasonably expect someone not to commit a crime. Maybe in Afghanistan where they chop off a hand for stealing you could feel secure, but we don't live in Afghanastan now do we?! Unless you wish you lived in Afghanistan under the Taliban regime. Do you support them? Do you blow up buildings too?

You can't just lock up your things to keep them safe, you need armed guards or just don't by things other people could steal ... terrorist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I'm curious about one thing - alarm! did you not have a car alarm? Not having a car alarm in extended Dublin is just asking for trouble.

Next you'l be posting cursing some poor girl for getting pregnant because you had no condom on.

Seriously I wouldn't take any chance once your keys are gone - change your locks - who knows how someone might get your address. Phone might be locked but your mates numbers are still there and you may not know if any of them will give out your address unknowingly.

I'm curious about one thing - alarm! did you not have a car alarm? Not having a car alarm in extended Dublin is just asking for trouble.

don't you mean not having a car alarm in any 1st world country or even 2nd world country and probably 3rd world country as well, easy pickings don't just happen in dublin i am afraid to tell you or did you not know ?

do people not watch the ads it's only easy for the scum if you make it easy for them :(

D!ve^Bomb! wrote:
    and?

my advice is to not leave your shít in your car.. i mean you openly admit to leaving your car unlocked and leaving a laptop in the back.. you even left the phone by the dash..

are you really shocked that you were robbed?

i've maybe had a laptop in the back twice and never left it unattended, all i'm saying is that i could have.

the phone was **** and had stopped working properly so i didn't think much of leaving it visible.

either way lesson is learned.

Dive bomb...dont be such a twat....its not his fault if his locked private property was broken into...and he doesn't "only have himself to blame"....he has the little w@nker who did it to blame, and any1 who isnt a twat would place all the blame with the scumbag...not the victim!! :rolleyes:

of course its not his fault his car was broken into, but do you not think if the phone was out of view his odds of his car not being broken into would have gone up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭PADDYPOKER

These guys will break into ANY car where there is something showing even an empty bag. They will break into "old" cars to drive away in, as most of them do not have immobilisers fitted. Alarms are pretty much useless as they will have legged it before you have realised what is going on. I'm sure you're sick of hearing it but never leave anything showing, always stick it in the boot.

d22ontour wrote:
    of course its not his fault his car was broken into, but do you not think if the phone was out of view his odds of his car not being broken into would have gone up

ya thats true, obviously, my point is just that the odd time you forget dosen't make a break in your fault...its always the scumbags fault...if there wasnt any scumbags around we wouldnt have to always hide everything...

DubGuy22 wrote:
    ya thats true, obviously, my point is just that the odd time you forget dosen't make a break in your fault...its always the scumbags fault...if there wasnt any scumbags around we wouldnt have to always hide everything...
    well of course that's always true... MY POINT is that if there was nothin on view then there's a pretty damn good chance nothin would have happened, hence the original poster is somewhat responsible.. it's not fair but it's the way it is

DubGuy22 wrote:

well blame god for that roflol

he put us here and gave us brains to think

and so gave the scummers brains to be little thieving gits :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭boo4842

d22ontour wrote:
    don't you mean not having a car alarm in any 1st world country or even 2nd world country and probably 3rd world country as well, easy pickings don't just happen in dublin i am afraid to tell you or did you not know ?

do people not watch the ads it's only easy for the scum if you make it easy for them :(

I live in Canada, and only even know of one person that has an alarm on their car, because he has $2000 in stereo equipment installed. I have never met a single person with an alarm on their house here either. When I took my gf over to Dublin to visit, the first thing she noticed was all the alarms going off everywhere.

I lived for 15 years in my house as a child, and never even had a key for the house because it was never locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

Ah...
    Thats glorious Canada for you!!!
    Whats crime eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

boo4842 wrote:
    I live in Canada, and only even know of one person that has an alarm on their car, because he has $2000 in stereo equipment installed. I have never met a single person with an alarm on their house here either. When I took my gf over to Dublin to visit, the first thing she noticed was all the alarms going off everywhere.

I lived for 15 years in my house as a child, and never even had a key for the house because it was never locked.
    /me identifies a lucrative business venture

ColHol wrote:
    /me identifies a lucrative business venture