Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

disable or delete password from win98 pc

• 23-01-2005 1:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭

I got athlon 2400 at xmas with win98 installed, i can install games but,it wont let me install daemon tools, cos i dont have administratror password, i need to log on as administrator is there any way i can delete password for adminisrator, i think its win98 se.or even find it or use regedit or download prog to find it or change it or delete it. I need to install cdrom emulator ,getting tired of swapping cds to play cod etc.I ,d appreciate any help.thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭gamer

I need to log on as administrator ,log on box pops up ,need second password for administrator mode to install progs utilitys.any way to disable or delete this,i sent txt to former owner he doesnt remember password.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

not really afaik, some things you could try though, boot live linux cd, get sam and system files and crack 'em, or reinstall windows

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There is no local password in windows 3.0 /3.1 / 3.11 / 95 /98/98Se /ME
    press Esc instead of loging in.

Athlon 2400 with 98 ?
    sounds strange , it can't be OEM or retail license unless they had a very dusty copy so you may not have a legit copy there ! (I could be wrong and maybe you've used a non-OEM copy)

So it sounds more like another OS cos there is an admin password in NT / 2K / 2003/XP and it's the one that was entered when the PC was setup, if it's a home PC it may be blank.

start - run - winver to see the version of windows

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

gamer wrote:
    ,i sent txt to former owner he doesnt remember password.
    that's the problem with tabbed browsing, you can open millions of windows and by the time you go back again there are other posts :D

You could ask him for other users pw if they still exist - as maybe they are in the admin group - or you could add yourself to the admin group or you could reset the admin pw. not going to explain where as it is different for nt/2k/pro/home (/mini rant)

other wise there is a disk that resets the admin password - have a search on the forums as others have posted it before.

Its legit, i have win98 disk original cd with serial no,, this pc bought from member of boards .ie , theres no way i,m gonna reinstall win98, cos it took me hours to install games wordprocessors viruschecker etc, ill find way to delete it from reg or or just change it to nologon no password.thanks ,ill search for disk.i bought it for friend 6months ago and then bought it from him for 460euro.it was advertised on for sale on boards.ie.some ejjit put in password as precaution 2months ago.be4 i bought it back.

i prefer win98 for games cos i only have256meg ram ddr at present, win98 i find to faster for loading games.and thats all owner had installed anyway.

ITS definitely win98 ,i can bypass logon box by pressing esc ,but when i try install daemon tools it says u must go to administrator mode to install this prog,wont let me go further, i didnt even look at control panel passwords accounts or passwords yet ,i just thought i cud use regedit or some util to delete or reset it, i,m using pcs 20 years i know what os ,im using .i bought it as win98pc ,he didnt have anything else or else held onto winxp 4 his own use, this is a self build pc.I have used all os,s back to dos 5 ,DOS 6, when win95 was but a glimmer in bill gates eye.Its not win 2k, thats no use in regard to games ,shortage of device drivers re card etc.it was WIN98 top of START MENU.it cud be user or guest account ,i just dont know password.when i started building pcs it was 1200pound s to buy a new 386cpu ,with 640k memory, that was real money.those are the pcs now u see in charity shops going for 30 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

if you want the administrator password and you have a cdrom drive then just do a big of googleing on what i said earlier, im obviously not going to go into details here

gamer wrote:
    ITS definitely win98 ,i can bypass logon box by pressing esc ,but when i try install daemon tools it says u must go to administrator mode to install this prog
    strange - and the app will run on 98 ?

to delete pw's in 98 look for c:\windows\*.pwl and rename them - they will also list user names - next time you login with that username enter in a blank pw. Also in control panel passwords there is a setting for all users to use the same profile , make sure you are in your profile and backup your files before changing it (Plan-b)
    on the 98 cd or on the web there should be ERU / CFGBACK to backup your windows settings

(pwl's store dial up passwords etc. so don't delete till sure you don't need.)

Strange , logon on box appears ,user at top box 4 password, i go 2 accounts , no accounts listed , no users listed,so i made new 1 ,left password blank, reset pc, logon box now gone,now i just click ok on user account ,no password needed. i installed daemon tools, looks grand, loads up ok interface, help says theres a custom installer 4 daemontools, i just dowloaded tools and installed it. no administrator account or password of any type needed now,i just turn on pc and click ok in tab after user name ,daemon may have got confused expected to find user account.klooks like sum1 tried 2 setup logon account at sum time and left password blank.logon box does not appear anymore,i can install anything,i knew about logon esc key etc.thanks for all the help.i just setup new user didnt mess with pwl or regedit or delete anything ,simple solution.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just try admin as the password.

I got confused cos daemontoools said ist time satrday, u will need permission of administrator to install this program,contact administrator,so i thought sum eejit had set up admin account which wud stop me installing any major utils like emulators etc,i installed 10 games no prob,in last 3 weeks.its dangerous to assume anything regarding pc os.s or programs.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Fair play for having the neck the admit to your moment of... inclarity :D

Logon box has disappeared , so i need no password ,i just click ok ,in tab ,i set up user account ,with username, left password blank, problem is now solved,i have full acess to pc progs and i can install anything i wish.ONLY 1 account active which i setup yesterday,thanks for all the advice .

daemon tools help says theres a win98 installer to download ,i just downloaded daemon tools , that may have caused the problem ,it loads up looks ok,i didnt try to emulate or set up any virtual cds yet ,i just clicked exe install screen came up ,clicked ok,install , it installed 100per cent ,interface loaded, small icon in system tray ,it looks ok anyway.didnt ask for any password or administrator permission,just installed.