Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men's fashion- young

• 27-01-2005 5:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Hi, I need some advice from a girls perspective, what clothes are are currently fashionable for men. I was told I look dated :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

I was told I look dated :(

Does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

What are you wearing? Flares and a tank top?

Wear what you feel comfortable in, and feck the begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I think men look good in well-cut, well-tailored clothes.

Unfortunatley, most Irish men wear worn out, shapeless, logo-strewn rags so that's probably what you'll have to wear if you want to be "trendy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 shazza1

not checked shirts......never......never.........never! I live in roscommon and it annoys me when i go out at weekends and see all these checked shirts all shoved into their horrible farmer jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

TmB wrote:

Wear what you feel comfortable in, and feck the begrudgers.
    aye! I run around in v.baggy combats, t-shirt, hoodie myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Hi, I need some advice from a girls perspective, what clothes are are currently fashionable for men. I was told I look dated :(

Do you think you look dated?

I wouldn't worry about it to be honest. If you like what you wear, and you feel comfortable in it then it's fine. If you start wearing things you're not too sure of, then you won't be able to relax.
    TmB wrote:

I wear flares or bootcuts the whole time. Tank top I'd be a bit wary of, but some people get away with it.. girls usually ;)

Kev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

i wear what i want and most people don't like it so i say fu(k the lot of them and wear it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

You could ask someone 'in the know' to go shopping with you, or a friend of mine swears by buying the clothes off (not literally) the shop dummies in the window.

Personally I just buy clothes I like which probably explains my "dress in the dark" image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭mwnger

I was told I look dated

Well, unless you're dressed like Zak Morris from Saved By The Bell, then there's no such thing as dated - it's called retro chic! Tell them to cop on, and wear what you think looks good.

Besides, nobody knows what they're talking about when it comes to fashion, including fashion designers. In fact there's no such thing as fashion, only style. I suggest you find your own 'style'. You don't wanna look like everybody else do you?

Actually that early 90's Saved By The Bell look is due comeback I reckon. Now to find me a pair of runner-boots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

simu wrote:
    I think men look good in well-cut, well-tailored clothes.

Unfortunatley, most Irish men wear worn out, shapeless, logo-strewn rags so that's probably what you'll have to wear if you want to be "trendy".
    made me smile :)

yes for christ sake guys get stuff that fits, don't wear baggy clothes they just look stupid.

and would it kill ya's to do a situp now n then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭ether

We're in the Noughties now, anything goes. You could probably get away with a Paisley shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

Watch the programme THE OC, the geek look is back in thanks to good old Seth. Basically strippy t-shirts, polo t-shirts. chinos, converse or vans runners.

Or you can just go with normal fashionable- head for your nearest Jack Jones, they have a great selection, I kit my boyfriend out in their stuff, really trendy and not too expensive.

For going out....jeans, nice pair of loafers, slogan or trendy type of t-shirt and a blazer suit type jacket...i relly love that look, you can get all of that in Jack Jones or River Island which is a bit pricier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

"made me smile

yes for christ sake guys get stuff that fits, don't wear baggy clothes they just look stupid.

and would it kill ya's to do a situp now n then!"

Sure no problem once you girls start dressing like the hookers in amsterdam windows and 34dd is the smallest pair of tits I can see.

Pot kettle yada yada

ChRoMe

ChRoMe wrote:
    "made me smile

and would it kill ya's to do a situp now n then!"

Sure no problem once you girls start dressing like the hookers in amsterdam windows and 34dd is the smallest pair of tits I can see.

Pot kettle yada yada

ChRoMe
    1st off, i'm a guy :)
    2nd I have a six-pack :P
    3rd STFU!
    ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

azezil wrote:
    1st off, i'm a guy :)
    2nd I have a six-pack :P
    3rd STFU!
    ^_^
    That's cause your gay and have taste; straight guys don't have any.

Ah now I understand your only a honorary girl.

Anyway what does someone who only blew their load at 24 know about sex??

bump de bump de bump

we're talking about fashion...
    side note i've probably had more sex *this week* than you've had in the past 5 years :P

"side note i've probably had more sex *this week* than you've had in the past 5 years"

well your definition of sex seems to be quite different to other peoples so fair enough.

Since we are on side notes at the moment, there is a difference between having a "six pack" and being skinny. A six pack and being under weight are two different things. Just thought it might make you less snap happy with that camera huh?

ChRoMe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

ChRoMe wrote:

Pot kettle yada yada

ChRoMe

That's cause your gay and have taste; straight guys don't have any.

That's what this thread is indicating anyway. :rolleyes:

No argument (wow!) from me on that one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

NeoSlicerZ wrote:
    aye! I run around in v.baggy combats, t-shirt, hoodie myself

listen to this guy! now that is style!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

If you're really concerned River Island do a personal shopping service for free with no obligation to buy - get an appointment, get them to dress ya in whatever they think suits ya, and if you like it either buy it there or go somewhere else and buy something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

River Island stuff is cack tho

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

not that I disagree or anything, but "river island is cack" is hardly constructive criticism..

come on people, let's help each other look GOOD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Get yourself a pair of flared cords, a nice shirt, a pair of boots, and you're done. Make sure you avoid those idiotic Topman slogan tshirts though. Might aswell smear poo on yourself, you'll probably look better.

And yes, river island is cack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

listen to this guy! now that is style!

yup! she speaks the truth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

River Island stuff is cack tho

Well like if you steer clear of the aforementioned RI/Topman tshirts with stupid logos you'll be fine.

Envy on South Anne Street are good - decent prices, sale still on, and decent clothes.

Tricky, what age are ya?

Chris

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

wello tailored clothes are always a plus....

how old are you? if your in college you can get away with the classic cartoon t-shirt option.....

me myself, i wear shirts and slacks,
    keeps the bess girls gagging for it... if you know what i mean.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

me myself, i wear shirts and slacks,
    keeps the bess girls gagging for it... if you know what i mean.....

No, I think it's your stentch that has them gagging. :p

WexCan wrote:
    Well like if you steer clear of the aforementioned RI/Topman tshirts with stupid logos you'll be fine.

Envy on South Anne Street are good - decent prices, sale still on, and decent clothes.

Tricky, what age are ya?

Chris
    agreed, i like a lot of the stuff they do in Envy, also one on Henry St.